Southland Industries Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Southland Industries CEO Ted Lynch
Ted Lynch
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "They understand a good a work / life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great company moral, office/charity events throughout the year in the Vegas office I worked at, as well as occasional food catering(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Piping Coordinator in Laurel, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southland Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I believe I was treated fine when working there. I was left alone for the most part and aloud to do my job the best way I saw fit.

    Cons

    Just as with most companies, some seem to micromanage.

    Continue reading

    Southland Industries Response

    June 18, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Management

    We are so glad you enjoyed your experience while working at Southland. Thank you for the review and we hope you stay engaged with the great things we are doing. -- Wendy Montgomery, Sr. Manager, Talent Management

  2. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Good company but long hours. Don't expect loyalty."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Union City, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southland Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Project Managers take a lead role in training new employees, and do well leading by example. They have a well-earned respect in the industry, and their field personnel are among the best in the bay area. A good amount of independence, starting day one. I believe I had steady career progression and growth over my years spent. Overall, I really liked everyone that I worked with.

    Cons

    Generally, you won't spend much time in the office or working with upper management. I typically worked 50 to 60 hours a week over my tenure. Compensation tended to be lower than the competition, and a lot of people had the feeling that we were paid just enough not to leave. Due to Covid, layoffs were widespread and unexpected. Other than Nor Cal, most divisions were struggling financially, and that seemed to really hurt our divisions success.

    Continue reading

    Southland Industries Response

    July 1, 2020EVP

    Thank you for your comments regarding your employment with Southland. I am glad to hear that during your career at Southland you were able to exercise independence. We are proud of the fact that our people are able to lead with a level of autonomy that fosters their professional growth and reinforces our core values. It is concerning to me that you felt undercompensated during your tenure. We strive to actively evaluate our compensation model and individual salaries on an ongoing basis, to not only be competitive, but to recognize the efforts of our people. We are very proud of the accomplishments of all of our people, including those that make up our NorCal division. Their success is accentuated by the resources and geographic reach that we have across the entire company. Over my years with our company and in this industry, it is not uncommon to see some ebb and flow on regional performance. While the current environment has led us to make tough business decisions, we do not take lightly the impact these decisions have on our people. We continue to be focused on fostering a work environment which creates impactful experiences and opportunities for our employees’ professional growth and success. I would be happy to discuss with you personally should you wish to elaborate on your time of employment so that we can endeavor to improve. Please feel free to contact me directly. -- Rick Blazier, EVP, Engineering+Construction


  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (4)

    "'Be Above The Line' is a Farse"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor, IT Support Services in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southland Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were no pros for me working at Southland.

