Southwest Airlines "mandatory overtime" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Southwest Airlines Employee Reviews about "mandatory overtime"

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mandatory overtime"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, and one of the best airlines to work for

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime can be inconvenient! The upside is the double time in pay

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-12-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Are you a vampire?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    I came to Southwest with so much excitement and so much respect. Finally, a company I could work for that had a reputation for treating it's employees great. When I went in for my interview I let them know my greatest asset was my positive attitude and that I would work very hard for them if hired. Everything leading up to training in Dallas was perfect. They flew us to a People department and overwhelmed us with love, letting us know how fortunate we were to work for such a great company while explaining our benefits. Amidst the glow, individual contracts were set out in front of us, with the base pay and the union who had negotiated it. I couldn't have felt more proud of myself for landing this job. I then returned to the station where I trained for about a month with someone, after which I went to the training headquarters in Dallas for three weeks of paid training. All the moments I spent there were wonderful. There was free coffee everywhere, and they put us up in a nice hotel and gave us food cards. It was heaven, and again I felt lucky and so proud to work for Southwest Airlines. I cannot express how great the Corporate culture is. The benefits you receive, as well as the welcome you get, are the main and only highlights of this job. However, once you return from Dallas, the reality sets in: something is not as it seems. This really is too good to be true.

    Cons

    A week after I returned from Dallas, I had completed my training and finally began a probationary period of 6 months. During this time you begin your union contract and bid for a shift. Per the contract: Southwest employees cannot decline mandatory overtime, call in sick, or come to work late. If you do, you receive an occurrence. Three occurrences and you are terminated. During this time it became perfectly clear that I was an employee number. Nothing more. 60 hour weeks were commonplace. Imagine: Your shift is Wednesday through Sunday 3pm - 11:30pm. On Wednesday you work your regular shift, but clock out late due to delays: 3pm - 1:30am (10 hours). However, you are assigned mandatory overtime (remember you cannot decline this without being fired) for 2 hours after you get off at 3:45am - 11:45am. You then work from 3pm - 11:30pm the same day. Imagine that this happens 2 times a week, every week. That is the reality of Southwest Airlines. Throughout my probationary period this was VERY common, and again happened at least 2 times a week. The most I had to work was 81 hours in one week, four 16 hour shifts back to back, and then a regular 8 hour shift on one of my days off. It's not the type of work that is the problem, it is the amount of work. Upon asking union leaders and management, their responses were, and I quote VERBATIM: If you don't like it, maybe this job isn't for you. Once completing your probationary period, which is rare as people literally fall asleep on the job and are fired, or break down from the mental stress of staying awake for 2 days straight, you can decline the overtime. Even then, 16 hour days are a common occurrence, as is mandatory overtime. The IAM union contract states that for every refusal of mandatory overtime, you accrue half a point (.5). If you accrue 9 points, you are subject to termination. In the single month after my probation I accrued 5 points by simply declining overtime. Per the contract, it takes 3 months for just 2 points to drop from your record, during which time you cannot be late, call in sick without a doctors note, or decline ANY overtime. As it stands, my weeks are never less than 50 hours. NEVER. This amount of work results in huge employee burnout. I recently spoke with someone at Headquarters in Dallas who said, "Right now we have a high turnover rate for customer service and we are trying to figure out why." I cannot in good conscious recommend this job to anyone that values their sanity.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-01-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Bad for your mental health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Support in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay if you can hang in for 10 years.

    Cons

    Mandatory Overtime you dont find out about until the day of, making childcare difficult. This job is basically an assembly line, but on the phone. Extreme micromanaging. Every single minute of your day is scheduled. Your average call time, how long you have people on hold, and how much ancillary products you sell is all monitored and "coached". Need an unscheduled bathroom break? Either hold it until your break or take a ding on your "schedule adherence" metric . Every missed minute counts against you. You are expected to routinely troubleshoot our badly-coded reservations system while maintaining a good average call time. Calls are nonstop. You don't have an answer button, the calls just come right in one after another. I know my coworkers faces but not their names. I would transfer to a different department but I've called out sick more than 3 times due to overwhelming anxiety and depression this job gives me. They wonder why they have an attendance problem. We use a hodge podge of outdated and ineffective programs, making this job infinitely harder than it should be. Phone system is always cutting in and out, which is maddening trying to get a call done. Training is thread-bare, they'd rather throw you a memo instead of spend time off the phone teaching. Morale is consistently dismal.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-12-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Awesome Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the company culture.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, and undisclosed Union fees.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-11-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family oriented Money Very fun environment

    Cons

    New hires get mandatory overtime Feels like you’re on thin ice at times

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-09
  6. "Never a Boring Day on the Ramp!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Ramp Supervisor in Windsor Locks, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging, no day is ever the same, great people to work with, well compensated.

    Cons

    Lots of mandatory overtime, very physically strenuous work.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to get started with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is lots of room to grow and the company hires from within. Lots of room to move into supervisor positions. However, if you are at a smaller station, there's less opportunity.

    Cons

    If you're starting new, you'll be at the bottom of the seniority list. This seniority list determines nearly everything about your work schedule. If you're new, don't expect to get weekends off or preferable start times with your work. Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime. It can be difficult to schedule things sometimes. The pay starts off very low with union rules. Depending on what city you live, it may be difficult to live on as a full time job. Lots of people pick up shifts and overtime in order to make a little extra. Pay will grow with time.

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Great company! They treat their employees really well.

    Cons

    The unplanned mandatory overtime

    Southwest Airlines2019-04-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company Bad Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great 401K and Profit sharing plans Free flight benefits

    Cons

    mandatory overtime that can keep you on the clock for 16 hours straight if you're new you do not have a work/life balance bad leadership human resources process is terrible could be stuck in the same position

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-02-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service & Support in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Corporate has a sense of humor & looks out for its employees as well as the customers. A golden rule mentality!

    Cons

    Sometimes there's mandatory overtime, but they make you aware of that going in.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-01-30
Found 87 reviews