Southern Refrigerated Transport Driver/Trainer Reviews | Glassdoor

Southern Refrigerated Transport Reviews

Updated Mar 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Tony Smith
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Texarkana, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of miles to go around.

    Cons

    Communication as with any company.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2018-06-27
  2. "Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time

    Pros

    Pay was decent if you could manage your clock right.

    Cons

    long hours, you’re away from home.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2019-03-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "700 mile average Length of Haul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Otr Solo Driver in Pomona, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Equipment, but on the West Coast you're going to get a Bus Ticket after orientation to wherever the last driver abandoned the Truck when they quit.

    Cons

    The recruiters will tell you that SRT's average length of haul is 1200 miles for Solos. In orientation they will tell you that the average length of haul for HazMat drivers is 1300 miles, and they also tell you in orientation that if you have a US Passport your average length of haul will be 1800 miles! I attached pictures of the orientation paperwork on other websites but they keep getting deleted. If you're a solo driver your REAL average length of haul is 700 miles with multiple stops, and if you're on the Walmart dedicated account (which they pressure you to join) your average length of haul is 400 miles. Ask to be on the division with the longer length of haul that the recruiter, or the orientation paperwork talks about and the conversations get really ugly, really quick.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2019-02-06
  4. "Company was great before it was acquired."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Texarkana, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dedicated Routes had great home time. Loads was dispatched on time. No questions asked if the truck had a problem, it would be fixed. Pay was great.

    Cons

    Forced dispatch (I didn't mind because my dedicated loads was picking up or going to the same places.) Health Insurance was expensive (Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arkansas)

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2018-12-22
  5. "Bad choice . Research their company before taking the bus."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Pomona, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dispatchers always smoking cigarettes breaks to keep their stress down.

    Cons

    Everything you pay for it will come out of your pocket and they will not reimburse you unless you make a very big deal about it week after week. So your miles are going to be very consistent. Any fault will always be placed on you regardless of who drop the ball. Dispatcher is frequently blaming drivers for things out of out of their control or things that the dispatchers had first-hand knowledge of. Terrible pay in terrible support from staff. I worked there for 2 years and because my dispatcher messed up I was not given any more work. Was asked to go back to work but was told that I could not go back or was not giving any loads. They constantly call me now asking me to go back and if I would like to join the company. After I tried for a week to get ahold of someone to get a load when I was last with them. They don't care about you as a driver only about the money they make but their company is going down really fast

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2018-10-31
  6. "It was not best experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport

    Pros

    stuff there dispatchers planners safety all will talk to you with respect and dignity you deserve. The company did provide you with some amenities such as Idle Air as paid for by the company 100% aside from a few things that they did was not much else to say that what's good.

    Cons

    Like every company you are a number. Well the equipment when you get it is in good order they don't really want to maintain it once you have it here sample I got to an accident and they refused to fix what was damaged saying that it is still there is still attached no need to fix it. The company benefits will horrible give you better off not having any. The pay was not great at a standard $0.44 per mile was very low. The company did not really have that many miles to offer usually averaging about 2000 miles a week you'll be doing good to get more than that. I did driver you are not welcome at the terminal this became abundantly clear to me when they directly told me I am NOT welcome at the terminal and they preferred if no drivers come to the terminal this was a direct quote for my dispatcher.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2018-06-03
  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver in Dutton, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have the miles, I don’t sit, pretty nice equipment for a decent size company. You can also accrue unlimited home time.

    Cons

    Being a company driver I wish I was paid a bit more but it is what it is. Their pay program is actually pretty smart.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2018-05-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Company driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick to hire and start working.

    Cons

    Dispatch lacks communication with each other and their drivers.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2017-11-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Over the Road Driver in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice trucks no real problems. Drivers that leave can leave trucks in need or repairs that will be fixed.

    Cons

    Non responsive to driver needs

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2017-09-20
  10. "Fleet Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and opportunity for overtime

    Cons

    Management all over the place

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2017-06-29
Found 43 reviews