Southern Season Reviews | Glassdoor

Southern Season Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
15%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Southern Season CEO Dave Herman
Dave Herman
5 Ratings
  1. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southern Season full-time

    Pros

    Great Place to work. Like the new direction of the company.

    Cons

    No complaints. Have enjoyed working here.

    Southern Season2017-12-14
  2. "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southern Season part-time

    Pros

    Very cool place to work, especially during the holidays. Pretty good pay considering the easiness of the job.

    Cons

    Managers promised more hours than they could give. Hired more and more people then gave everyone less and less hours.

    Southern Season2018-08-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Southern Season"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southern Season part-time

    Pros

    Good discount on products and services

    Cons

    The Chapel Hill based customers are rude and abusive. Management doesn't care about employees.

    Southern Season2018-07-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Ouch."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Chapel Hill, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Season full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Possible to move up quickly, even if you aren't necessarily qualified. Works as a good resume builder if you can handle the chaos.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover. They pay their hourlies below industry standard and see them as replaceable. Managers get fired on a regular basis. If you're a competent manager, you will be rewarded by having the work load of someone they've recently fired being added to your own.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the people who work for you if you want to improve the overall performance of the store.

    Southern Season2017-11-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "It was fine, management was :("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Season part-time

    Pros

    Great employee discount. Other employees are cool. The regular customers are pretty decent folks. I loved learning about the products.

    Cons

    My manager was not a cool person. In the six months I worked there, my entire department left, including me. She was constantly hiring new workers, but never thought that she might be the reason for the mass exodus.

    Advice to Management

    Don't expect the sales associates to make up for company-wide issues with management and a dying brand.

    Southern Season2017-09-27
  6. "Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southern Season full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to manage and schedule

    Cons

    Owners are rude and disrespectful

    Advice to Management

    Knock yourselves down a few notches and listen

    Southern Season2017-06-28
  7. "Weathervane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter in Chapel Hill, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southern Season full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relatively easy money for a waiter.

    Cons

    If you're reading glassdoor reviews you're aware of the company's past. The business at the restaurant has dwindled along with the company.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce prices and be more consistent, maybe business will come back eventually.

    Southern Season2017-03-09
  8. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southern Season part-time

    Pros

    coworkers and store manager great to work with

    Cons

    owner of company put company in financial ruins and ultimately shut us down

    Southern Season2017-02-06
  9. "Went bankrupt. . ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Southern Season

    Pros

    Store had a great selection of products and worked with local vendors

    Cons

    Company went bankrupt 5 months after I started

    Southern Season2017-02-01
  10. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Oxford, NC

    I worked at Southern Season for less than a year

    Pros

    ok pay and un working with the staff.

    Cons

    The job did not last long at all.

    Southern Season2016-12-22
Found 43 reviews