Southern Refrigerated Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Southern Refrigerated Transport Reviews

Updated Mar 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Tony Smith
25 Ratings
  1. "Good Company but......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Driver in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office staff and dispatches are always helpful. Surprisingly they work with you for home time.

    Cons

    After 6 months of working for SRT my pays got cut basically in half and sent me a message over Qualcomm about it. Been nicer if they would have called.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pay someone good money then after 6 months bump there pay to half.

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2016-05-03
  2. "Ive worked for a few major companys SRT has many positives."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Driver/Trainer/Local in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport

    Pros

    They are small enough to get personal with the drivers and if you are a decent human being they will treat you as such. If your a professional about your job they will have no problem getting you miles. It Will always be up and down as that is the industry, but for the most part you will keep rolling if you know how to communicate properly.

    Cons

    payroll Can Use A Lot of help! If you keep track of your pay you will eventually get back paid but you will have to do their job for them.

    Advice to Management

    Automatic pay on detention , late home time, etc . And PO#s for lumpers that refuse to give anything other then paper receipts. Why should the driver wait a month plus to get reimbursed because they only gave him a paper receipt?

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2016-04-11
  3. "Customer service/Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Truck Driver in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport for less than a year

    Pros

    Company really treated you like family

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about the company

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2016-04-20
  4. "Average Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Bankers hours, Paid Holidays, Benefits

    Cons

    Very boring office, lack of personality, its like being with robots daily.

    Advice to Management

    Lighten up a little.

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2016-01-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dispatch/driver manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Dispatcher in Texarkana, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with computers and phones, always fast paced

    Cons

    Working night shifts are always difficult to adjust

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-12-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It sucks just like the owner company, Covenant, worked for both"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport for less than a year

    Pros

    Where do I start, Oh, nowhere. No my dispatcher Clint Coleman was great.

    Cons

    Where do I start, Oh, Everything, Children run this fiasco, try to find a trailer that is DOT compliant.

    Advice to Management

    Give me my stuff you stole out of 141187

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2016-01-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport for more than a year

    Pros

    Non none none none none

    Cons

    Everything shop sucks no commutation and making a driver walk to the bus station

    Advice to Management

    Listen to drivers more and put apu on the trucks and acttualy honor a two weeks notice

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-09-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Don't let them fool ya."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Company Driver in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of freight to be moved. Most of the dispatchers are great such as the one I had. Nice trucks.

    Cons

    Dispatchers got arrested for embezzlement. They will take money out of your check and then say the don't know what it is. But you still won't be getting it

    Advice to Management

    Improve the payroll department

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-09-30
  9. "Possibly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Texarkana, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work to be done.

    Cons

    Don't always have what you need

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-08-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Watch What You Say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Company Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had good miles most of the time. But there were plenty of people sitting in Texarkana, waiting for trucks to be fixed, and once fixed waiting for job. My trainer was great! He warned me about my dispatcher right away and that helped.

    Cons

    They will pull you in with certain offers. Say that if your home time is approved and you don't get there, you will be given $100 per day. BS. I was a week and a half late, missed doctor appointment, didn't see a dollar. Too concerned to complain because you will suddenly find dispatch doesn't have anything for you. I was also called to go and pick up a load when I finally got time off, and then deliver it the next day....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make company fines automatic. If someone isn't home when promised, the $100 a day should automatically be there. Leave it up to the dispatchers, they will twist and turn to not have to pay anything.

    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-08-14
Found 43 reviews