KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

Southwest Airlines

Engaged Employer

Southwest Airlines

Add a Review

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,627 of over 3,013 reviews

4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "great benefits and competitive pay(in 258 reviews)

  • "Perks- 401k match, Employee Stock Purchase Plan, Flight benefits(in 191 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Mandatory overtime, working in inclement weather(in 97 reviews)

  • "you start at low pay but with time you can make some bank(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Southwest Airlines and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Southwest Airlines, Unparalleled Opportunities

      Jun 23, 2021 - Senior Avionics Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros of working at Southwest Airlines (SWA) were too numerous to count. We worked hard, but had fun & there was always a true family atmosphere. There were also unlimited possibilities for learning & growing in your career & at all levels I always felt I had just as much authority & autonomy as I was willing to work for & take on. I was with SWA for 24 1/2 years & worked in a wide range of maintenance related jobs & environments, starting as an A&P Mechanic & ending as an Avionics Engineer. I never would have left if SWA hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      Cons

      I can honestly only think of one minor downside to working for SWA. When I started we had a fleet of about 200 aircraft. When I left it was a fleet of about 700. There was a very, very tight family atmosphere when I started & some of that was lost with the growth. Note that I said some, it was still very much present, just diminished, an unavoidable side effect of growth. The bottom line is that SWA always was & remains an exceptional work place. I never would have left if they hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company, Good Culture

      Sep 16, 2021 - Ground Operations Agent in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great 401K match and profit-sharing. Free/deeply discounted travel.

      Cons

      The busier stations are more metric-driven. The passengers can be very abusive and leadership isn't responsive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Life as a FA

      Sep 16, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work and life balance Pay is great and so are the benefits

      Cons

      If you have a family it can be hard being away sometime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Manufactured Culture

      Jun 25, 2021 - Risk Analyst in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flight benefits - 9.3% 401k match and profitsharing - Insurance coverage is great - low cost to employee and covers most things - Fun place to work

      Cons

      - Promotions are based on favoritism, not performance. The same people get recognized, while others who are performing at higher levels are overlooked - Promotions are also based on arbitrary years of experience - employees who have been there for years but perform poorly are rewarded with promotions, while high performers with fewer years are not promoted - If being compensated for performance is important to you, SWA is not the company for you. - Pay is under market, which makes it difficult to live near work in Dallas - We are constantly told how "lucky" we are to work here. However, other companies offer much better benefits (albeit, without the flight benefits). It often feels like the culture is manufactured as a way to ignore issues. For example, when employees brought up pay issues, we were told that because we have profitsharing and 401k match we have lower pay - No tuition reimbursement - There is a culture of ignoring issues and being afraid of negative feedback, which leaves issues unaddressed and allows low performers to continue to grow despite being unproductive

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Best Job I ever had

      Sep 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No glass ceiling Great community spirit

      Cons

      Sometimes pay is based on how long you’ve been with company as opposed to talent driven.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's the Luv Airline for a reason!

      Sep 11, 2021 - Manager Customer Service V 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, amazing flexibility. Awesome travel benefits. High 401K Company Match. Good stock options.

      Cons

      Inconsistent leadership. Long hours. Frontline personnel are under a Union Contract and can be subjected to mandatory overtime.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Room for growth

      Sep 15, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      employees are treated well union great benefits

      Cons

      company morale has gone downhill with covid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best job

      Sep 15, 2021 - Ramp Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free flights great benefits work with planes

      Cons

      Scheduled is bad for new hire

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Sep 14, 2021 - Financial Planner in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I don’t have any negative things to say

      Cons

      One of the best companies I’ve ever worked for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Best Airline Employer, Hands-Down!

      Sep 8, 2021 - Senior Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Never ending supply of challenging opportunities, because employees are encouraged to speak up and to drive incremental improvements.

      Cons

      You have to establish your own personal work-life balance. Pace yourself if you plan to work at SWA for the long haul.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,627 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Southwest Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    or