KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Southland Industries

Engaged Employer

Southland Industries

Add a Review

Southland Industries Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 of over 156 reviews

4.0
88%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southland Industries CEO Ted Lynch
Ted Lynch
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Southland industries is a very organized and methodical company(in 22 reviews)

  • "Great Culture and Flexibility allows for Work Life Balance(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be tough for people on field side with many are in early to meet the field, but stay late to actually get work done(in 10 reviews)

  • "Southland uses the internal motto of 'Be Above the Line' but fails to achieve that in even the most basic of senses(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Southland Industries and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very happy

      Sep 20, 2021 - Senior Project Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee owned and it shows!

      Cons

      No cons thus far all good

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Southland Industries Response

      Director, Talent Management

      Thank you for the review and thoughtful words. We are very proud of our people and the work they do. -- Wendy Montgomery, Director, Talent Management

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Opportunities

      Jan 17, 2022 - Design Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Team is very knowledgeable and helpful, if you want to keep learning this is the place - Very professional environment

      Cons

      - Communication with upper management can be rigid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Place, Could be Great

      Aug 3, 2021 - Project Manager in Dulles, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Large, exciting project opportunities - Above average benefits for medical HDHP with company provided HSA contributions (although modest) and 401k (50% match, no cap) - Career growth potential is flexible - able to try new roles without leaving company - A diversity group that offers regular events with meaningful discussion - Prior to shutdowns, there were many after-hour activities that kept people engaged (happy hours, corn-hole tournaments, etc.) but are starting to come back as things open back up - Certifications are covered, as are CEUs to stay active - Pool of multi-disciplinary talent across departments to execute great quality work from both the office and the field

      Cons

      - Lack of formal mentoring program or company affinity groups to find mentors - Work-life balance can be tough for people on field side with many are in early to meet the field, but stay late to actually get work done. Expectation is for all to work long hours despite varying work loads - No equal pay transparency or clarity on determination of bonuses - Marketed as an employee-owned company, but only select, almost "secret", group are shareholders so there's not an open ESOP -Lack of diversity in higher leadership Some benefits lacking such as: -Accrued vacation is lower than other places and no flexible holiday program for other non-federal holidays that aren't offered by the company (ie PTO must be used for Veterans Day) -No tuition reimbursement program -No flex time policy and remote work is discouraged

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Southland Industries Response

      Director, Talent Management

      Thank you for your feedback. Work-life balance in this industry can be tough to navigate, however, we try to balance that with giving employees the autonomy to collaborate with their management and peer teams to ensure work can be covered when you need time off or just need flexibility to ensure work-life balance. Our current vacation and PTO programs offer lots of flexibility for new hires and tenured employees to maximize well-deserved time away from work, for both planned and unplanned life events. At a minimum, we currently offer 2-weeks of paid vacation and 7-days of paid time off; together that's 3-weeks and 2-days of paid time for any full-time employee. Our program also rewards more time as your tenure increases. Thank you for your comments regarding mentorship and affinity groups. Our Mid-Atlantic division has an established Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging group that meets often to provide networking and resources to our employees, with an emphasis on creating an inclusive work environment. This past year we kicked off our Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging (DIBs) company-wide strategy and one of the strategic areas of focus is Inclusion, Engagement, and Retention which includes a focus on connecting employees earlier in their tenure to other more experienced employees at Southland to kick-start their career development. Another strategic area of focus for us is Recruiting Outreach with an emphasis and building a diverse workforce. These and other strategic areas of focus will help us continue working towards more diverse representation in our leadership. Southland is 100% employee owned and over the last 3 years, we have increased our ownership by 50%. We strategically do not have an ESOP model, as ownership requires a personal financial investment made by our employee-owners, which we believe helps drive stewardship and accountability for the company's success. Finally, I couldn't agree with you more that our talent at Southland is top-notch and the diversity we offer in the professional backgrounds and disciplinary experts our teams is one of a kind. We encourage all employees to grow their own network within Southland in the hope they can learn more about one another and leverage the experience of others to help them develop their own careers. Thank you again for your contributions to the Southland team. We wish you all the best. -- Wendy Montgomery, Director, Talent Management

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent place to work

      Jan 12, 2022 - Pipefitter in Laurel, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of resources and opportunities

      Cons

      Opportunities are only available to individuals in the club but you will get a paycheck

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Worked with field staff to implement and ensure safety protocols were in place.

      Dec 22, 2021 - Safety Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative and innovative. Had a lot of interesting projects.

      Cons

      Difficult to attain buy-in from management at times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Southland Industries

      Aug 8, 2021 - Project Engineer II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong team mentality, enjoyable coworkers, and good benefits. Flexible hours and freedom to work as you choose (not micromanaged). Typically work on impressive (large) projects.

      Cons

      Expected to work long hours. 50+ hr work weeks are the minimum as teams tend to run very lean (few people doing the work meant for more). Majority of people are only out to progress their own career, not many people willing to mentor new hires. Operations is a stressful department; but that is the nature of the industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Southland Industries Response

      Director, Talent Management

      Thank you for the candid feedback. We know our industry can be demanding, especially when in top economic growth, however, as you mentioned while the work we do demands much from our people, we try to balance that with flexible hours and the autonomy to collaborate with your management and peer teams to ensure work can be covered when you need time off or just need flexibility to ensure work-life balance. Another thing I personally enjoy at Southland is, we truly empower our people to use their skills and leverage the resources available to do their best work in ways that's most advantageous for them. We don't believe in micro-management. Your point on mentorship availability is well taken and we can learn from your feedback to better highlight the available development and learning opportunities we have for new hires that go beyond online learning. We offer a variety of learning programs and resources that are designed to inspire the learner to manage their development journey at their own pace and to match their needs. Southland has some of the industry's top talent and we encourage all our employees to take steps to network internally and leverage the experiences of others to help you enhance your own. Thank you again for your contributions to the Southland team. We wish you all the best. -- Wendy Montgomery, Director, Talent Management

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Team Environment

      Nov 4, 2021 - Project Manager in Union City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team environment. Support from management. Good bonuses.

      Cons

      Work life balance is lacking

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice people, long hours

      Oct 24, 2021 - Design Engineer in Union City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, people are understanding if you are willing to learn

      Cons

      Will be overworked in some cases, engineering department can be pretty anti-spcial. Hard for new hires getting thrown into the fire.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Each Division is different

      Oct 8, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support teams. Very good Design-build firm.

      Cons

      Each geographical division is its own P&L and their offerings can vary greatly based on local priorities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great work environment

      Oct 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company work culture is unmatched.

      Cons

      Room for progression is limited

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 131 Reviews

    Southland Industries Reviews FAQs

    88% of Southland Industries employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Southland Industries 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 4 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Southland Industries to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

    Popular Careers with Southland Industries Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southland Industries? Share Your Experiences

    or