    Cons

    Southland uses the internal motto of 'Be Above the Line' but fails to achieve that in even the most basic of senses. This review isn't allowed to be as in-depth as it should be, as names/titles/etc cannot be mentioned. If you work(ed) here, though, you can do the math. I worked for Southland for roughly 3 years between Contract and full-time employment. My manager for my first 2+ years had 0 respect for personal time, and felt it necessary to regularly spend 2-3 hours on the phone with me doing absolutely nothing. This happened both during the work day and after hours, and often lead to me later getting reprimanded for not completing a task. To say that working for her was a mental and physical drain on my well-being would be an understatement. I was very happy when she finally left. Because of my initial position, I was in a constant uphill battle with managers from every other IT Team. Regardless of ideas that were brought to the table to help the IT org as a whole, I was regularly dismissed as a low level tech who didn't know anything and treated as a child. This eventually came to blows in multiple meetings with leadership and never really got addressed. The phrase ‘This is how we’ve always done it’ was regularly used, while trying to pretend that we were innovative. Other IT teams would regularly make changes to processes without any consideration for the user base or the support team that would have to deal with the fallout. This often lead to my team looking stupid to users, because we didn’t know how to do very basic parts of our jobs, because the process had changed with no alternate solution in place. There was little to no change management process in place, and it wasn’t until early 2020 that the idea of a change management process was even discussed, but it was never implemented while I was there. When offering to provide custom dev work so that our support team could function, I was regularly turned down in favor of big-box tools that did not actually solve our problems. If we couldn’t find a tool, the process became that myself or the other supervisor would have to take on these tasks – simple tasks that I would trust a child with. I was no longer happy in Las Vegas, as Vegas was a pretty awful place to live, with little-to-no job market for my SO. I requested a transfer to another office (specifically the SoCal office, as I had lived there for 5 years), but was told Tempe was the only option for me. Upon arriving in Tempe, I realized that the cost of living was nowhere near the same to keep the same quality of life, but was repeatedly denied a cost of living increase, as Southland had determined the cost of living is the same. In Tempe, we had 3 IT support staff employed when I moved here. I made it abundantly clear to all involved parties that I was not going to take on the On-site responsibilities when I moved here, as this was not a part of my previous role in Las Vegas, and I had been promoted into the supervisor role. When I arrived, I found that no one (in IT or otherwise) was aware that I was moving down here, which put my entire team on edge that their job was at risk. It turns out, it was – I was forced to let go of one of our techs within 1 week of my arrival, because management didn’t like him, even tho he was well trained and well-liked by our Tempe staff – This put me behind the ball within a week, and created yet another uphill battle with little support to gain the trust of the Tempe office that I now had to provide primary support for. Within 6 months, the leadership in the Tempe office had decided that IT didn’t really deserve to have desks or an office, and moved us from our suite into the main office. We had 6 people, but were given 5 desks, and I was sent to work from home with little-to-no support from IT or the business to accomplish this. This would go on until I was let go from the company. On multiple occasions, I was pressured to return to the office, but was never given a desk or a place to even sit, so that didn’t happen. Southland IT runs on nepotism. If you were not in the ‘in-crowd’, you had very little future at Southland. During my time there, I saw multiple people from Allergen come over into leadership positions, and be promoted further than anyone else during my time there. These individuals did not really understand how to run a department, and cared to spend more time on meetings talking about our next meeting, then actually solving the problems within IT and within our Technology stack. In the 5 months between my first manager leaving and my new manager arriving, myself and the other supervisor were left to run the department with little to no support from anyone in the org. During this time, we got the teams to actually work well together and repaired relationships that were fractured due to poor leadership by my first manager. Never once were either of us recognized for helping keep the support structure that handled ~80% of the roughly 1500 monthly requests afloat. At one point, word came down from that leadership wished to eliminate the support team all together (all 6 of them) in favor of having the on-site staff handle all support requests. We pushed back on this as much as we could, but the writing was on the wall that this is what Southland desired to have. Fast forward to 2020 - COVID hits and leadership is finally given the opportunity to get their way. Only one member of the team was safe, and was newer to the team. Discussions revolved around when and how each member was being termed. During this time, everyone was super hush-hush, even though we are in the midst of a pandemic, and I regularly stated that we should consider giving heads up to our employees if we really cared about them as much as we pretended to - which fell on deaf ears. Come to find out, the reason these ears were deaf was because I was asking to know about my own termination. A week before I was termed, I started getting cryptic requests asking me to hand over custom dev and other meaningless tasks to the team. By meaningless, I mean parts of my job that were small, easy to pass off. None of the items that I handled that required indepth knowledge were mentioned, nor handed off. Never once was it mentioned that I would be a victim of COVID nor the reason I was handing these off, but I'm smarter than Southland gave me credit for and I knew the writing was on the wall. After my weekly meeting was rescheduled for Monday at 9am (the typical term time for Southland), I knew it was a wrap. Once i got on the call, HR joined and I was let go. It was at THIS POINT that I was told I could stay and hand over my duties to the rest of the team. But - my roles and responsibilities were not designed to be able to be handed over in the matter of days, but rather weeks/months as I was the only person who knew and understood how our support platform worked from the inside out. Ultimately, I left them holding 2 support systems that cost more than my annual salary to maintain and complete, as one week was not enough time and they had plenty of time to address my forthcoming termination prior to that. Southland IT took COVID as the opportunity to remove the folks they did not like. Members of the team who were less technically skilled and lacked ‘bed-side manner’ are still working there, simply because they do not ‘rock the boat’. Many non-IT members were furloughed, which gave them the opportunity to return to work (and most have returned since then), but this was not an option made available to me. During my time at Southland, I watched my mental health take a nose-dive, my personal life disappear, and my bank account got smaller. I watched as individuals who did not contribute to the overall success get promoted, and watched talented individuals run for the hills.

    Continue reading

    Southland Industries Response

    July 22, 2020CIO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Glassdoor. It is unfortunate to read that you did not find any pros during your time at Southland Industries. It seems that while there were career advancement opportunities you were able to experience; it did not meet your expectations. We are proud that we can provide internal mobility and career experiences for our employees and recognize transition into new roles, locations and business units can be challenging. We aspire to provide a strong supporting and open door structure to assist in transitional needs for employees. At Southland we work very hard at fostering a culture of accountability, which is also a core value. We appreciate all the efforts of our people and the work they dedicate to making Southland a great place to work. Like many, due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic, we have had to make some tough business decisions. The impact these decisions have on our people does not go unrecognized. Amid this crisis, we continue to be focused on creating impactful experiences and opportunities for our employees’ professional growth and success. I would welcome a conversation about your experience so that we can assess areas of improvement. Please feel free to contact me directly. – Linda Smart, CIO

  4. "A good start for Construction Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southland Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Generous 401K Match and Good Medical Benefits (if single)

    Cons

    Unorganized management, always seems understaffed, doesn't adapt well to various project types

    Southland Industries Response

    March 10, 2020Senior Manager, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are excited to hear that you believe Southland Industries can offer a great start to someone's career in Construction Management. As with any growing company, we will have opportunities to continue to improve. We welcome your feedback and if you have any specific ideas for improvement please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you -- Wendy Montgomery, Sr. Manager, Talent Management

  5. "Project Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southland Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good people who want to make a contribution to making the business better.

