Southwest Airlines Reviews in Dallas, TX | Glassdoor

Southwest Airlines Dallas Reviews

Updated December 11, 2017
466 reviews

Filter

Filter

Dallas, TX

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

466 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Low starting pay however you make it back with the mandatory overtime and you are away from your family a lot (in 66 reviews)

  • Work-life balance can be a problem (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "LUV 2 Work 4 WN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Instructor in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Internal promotions gives hope that the company wants to see you grow versus hiring someone from "off the street."

    Cons

    Sometimes workgroups can be rather cliquish, especially if you are trying to advance.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on work ethic for positions rather than DITFs


  2. "A Company with Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Culture, Kindness, Compassion, Community, Follow the Golden Rule... these are the priorities of this company

    Cons

    Not all leaders are as cost conscious as others

    Advice to Management

    Don't fall into the "this is the way we've always don't it" trap. Be open to the ideas of newer employees. We can preserve the culture while updating our approaches.

  3. "Sr aircraft Maintenance Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Aircraft Maintenance Planner in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Aircraft Maintenance Planner in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, relaxed culture, wonderful people

    Cons

    Didn’t have the work loadnor responsibility I was looking for

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to share your experience.


  4. "Amazing company and fp&a department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior FP&A Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Senior FP&A Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flight benefits, profit sharing and 401k match up to 9.1% and company culture. Work is very meaningful and usually has direct impact on crucial decisions for the company.

    Cons

    Workload can be heavy at times but usually predictable.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to share your experience -- It made our Southwest Hearts skip a beat. We think that YOU are amazing!


  5. "Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Job Security: Most profitable and stable airline in the industry. Even low performers practically have to try to get fired from the company

    Benefits: Great health insurance plans, 401k match, profit sharing, free flight benefits

    Cons

    Salary: You can make more in other industries. Management gives merit raises once a year, typically so small you won't notice the raise in your paycheck. "Ingrade salary adjustments" are essentially non-existent and depending on your direct leader, it'll likely be a waste of time even bringing it up.

    SWA retains low performers and if you're in a leadership role, you have the added burden of not letting these low performers spreading this work ethic/attitude to others

    Advice to Management

    SWA is too forgiving and tolerant of employees that are chronic low performers. . While having low performers is inevitable, don't draw the process out of removing or transitioning them into another role so incredibly burdensome and drawn out.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you taking time to share your experience and your feedback. We will take it to Heart.


  6. "Inflight Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In Flight Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - In Flight Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    the company is the best company! Matching 401K over 9 percent. Profit Sharing. pay for college...

    Cons

    Hard to get a job with Southwest

    Advice to Management

    none

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    That made our Southwest Heart skip a beat. We think that you are the best!


  7. "Associate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great employees and great upward mobility.

    Cons

    No cons as of yet.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    That made our Southwest Heart skip a beat. We think that you are great!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Love my Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporting Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Reporting Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible leaders who push individuals to grow
    flight benefits

    Cons

    Medical benefits not as competitive as in years past

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    We love you, too! Because our People are our greatest asset, we invest heavily in training and development to support our Employees throughout their individual careers.


  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Officer in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - First Officer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, schedule, compensation and benefits. Some of the best people I've worked with in aviation.

    Cons

    Long days when we do work, No crew meals aside from peanuts, and no European or Asian markets if you desire that sort of thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. Continue to take care of our people. And keep finding ways to make money and beat our competitors.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    We agree our Culture is something special! It’s Employee-focused and thrives on appreciation, recognition, and celebration. This is an exciting time to be at Southwest, as we continue to grow and... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst - Cargo Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very good place to work, casual atmosphere great co-workers.

    Cons

    The company is becoming more and more 'structured.' More college degrees are becoming required for positions that don't exactly need them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on the company values that has made this a great airline. Continue to promote and hire people for their potential.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Specialist

    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed working here! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and recommendations, we will take them to Heart.


Showing 466 of 1,493 reviews
Reset Filters