Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great company with a heart(in 219 reviews)

  • "Flight benefits, 9% 401k company match, build your own paycheck(in 171 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime(in 94 reviews)

  • "There is no cons for who works hard(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (30)

    "I'm so proud to work at Southwest Airlines!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Lead, Corporate Communications in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's cliche, but it really does feel like a Family at Southwest. We are a proud of our (now not so) little airline and what we stand for. I have had fantastic Leaders who care about me as a person--not just my work. Our senior most Leaders think of Employees first with every decision they make. I feel fortunate every day to work for this Company.

    Cons

    Like any organization, keeping up with technology and tools to do our jobs in the most efficient way can be a challenge.

    Southwest Airlines2019-06-18
  2. "Great company with strong work ethics"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    A great family of coworkers. Good pay and retirement benefits

    Cons

    Strict regulations and work ethics

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-21
  3. "Better than you know!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredible culture, excellent benefits and travel privileges, growth opportunities and rewards for hard work and dedication!

    Cons

    Pay was limited earlier, but got better as I grew.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-05-18
  4. "Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great coMpany to work for

    Cons

    Need more locations outside us

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-05-17
  5. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits at this company.

    Cons

    There are no cons working for this company.

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-16
  6. "Good Company Through and Through"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, 401k matching at 9%, Profit Sharing is usually 8-10% of salary, and free flights

    Cons

    Behind the curve on technology, and even though it isn't that bad, work place politics do exist.

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-15
  7. "Last Company You'll Interview For."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Agent in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing Healthcare benefits, Record Profitsharing program along with generous 401k match. Flight benefits, etc.

    Cons

    Working in a Union/ Employer dynamic. Pay to begin with is tough, but top out is great.

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-14
  8. "Not tech focused, toxic projects, slow delivery"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good 401k and profit sharing. Experience can greatly differ from team to team, if you are a newer developer, you are exposed to less of the toxicity that you can see in various projects.

    Cons

    Old technology, on-site and low amount of cloud adoption. Senior leadership not tech focused. Must stay 5 years to vest in 401k and profit sharing

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-28
  9. "Ramp Agent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work enytime AirPort my last Flaship, Everett, Washington

    Cons

    I like to work for the Airlines because all Services are turned on in ramp areas, to give a bette service

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-05-13
  10. "SWA is a great company!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits, hopefully it will continue.

    Cons

    Mid level managers could be more professional.

    Southwest Airlines2020-05-26
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1904 Reviews