    Cons

    - Zero work-life balance. -Upper management is extremely poor. -Management tells you not to take advantage of your company-provided benefits. -Promotions based on tenure. -The company promotes strong core values that most employees don't uphold.

    Continue reading

    Southland Industries Response

    February 5, 2020Senior Manager, Talent Management

    Thank you for the feedback. We are unhappy to hear your work experience was brief and not favorable – I'd like to invite you to connect with me, directly, to share your feedback on any specific examples and /or observations regarding our management, work-life balance, and career progression. We are committed to having great people managers who can positively impact the experience and development of their teams. We also strive to provide resources and options for employees to support the balance of their work-life needs. I look forward to hearing from you. -- Wendy Montgomery, Senior Manager, Talent Management

  6. "Great place to get experience for mechanical engineers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southland Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ton of diverse experience.

    Cons

    Not diverse, no mentorship, limited room for climbing ladder

    Southland Industries Response

    December 11, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review and for your service at Southland Industries. We hope that you will stay in touch and we wish you the best of luck in your next career experience. Cheers -- Wendy Montgomery, Senior Manager, Talent Management

  7. "Solid Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southland Industries full-time

    Pros

    A lot of great people to work with, interesting projects, and you get great career building opportunities early on.

    Cons

    Salaries are typically lower than market value. Company is going through a lot of growing pains.

    Southland Industries Response

    October 8, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are excited that you would recommend people to work at Southland Industries. We agree that we have very interesting projects and great career building opportunities right away for many of our people. As with any growing company, we will have opportunities to continue to improve in many areas. We welcome our feedback to assist in that area and if you have any specific ideas for improvement please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you -- Wendy Montgomery, Sr. Manager, Talent Management

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sheet Metal Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southland Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company with good team approach to work

    Cons

    Work / life balance is lacking.

    Southland Industries Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review and thank you for the 10 years of service with Southland. We are happy to hear your experience has been good. We are always open to feedback about improving work/life balance and I encourage you to share your thoughts with your leadership team and/or local HR representative. Thank you -- Wendy Montgomery, Sr. Manager, Talent Management

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Honeymoon company to work for"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southland Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good Benefits (Time off, Health) - Descent Safety Culture - Flexible Schedule depending on project - Spurts of your manager caring but...see below

    Cons

    - Terrible Management - Horrible Pay unless you’re union - Change in hours and schedule without compensation - Roped into a salary position with a promise of 40 hours but you end up working more without notice or more pay - Management doesn’t fight for you, Upper Management doesn’t care about you, Upper-Upper Management doesn’t know you - You work long hours and your manager doesn’t even know it - You try and go the extra mile and it’s never noticed (pay, rewards) - Bonus was a joke for a company this big. - Promotions based off what you do for your boss and not your performance.

    Continue reading

    Southland Industries Response

    May 28, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Management

    Thank you for the feedback. We are unhappy to hear your perception of our pay practices – if there are specific issues and/or examples you would be willing to share with us, we welcome you to do so. We are consistently bench marking against industry pay standards to remain competitive. We take a holistic view of our total rewards offered to our people that go beyond base pay and bonus. The same invitation is extended to have a conversation about your concerns regarding our management structure. We are committed to having great people managers who can positively impact the experience and development of their teams. Strong management is critical to our company’s and employees’ success. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to continue the conversation and to collaborate on potential future actions. It is only with candid employee feedback that we can continue to improve in areas that impact our people. -- Wendy Montgomery, Senior Manager, Talent Management

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Operations Engineer in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southland Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Ability to learn and grow if you have the will power to do so. - Provided training to employees (my IT team in particular x2 training courses per year) - Very innovative company. Always on top of new technologies to better improve work efficiency. (Not afraid of change.) - Great benefits including 50% match 401k and performance based bonuses. - Very much enjoyed working in the I.T. Department everyone was able to support, communicate and learn from each other. - No micromanagement just make sure your work is done and communicate to each other. - Great company moral, office/charity events throughout the year in the Vegas office I worked at, as well as occasional food catering.

    Cons

    - No real downsides except I felt my salary was below average for my position, even after being offered a promotion.

    Southland Industries Response

    July 22, 2020Senior Manager, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review and for your service at Southland Industries. We hope that you will stay in touch and we wish you the best of luck in your next career experience. Cheers -- Wendy Montgomery, Senior Manager, Talent Management

Found 91 reviews