Southern Refrigerated Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Southern Refrigerated Transport Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Tony Smith
26 Ratings
  1. "Possibly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Texarkana, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work to be done.

    Cons

    Don't always have what you need

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-08-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Watch What You Say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Company Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had good miles most of the time. But there were plenty of people sitting in Texarkana, waiting for trucks to be fixed, and once fixed waiting for job. My trainer was great! He warned me about my dispatcher right away and that helped.

    Cons

    They will pull you in with certain offers. Say that if your home time is approved and you don't get there, you will be given $100 per day. BS. I was a week and a half late, missed doctor appointment, didn't see a dollar. Too concerned to complain because you will suddenly find dispatch doesn't have anything for you. I was also called to go and pick up a load when I finally got time off, and then deliver it the next day. STR says they will pay you and extra $100 because you were called on your time off. Never saw a cent. Recruiters say one thing, but when you get to orientation it is a different story (though I understand that isn't common in the trucking industry). Once you are out of the company, no one returns calls or wants to talk to you. Makes it hard to get any information.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-08-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Just Plain Awful and Liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Driver in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent orientation,good place to meet great fellow drivers,big facility,dinner vouchers for Pizza Hut.

    Cons

    They will steal your paychecks and then lie and say you failed to send in B.O.L through Trans Flo. Sent me from Alabama,to Arizona to California,then to Kansas. Delivered waited almost 18 hours for a dispatch and was on my home for reset. Told dispatch that I needed a load and they said they cant find one,so I told them I will start heading home then and will see them again Sunday evening. 10-4 was their reply never do not move the truck. Long story short made ot home for home time and they send me a load macro and as per D.O.T once on hometime for 34 hr reset you can not break that,but they expected me to leave home friday night and go back towards Kansas City. I relayed back that I would be running illegal and the next day they came and took their truck from in front,of my house without any warning. All my stuff was in the truck because I was not expecting to be fired for staying legal.And when asking about my pay for that very long run and my final paycheck they said I didn't trans flo B.O.Ls in and that they were charging me for recovery when in fact I. never quit nor had intentions on quitting. A waste of time all that was. Sorry for late posting like super late. They emailed me for a job,LMAO NEVER AGAIN!!

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-07-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "sounds good over phone and looks good on paper...but....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Muncie, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent trucks and getting alot of miles

    Cons

    Lie bout ur pay Wont see home for bout a month at a time Not very organized Have to pay for ez/pre pass unit ( they pay all tolls)

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-05-16
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Nothing but lies!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Refrigerated Transport

    Pros

    I'm dedicated tyson the pay is good miles are alright. The equipment is have way decent that's about it.

    Cons

    Lies lies lies... I received an overweight ticket on thanksgiving in Diboll tx. The company then proceeded to tell me that they would take care of it. 3 weeks later when I get home I have a warrant out. Now the company states that they never agreed to pay the ticket. And they lost the fax of it I sent in

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2015-01-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A "family company" that doesn't care about your family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Texarkana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the workers are friendly. Pay is good starting out. $12 an hour. Has benefits, if you can actually afford them.

    Cons

    -No more than 2 days in a row of vacation time is allowed in the recruiting department. -Supervisors and upper management do NOT communicate. You will be bounced around to multiple tasks that are impossible to complete simultaneously. -If upper management feels the recruiting number isn't to his/her satisfaction, whole department stays 30-60 minutes longer while they leave for the day. -Told to hang up on drivers that do not meet qualifications. If they call back, just tell them they are not qualified, give no explanation, then hang up on them again. If they continue to call, send to voice mail and do not return calls. -Very negative environment. -Benefits are so over priced, you can not afford them. -No lateral movement with in the company. Once you are in safety or recruiting, you are not eligible to try for positions in other departments. -Forced to work weekends.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2014-08-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "I worked for SRT from 2007 thru 2010 as a Driver/Trainer also on the Drivers Executive Board I always had great miles."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver/Trainer in Texarkana, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I always had great miles, hometime and great equipment while I was there. I have thought about going back many times dispatch was always helpful when calling between the hours of 8am to 5pm. I always felt as though they had my back if I needed them. Would go back in a heart beat if I needed to.

    Cons

    1.Night dispatch was a little out there sometimes but that is the way it is with most large companies I have worked for over the last 37 years. 2.Time in & out of shop could have been quicker always seem to take a day or to to get back out once you went into OC for shop repairs. 3.Trucks need to be washed more often than once a month 4.Needed to hire more drivers that cared about the trucking industry,the equipment they drive and the company they work for.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2014-05-13
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Rip-Off Kings of the Trucking Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Driver in Texarkana, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the only good thing about this company is they have got some pretty good equipment

    Cons

    this company is the biggest rip off I have ever seen.i have 17 years of driving experience and my checks were NEVER over $500. I worked for this company for six months and for five weeks out of those six months I did not make a check at all.during the entire month of December,2013, I only made $820. the month before I only made $760. this should tell you that there is a lot of sitting with this company.they take more out of your check than they should and cant explain what for.if you ask them why your check is so low they will tell you that you took out too many advances.oh,yeah,and they consider lumper fees and scale tickets and motel rooms for break downs to be personal advances.they only pay your reimbursement once a month and then you don't get all of them.if you are thinking about going to work for this company,please,think again.YOU WILL STARVE AND GET WAY BEHIND ON ALL YOUR BILLS.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2013-12-30
  9. "Worth a try if your an experienced driver."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Driver in Texarkana, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Once you prove yourself, they leave you alone and let you roll.

    Cons

    It's the trucking industry...what can you say.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2013-09-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "THIS COMPANY HAS RIPPED OFF SO MANY DRIVERS AND THEIR FAMILIES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Company Solo OTR Driver in Texarkana, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Refrigerated Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    The first thing you'll notice about this company is the mandatory per diem requirement they place on every new driver, they will take $.03 from every trip their new driver runs and say it helps you get bigger paychecks and pay less taxes, don't believe the hype, this is a ripoff pain and simple. Don't ever try to offer any input when given a load such as alternative routes that could save the company time and fuel, they don't care, they'll insist the route they give you is the shortest even if it makes you overshoot your destination. If you ever get into an argument with dispatch, don't call them on the phone, put everything on the qualcomm so you have a record of what you said to the idiot dispatcher, they will tend to talk to you like you're a slave instead of an employee. Did you ever hear the news about the driver who died in his truck and wasn't located for two weeks and then the company charged the family to have the body shipped back home, this was SRT. Also if and when you ever decide to quit working for them, make sure you're close to home or the company will take the cost of your bus ride back home out of your final check, plus anything else they can nickel and dime you for, expect an incorrect complaint from them to your DAC report whenever you leave the company for whatever reason. If you're thinking of driving for them, turn around and run as far away as you can. In spite of where this site says they are located, they are located in Texarkana, Ark. This city is located on the border with Texas.

    Continue reading
    Southern Refrigerated Transport2013-10-29
Found 45 reviews