Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated April 29, 2017
1,131 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

1,131 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Getting mandatory overtime on your 1st day off if short staffed or a lot of call outs (in 61 reviews)

  • This has not detracted from my work-life balance at all, as I enjoy the work (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Worth it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Travel for free including kids up to 24 and parents, plus retirement benefit of taking the free flying benefit away.

    Cons

    Too strict, too traditional, to hard to break thru the ceiling

    Advice to Management

    Visit a few companies in Bay Area

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We will take it to Heart.


  2. "There was no Luv"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Agent in Sacramento, CA
    Former Employee - Operations Agent in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Can pick up hours by agreeing to work coworkers shift

    Cons

    Can terminate you right before passing six month probation for any reason
    Managers and most trainers were not supportive

    Advice to Management

    Give feedback to help an employee to succeed


  3. "Corporate Health and Wellness Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Health and Wellness Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Corporate Health and Wellness Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Not competitive salary's for the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. A career at Southwest is so much more than just a paycheck. We value our Employees, and do our best to offer an incredible total compensation package. This includes very ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Customer service agent"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It was fun and I truly enjoyed it.

    Cons

    I have no cons because I enjoyed it

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Apr 27, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience!


  6. "Southwest Airlines 💝 is LUV"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Elkridge, MD
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Elkridge, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly, Loving, Energetic, fun with outstanding employee benefits

    Cons

    Remarkable efforts and commitments with dedicate employees sometimes results in overbooking.

    Advice to Management

    Please consider rehiring former employees from over 20 years ago.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Apr 27, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you for the kind review! We consider every resume we receive, including returning Employees! Check out all of our available opportunities at www.southwest.com/careers.


  7. "Great Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Ops Crew Scheduler in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Flight Ops Crew Scheduler in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work, awesome teamwork environment, great co-workers. This company really strives to provide you with the tools you need to be successful.

    Cons

    Occasionally a stressful demanding work environment

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for being such an important part of our Team! We are only successful as a Company when each of our Employees have what they need to succeed.


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Airplane Pilot or Copilot"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airplane Pilot Or Copilot in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Airplane Pilot Or Copilot in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Salary, flexible schedule, job stability.

    Cons

    Long hours, benefits lag industry peers, hostile management.

    Advice to Management

    Short sighted management focused on marginal cost savings rather than long term revenue growth, cult-like management that does not tolerate dissent or questioning decisions. Excessive focus on shareholder returns and executive compensation.


  9. "I would ❤ to work for them"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Family and friendly atmosphere. Customer service #1 priority. Hard work pays off. It's the essence of who I am.

    Cons

    Working without heels lol. Actually enjoying coming to work being appreciated. Don't know if it's good for my heart.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people to aspire to give there all to be part of the best.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Mar 1, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback!


  10. "Delivery Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Place to work. Great People. Great Culture.

    Cons

    Decisions were always made by committee

    Advice to Management

    Empower people to make decisions

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Feb 21, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience!


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Best Airline for Pilots"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Officer in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - First Officer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive pay, great work environment, high employee morale, good travel benefits

    Cons

    Few international routes compared to larger airlines, entire fleet is the same type of plane.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Feb 21, 2017 – Specialist

    We're thankful to have you as part of our Team! Thanks for all you do to take care of our Customers.


Showing 1,131 of 1,296 reviews
Reset Filters