Southwest Airlines Reviews in Chicago, IL | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Southwest Airlines Chicago Reviews

Updated December 6, 2017
49 reviews

Filter

Filter

Chicago, IL Area

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

49 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Low starting pay however you make it back with the mandatory overtime and you are away from your family a lot (in 66 reviews)

  • Work-life balance can be a problem (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Flight in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Southwest Airlines offers a lot of flexibility in careers and shifts. We are able to be creative. The insurance is good. We are compensated adequately.

    Cons

    The downside of being a flight is that some of the overnights are 10 hours or less which is barely enough time to sleep, shower, eat and prepare for the day.

    Advice to Management

    Flight Attendant’s need more than 10 hours of rest. That is barely enough time to sleep, shower, eat and prepare for the day. We are the front line employees and first responders.


  2. Helpful (7)

    "Don’t buy the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great 401k and profit sharing. Fleixable hours.

    Cons

    Management talks out of both sides of there mouth. Clear division between management and employees. There is no trust.

    Advice to Management

    The environment is remnants of east Germany during the communist times. Everyone is told how great and wonderful company is but yet the company pits one employee against each other and you’re always guilty before proven innocent you’re always five minutes away from being fired for the smallest in fraction . Quit micromanaging. My supivisor can’t lead me when they ever done my job. Culuture starts with us, but when high ups make an environment toxic it’s hard to keep a culture alive. Get real, it’s not unicorns and butterflies..

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for taking time to provide feedback. We take it to Heart, and will ensure that it is communicated to the proper channel.

  3. "Respected by some, disrespected by others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Southwest cares about individual employees.
    They usually treat every employee as a valuable member of a team.
    Great benefits including free flights, employee stock purchase plan etc.
    Its encouraged to learn about other areas or gain experience outside of your current position.
    Everyone at Southwest knows that Southwest is the best airline.
    Relashonships with other departments front line employee's are fantastic, pilots,
    and flight attendants are awesome.

    Cons

    Top down communication not very good.
    Example. Pilots are told to do a different procedure and the ramp is not told so everyone on the ramp is confused.
    Supervisors are hit or miss.
    Ramp managers don't take advice from employees.
    Southwest likes to blame problems on the lowest employees instead of addressing a higher up issue that is actually causing the issue.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees. Don't look down on people just because they are on the bottom rung of the company. Address the employees needs before you consider the stock holders.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    We support and are fully committed to our Employees. In fact, we often speak about the “Southwest Family,” which it seems you have experienced firsthand. When we receive feedback that seems to be in... More


  4. "Great family oriented job with potential to make great money!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can pick up and work as many hours as you want!

    Cons

    Being a ramp agent can take it's toll on the body.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback, we think that you're awesome, too! Thanks for being a Southwest Warrior every day, we couldn't do it without you.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "The best of SWA benefits, and perks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The Culture, your co-workers, and benefits. Opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Sometimes the shift hours are hard.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience, and we agree our Culture is something special! It's Employee-focused and encourages career growth opportunities from within the Company. We recognize that... More


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Flight attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There is no other job out there like this one! It's amazing! Having about 18 to 19 days off in a month you are able to have so much freedom and even maybe pick up a different part time job, go back to school, etc. In my opinion this is the best airline to work for. You are a customer to them and not many companies view you as that, but the only just a number. I received a birthday card from the CEO, a happy one month, and a lot more. Plus you get to travel and meet awesome new people and see the world! And the pay is the best in the industry. I have nothing bad to say about this fantastic company!

    Cons

    It may be hard to be away from home for some for 3 days at a time. It is a lifestyle and may take some getting used to.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    May 12, 2017 – Specialist

    Those birthday cards are pretty sweet! Thanks for sharing your perspective.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Luv Southwest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Command Center in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Manager Command Center in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Profit Sharing, 401k Match, Dedicated management team, strong history of success, great outlook for the future

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours, weather and teamwork are needed

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Apr 27, 2017 – Specialist

    As we always say, we are One Team. All Heart. Thanks for being such an integral part of that Team, and working hard to contribute to our success as a Company.

  8. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Southwest truly knows how to take care of their people, amazing opportunity to move laterally or up the ladder, top of the line retirement & insurance, Free flights, profit sharing, numerous employee events & outings, countless other benefits!!

    Cons

    Starting pay for all entry level positions is tight. Management needs to hold their employees more responsible on discipline. Weed on the cancer cells, keep the amazing employees that we have.

    Advice to Management

    Hold everyone to the same level of accountability, we have great people.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Apr 27, 2017 – Specialist

    We love taking care of our People--it is one of our favorite things to do! Thank you for the feedback. We will use it to improve our training for Leaders.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Treat good employees bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Ramp Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fly free and benefits and people

    Cons

    Terrible management at midway not all but most

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience in working at Southwest. We agree the People and the WorkPerks are second to none! We know that our People are our greatest asset, which is why we invest heavily... More


  10. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great pay. Great benefits. Wonderful ( majority ) flight crews to work with. Some LUV is still there! Travel free if you like to.

    Cons

    Rapid Growth with inadequate preparations in out stations & staffing with contract workers. Health issues from altitude, climate & time change increase circadian issues. Nit picky sups & if you get hurt or are sick , many emp are treated poorly

    Advice to Management

    If we could all learn to treat EACH other as when we began service. The days when you all took care of us, and we took care of the pax! If there is a flight attendant with more than 2 rings on one hand & a sup writing her up... Seriously!? That's NUTS & not in a Herb way!

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! With input from our Employees, our Inflight Supervisors have increased their presence in the field to ensure Hospitality is being given to our Customers, as well as ensuring... More


Showing 49 of 1,514 reviews
Reset Filters