Southwest General Health Center Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest General Health Center Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Southwest General Health Center CEO William A. Young
William A. Young
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love leaders and directors

    Cons

    Low wage increase. They spend a lot of money on fun activities, they should just put the funds towards our wages instead

    Advice to Management

    Get more people like the Vice President of HR. She's excellent. She helped me with all my benefit questions. She even cam to my unit to answer my concerns

    Southwest General Health Center2017-10-06
  2. "management that does not care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PACU RN in Middleburg Heights, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great care and staff that work together

    Cons

    management that does not fix department issues

    Advice to Management

    make sure there are enough staff for safe care

    Southwest General Health Center2019-03-24
  3. "L&D RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in San Antonio, TX

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co workers and patients

    Cons

    We were promised a retention bonus but still haven't received it.

    Advice to Management

    In order to keep good nurses we need better pay and supervisors that support the hard work we do and the best patient care we give. Hopefully the new owners will see that.

    Southwest General Health Center2017-10-11
  4. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    OR-awesome management, pays more then other local hospitals, offer tuition assistance, very clean and nice, most floors are brand new with single patient rooms, they seem to offer raises annually most of the time

    Cons

    health insurance is not the greatest-

    Southwest General Health Center2017-09-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "R.N."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    R N in Middleburg Heights, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center

    Pros

    Working in a community sized hospital makes you feel like part of a family. Co-workers are what get you through the day. My nurse manager is very positive and encouraging making it easy to go to her with concerns. There are always opportunities for advancement if you want them. The hospital has gone through major renovations adding a new bed tower and also remodeling older units. Always nice to work in an... updated space. Last but not least, the care provided by nursing staff at Southwest is caring and professional.

    Show More

    Cons

    Too many managers. Too many meetings for managers.

    Advice to Management

    I would challenge anyone in upper management to come down to the front lines, put on scrubs and experience your hospital from our perspective. Ever watch Undercover Boss? Enlightening.

    Southwest General Health Center2016-09-27
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small hospital feel with big hospital goals.

    Cons

    Same as any... cost cutting affects ability to do the job you'd like to be doing.

    Southwest General Health Center2015-08-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good care....but watch out for management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice, compassionate people that give fabulous nursing care, free close parking and pretty good benefits, nice human resources and Nurse educators

    Cons

    Managers and assistant managers don't help out, assistant managers have no leadership skills or training and are allowed to bully staff

    Advice to Management

    Require training for your managers and assistant managers, talk with your staff for suggestions on making things better not the "chosen" that the managers know will say the "right things".

    Southwest General Health Center2015-05-22
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free parking, friendly staff/coworkers, excellent orientation program

    Cons

    With all the current construction, employees are not getting raises for 18 months as opposed to prior yearly reviews. Still trying to get Magnet status and encouraging RNs to get BSNs, but not offering any additional compensation to do so. Tuition reimbursement could be increased.

    Southwest General Health Center2014-06-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work, fair wage, affiliated with UH, beautiful facility

    Cons

    Did away with holiday turkeys for employees, no time and a half for holidays- yet nurses work every other.

    Advice to Management

    Pay time and a half for holidays.

    Southwest General Health Center2013-01-04
Found 9 reviews