Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated April 21, 2017
1,122 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

1,122 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Getting mandatory overtime on your 1st day off if short staffed or a lot of call outs (in 61 reviews)

  • This has not detracted from my work-life balance at all, as I enjoy the work (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Why you should work for Southwest"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pro workers, great pay rate, excellent benefits and awesome working ethics.

    Cons

    Can be stressful if you do not have patience dealing with either costumers, rush hours or both.

    Advice to Management

    Listen a little bit more to your employees and their needs

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Thanks for being such an integral part of our Team!


  2. "Great company going down"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great since of family

    Cons

    Upper management very demanding and doesn't care for employees anymore

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Specialist

    We are a Family at Southwest, and are disappointed to hear your experience isn't in line with our expectations for Leaders. Ultimately, it's up to every Employee to promote and preserve our Culture ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "operations agent"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, ability to trade hours and you can fly for free. Has a great 401K program and health insurance benefits

    Cons

    Not the best hours, 7 days a week job and bid for shift based on seniority.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    That made our Southwest Heart skip a beat. We’re proud to provide an excellent benefits package to our Employees.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Grow Career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits, and peer networks.

    Cons

    Career ceiling reached quickly with limited attrition.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    We’re proud to provide an excellent benefits package to our Employees. We also have an award-winning Leadership Development Team that has several programs focused on helping our Employees grow, and ... More


  6. "Non-Contract Employees are 2nd Class Citizens"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Flight Crew Scheduler in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - In Flight Crew Scheduler in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing, work conditions are good to great. They hire you for a career, not just a job. Fun place to work, dress code is lax as it can be. Neat place to work.

    Cons

    I left voluntarily after giving 2 weeks notice, because non-contract employees who interact with contract (unionized) employees are 2nd class to the unionized employees. If a non-contract owns 10% of a mistake, and contract owns 90%, the non-contract employee will be blamed and punished 100% for what goes wrong, and the non-contract employee will be left to clean up any messes left by contract. SWA is GREAT, its where you want to be if you're a frontline airline worker - ops agent, flight attendant, pilot, ramper, etc. But support personnel are an afterthought.

    Advice to Management

    You've had an antagonistic relationship with unionized work groups for so long, you're used to hammering an employee and relying on the union to moderate the blow - when theres no union to soften that blow, it hurts. Allow non-contract employees a way to appeal decisions made and seek recourse if not promoted or given a bump, don't squash them just because you can. Its easy to say you "care about your employees" when they're doing well. Don't make them orphans when they make a mistake in good faith.

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you share our LUV of a career at Southwest, and we will take the additional feedback you provided into consideration, too.


  7. "Flight Attendant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great pay. Great benefits. Wonderful ( majority ) flight crews to work with. Some LUV is still there! Travel free if you like to.

    Cons

    Rapid Growth with inadequate preparations in out stations & staffing with contract workers. Health issues from altitude, climate & time change increase circadian issues. Nit picky sups & if you get hurt or are sick , many emp are treated poorly

    Advice to Management

    If we could all learn to treat EACH other as when we began service. The days when you all took care of us, and we took care of the pax! If there is a flight attendant with more than 2 rings on one hand & a sup writing her up... Seriously!? That's NUTS & not in a Herb way!

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! With input from our Employees, our Inflight Supervisors have increased their presence in the field to ensure Hospitality is being given to our Customers, as well as ensuring ... More


  8. "Wonderful company with great benefits."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, CT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flight Benefits-the ability to fly wherever you want for free is extremely enticing to most, profit sharing, 401K, full or part time available

    Cons

    Angry people, not enough pay-Starting pay for most ground ops employees isn't nearly enough to offset the amount of responsibility they have, often long hours, schedule can change monthly

    Advice to Management

    Starting pay should be much higher for those working on the ground

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Working in Ground Operations is certainly not for the faint of Heart! It’s a tough job, and we are proud of the amazing Employees who make it a career. But, a career at Southwest is more than just a ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Flight Attendant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great pay, flexibility, great coworkers.

    Cons

    Getting too big for its britches. Trying to be something they are not. Morale is very low . Union and Management too close for comfort.

    Advice to Management

    Take time to invest in low-mid level Management.
    Also, 47 Vice Presidents. Who is running the show?

    Southwest Airlines Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Ultimately, it’s up to every Employee to promote and preserve our Culture across positions, workgroups, and titles. We are so fortunate to have such a longstanding unique Culture, and we all must ... More


  10. "Great Company to work for and grow with"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in South Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in South Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Large Company allowing flexibility in schedules, nice benefits, increase in pay annually until your 13th year. Several days off monthly, maternity and paternity leave, uniform allowance, etc

    Cons

    You have to be just as flexible. No two work days ever look the same. Very long days and nights. Required to work several hours a day making only per diem rate ( approx 2.50 an hour)

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with current and future incentives


  11. Helpful (4)

    "Very Unsafe flight attendant training!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people!
    Southwest does a great job hiring the best people for the flight attendants. A lot of the fellow crew truly care for one another and the customer
    Flight benefits

    Cons

    The training felt VERY UNSAFE because it is TOO RUSHED! only 3 weeks! I don't remember anything at all from the training. It was more like memorize all this information and take your exam the second day to pass the FAA regulation.

    Advice to Management

    I know that you are trying to make money. But making flight attendant training THIS SHORT is truly unsafe for the customers!!! Even though it is technically legal, it doesn't make it morally right! What happened to all that put customers first slogans?



Showing 1,122 of 1,287 reviews
Reset Filters