Cover image for Southwest Airlines
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

Southwest Airlines

Engaged Employer

Southwest Airlines

Add a Review

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,518 of over 4K reviews
4.2
79% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2022
Southwest Airlines CEO Robert E. Jordan
85% Approve of CEO

Found 3,511 of over 4K reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines CEO Robert E. Jordan
Robert E. Jordan
268 Ratings

What people are saying about Southwest Airlines

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "401k benefits are great and so are retirement options.(in 496 reviews)
  • "They care about their employees and have a great culture!(in 305 reviews)
  • "People there are great and are willing to help out(in 245 reviews)
  • "Flight benefits are great if you're the kind of person who loves to travel with no guarantees.(in 193 reviews)
  • "It is very fun and the pay is great.(in 171 reviews)
Cons
  • "They have a record of poor management at local cities.(in 108 reviews)
  • "The only cons I can think of are the long hours and weather conditions at times.(in 68 reviews)
  • "Managers do not do reviews the same way(in 34 reviews)
  • "Low salaries for Customer Relations(in 27 reviews)
  • "Initial training can be strengthened(in 22 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Southwest Airlines and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    The Best Company I've Ever Worked For!

    Jul 29, 2022 - Learning Developer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Southwest Airlines practices the element of inclusion more than any other company I've worked with. Everyone has a voice, and the element of respect is unconditionally present at all times. NO WORDS will ever describe how indebted I feel to be apart of this company. It's a priceless feeling!

    Cons

    Honestly, there are no cons currently.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Southwest Airlines Response

    We’re so glad to have you as part of the Southwest Family! Inclusion has always been at the Heart of who we are at Southwest, and we're committed to evolving our hiring, training, and development processes to drive progress and change. By engaging, understanding, and drawing on a variety of perspectives we can continue to celebrate our People and further enrich our Culture. We’re proud you're part of that enrichment!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Salary for TA recruiter

    Dec 9, 2022 - Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture and people are amazing

    Cons

    market pay but low from overall TA perspective

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Southwest Airlines team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Teams and Great Benefits

    Dec 6, 2022 - Associate Technical Writer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing travel, health, and retirement benefits.

    Cons

    Slow to move as a company or promote.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing Job

    Dec 1, 2022 - Customer Service Agent (CSA) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Schedules Travel amazing benefits Flexible Customer contact Benefits Friendly staffs

    Cons

    Odd schedules Mandatory overtime Union Low pay rate

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Company

    Nov 30, 2022 - Lead Inspector 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun. Pays well with lots of time off

    Cons

    Seem to react to situations instead of proactive

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work

    Dec 1, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people great company great pay

    Cons

    Getting too big, loosing culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Best Airline

    Nov 28, 2022 - Customer Service Supervisor in Oakland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flight Benefits for you and your family

    Cons

    You get Mandatory Over Time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I love it!

    Nov 26, 2022 - Flight Attendant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s all about our People 💙❤️💛

    Cons

    Weather disruptions but we can’t control that!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Awesome Company to work for

    Nov 24, 2022 - Systems Engineer Tech Lead in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are awesome and the people are fantastic to work with.

    Cons

    none, none, none, none, none

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    WN

    Dec 8, 2022 - Ramp Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flights, benefits, bonus holiday, pto

    Cons

    ,mandatory overtime is a must for the most part in dal

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,511 Reviews
</>Embed

Southwest Airlines Reviews FAQs

Southwest Airlines has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 3,984 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at Southwest Airlines to a friend and 74% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Southwest Airlines employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Southwest Airlines. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

79% of Southwest Airlines employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Southwest Airlines 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Southwest Airlines to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Southwest Airlines Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Southwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

Southwest Airlines logo
or

Southwest Airlines Careers

Cover image for Southwest Airlines

A career by you, for you At Southwest®, you're empowered to create your own career; one that fits the goals–and lifestyle–you want. ...More

  • A job built on partnership
  • A Culture of caring
  • A part of a winning Team
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Southwest Airlines

31 days ago

Hiring
We're hosting a hiring event on November 17 from 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Denver International Airport. Our Team will be onsite giving on-the-spot interviews and job offers for Candidates eager to join the Southwest Family as a Ramp Agent, Provisioning Agent, or Cargo Agent. If you’re interested in joining our Ground Operations Team at the Denver International Airport, visit swa.is/DenverHiring to register and stop by the hiring event to learn more. Not sure when you can make it? That’s ok! Walk-ins are also welcome. We hope to see you there!
Shared image - November 2022 Denver Hiring Event | Southwest
November 2022 Denver Hiring Event | Southwest
careers.southwestair.com
Logo

Southwest Airlines

44 days ago

Hiring
Are you someone who loves being outdoors, and thrives in a team-based environment? Then we want to meet you! We're hosting a Ramp Agent Hiring Event Thursday, November 3 from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. at the Hilton Nashville Airport. Being a member of the Southwest Airlines® Family is much more than a job, it’s a career with Heart! Our Ramp Agents are passionate about helping people and providing Legendary Customer Service by directing planes on the ground, handling cargo/baggage, and ensuring our ground operations run smoothly. Their hard work and guidance are critical to our success at Southwest. We couldn't operate without them! Stop by to learn more about joining the Southwest Family as a Ramp Agent in Nashville.
Shared image - Nashville Ramp Agent Hiring Event | Southwest
Nashville Ramp Agent Hiring Event | Southwest
swa.is
See all

Southwest Airlines Photos

+ Add Photo
Southwest Airlines photo of: Without a Heart, it's just a machine.
Southwest Airlines photo of: Not just a Career, a Calling
Southwest Airlines photo of: Take your Career to new heights
Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
Southwest Airlines photo of: A Company with Heart
Southwest Airlines photo of: Ramp up your Career
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Southwest Airlines Job Seekers Also Viewed

United Airlines Logo
United Airlines

4.1

5,665 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 3,984 Southwest Airlines reviews submitted anonymously by Southwest Airlines employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Southwest Airlines is right for you.