KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

Southwest Airlines

Engaged Employer

Southwest Airlines

Add a Review

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,648 of over 3,035 reviews

4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "great benefits and competitive pay(in 258 reviews)

  • "Perks- 401k match, Employee Stock Purchase Plan, Flight benefits(in 191 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Mandatory overtime, working in inclement weather(in 97 reviews)

  • "you start at low pay but with time you can make some bank(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Southwest Airlines and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Southwest Airlines, Unparalleled Opportunities

      Jun 23, 2021 - Senior Avionics Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros of working at Southwest Airlines (SWA) were too numerous to count. We worked hard, but had fun & there was always a true family atmosphere. There were also unlimited possibilities for learning & growing in your career & at all levels I always felt I had just as much authority & autonomy as I was willing to work for & take on. I was with SWA for 24 1/2 years & worked in a wide range of maintenance related jobs & environments, starting as an A&P Mechanic & ending as an Avionics Engineer. I never would have left if SWA hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      Cons

      I can honestly only think of one minor downside to working for SWA. When I started we had a fleet of about 200 aircraft. When I left it was a fleet of about 700. There was a very, very tight family atmosphere when I started & some of that was lost with the growth. Note that I said some, it was still very much present, just diminished, an unavoidable side effect of growth. The bottom line is that SWA always was & remains an exceptional work place. I never would have left if they hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      7 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company and Location

      Sep 24, 2021 - Manager Command Center in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay | Benefits | Influence

      Cons

      IROPS | Retention during COVID

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about Southwest Airlines

      Join the conversation on

      Consulting

      1m

      works at 

      EY

      Is Southwest Airlines currently offering drinks? What’s the current situation - thanks

      9

      4 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to grow your career

      Sep 23, 2021 - Associate Data Scientist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Opportunities to move into different roles -Good 401k match -Good Culture

      Cons

      A lot of "we've always done it this way" pushback, but if you're objective and persistent you can make things happen still

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Airline to work for!

      Sep 23, 2021 - Captain in Bwi Airport, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Camaraderie among employees. Company benefits.

      Cons

      Staffing levels are low at times which degrades our ability to provide the high level of customer service that we strive for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Flight Attendant

      Sep 23, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love being a flight attendant specially for Southwest the best airline to work for in the industry hands down!

      Cons

      You may miss some family events or party’s but it’s also easy to give away or trade off days or trips

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fun

      Sep 19, 2021 - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Flushing, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for could not ask for a better job

      Cons

      Non! It’s only bad if you want it to be

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      A great company created by a great man, Herb Kelleher

      Sep 21, 2021 - Cmv Driver in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very competitive pay and benefits for full time employees

      Cons

      Physically demanding, you may get injured doing the job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company

      Sep 22, 2021 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome company to work for

      Cons

      Long reserve time about the only con

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Sep 20, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Work/Life Balance, Ability to work from home, Great Work culture

      Cons

      Below average compensation and 401K benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Loving it

      Sep 19, 2021 - Regional Sales Director in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free travel and great benefits

      Cons

      Workhorse life, but you are well compensated

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,648 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Southwest Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    or