Southwest General Health Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest General Health Center Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Southwest General Health Center President & CEO William A. Young
William A. Young
13 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Assistant in Berea, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their patients and their employees.

    Cons

    It is more challenging when they are short on staff sometimes.

    Southwest General Health Center2019-07-28
  2. "HR Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest General Health Center part-time

    Pros

    Such a great enviroment and hospital to work for. Offers good benefits and competitive salary

    Cons

    None. Really enjoyed being here!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Southwest General Health Center2018-10-26
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love leaders and directors

    Cons

    Low wage increase. They spend a lot of money on fun activities, they should just put the funds towards our wages instead

    Advice to Management

    Get more people like the Vice President of HR. She's excellent. She helped me with all my benefit questions. She even cam to my unit to answer my concerns

    Southwest General Health Center2017-10-06
  4. "Great Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management is approachable. Pay is good compared to other area hospitals.

    Cons

    Health insurance could be better.

    Southwest General Health Center2017-09-27
  5. "The title could have been Patient Unit Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest General Health Center part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Compassionate Supervisor, Excellent Training, Friendly Coworkers, Room for Growth

    Cons

    For me there were not enough hours, pay could have been higher.

    Advice to Management

    Too long between application and getting hired.

    Southwest General Health Center2017-09-20
  6. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest General Health Center part-time

    Pros

    Worked with an amazing staff!

    Cons

    I didn't have any cons!

    Southwest General Health Center2017-08-27
  7. "Great Community Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture. Nice community feel at the workplace. Great team members.

    Cons

    Lack of work affecting your hours. Not all Leaders are true LEADERS.

    Southwest General Health Center2017-05-03
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nurser in Middleburg Heights, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center

    Pros

    I've been at Southwest for almost 10 years, and many of the people I work with have been there even longer. I think that speaks volumes about how great it is to work at Southwest. At least in my area of the hospital, there is an amazing team effort in delivering patient care. Everyone helps each other and has great pride in their work. The organization as a whole seems to give many opportunities for employees to give their input and makes you feel appreciated.

    Show More

    Cons

    One of the biggest downsides in my opinion is the lack of support for advancing education opportunities. There is limited tuition assistance available. Also, as with many healthcare facilities, many areas of the hospital are often forced to work short-staffed - which is not only stressful but can be unsafe. Though sometimes helpful, many times supervisors make it seem like there is nothing that they can do to fix those situations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In general, keep your ears and minds open to employee feedback. Many of us would appreciate better opportunites for education and tuition assistance. Because so many employees stay at Southwest for a long time, it would be in Southwest's best interest to have its employees further their education. Also, there needs to be more consistent adherence to posted staffing grids in an effort to keep patients safe and nurses sane. Thanks.

    Show More
    Southwest General Health Center2011-02-16
  9. "Southwest a family place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Middleburg Heights, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center

    Pros

    It is close to home. it is a top 100 hospital and has many other rewards. They care about the patient and making sure everything is done correctly. They also care about employees

    Cons

    Sometimes a little clicky- you have to know someone to get some of the choice positions, People really stay in their jobs so not alot of higher level job opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Communication- the more the better. Be available for communication - via phone, email- whatever.

    Southwest General Health Center2008-10-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work, fair wage, affiliated with UH, beautiful facility

    Cons

    Did away with holiday turkeys for employees, no time and a half for holidays- yet nurses work every other.

    Advice to Management

    Pay time and a half for holidays.

    Southwest General Health Center2013-01-04
Found 46 reviews