Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "I'm so proud to work at Southwest Airlines!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Lead, Corporate Communications in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's cliche, but it really does feel like a Family at Southwest. We are a proud of our (now not so) little airline and what we stand for. I have had fantastic Leaders who care about me as a person--not just my work. Our senior most Leaders think of Employees first with every decision they make. I feel fortunate every day to work for this Company.

    Cons

    Like any organization, keeping up with technology and tools to do our jobs in the most efficient way can be a challenge.

    Southwest Airlines2019-06-18
  2. "My outlook on Southwest Airlines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most high-paid flight attendants, Very flexible, Co-workers are very nice and pleasant, 401k plan and benefits are amazing!

    Cons

    Work on holidays, away from family. Not too many cons, I love SOUTHWEST!

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-16
  3. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSS 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Upon hiring you’re made to feel like you’re important

    Cons

    Work life begins and work is the only thing that matters

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-16
  4. "Golden Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Fun Loving Attitude type of atmosphere!

    Cons

    Not enough fruits and vegetables on the SWA concourse!

    Advice to Management

    Begin a healthy choice movement with fruits and vegetables!

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-16
  5. "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits fly perks family atmosphere exceptional advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Slow working software and entry pay

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-14
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Union, Growth,Benefits,Co workers not much cons

    Cons

    Mando, Starting pay, Management,Long hours

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-14
  7. "Best airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to make up your own schedule Doesn’t lay off workers Family like environment Great health benefits

    Cons

    If low seniority can expect a lot of mandatory over time

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-12
  8. "Southwest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Flight Benefits for five words

    Cons

    Low Pay, Long time (11 years) to top out.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-12
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Anyone who knows what it’s like to be a flight crew knows that it’s a lifestyle and not a job. Competitive pay and benefits with no flight hours minimums or maximums means you can make whatever you want.

    Cons

    Not that I can think of.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Support 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and the company really cares about you.

    Cons

    The pay is definitely on the lower end. I wished they would increase the pay so we can actually live without having to work 2-3 jobs.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-10
Found 1787 reviews