Southwest General Health Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest General Health Center Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Southwest General Health Center President & CEO William A. Young
William A. Young
14 Ratings
  1. "is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Unit Secretary 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center

    Pros

    SWGH is what it is. I like my job, the location, and working for a hospital in general and have made some good friends.

    Cons

    If you're a nurse, you will get treated like crap by the doctors and if you're not a nurse you will get treated like crap by everyone. Yay.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Health Center2009-07-20
  2. "It depends where you work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center

    Pros

    Hospital location is very close to home.

    Cons

    no place to grow in the field I work!

    Southwest General Health Center2011-03-16
  3. "nice community hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Southwest General Health Center

    Pros

    the employees are among the best I have worked with.

    Cons

    need more communication between levels of staff and disciplines. sometimes expectations are not clear to all who are impacted by them.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Health Center2010-07-12
  4. "L&D RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in San Antonio, TX

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co workers and patients

    Cons

    We were promised a retention bonus but still haven't received it.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Health Center2017-10-11
  5. "Southwest, Ohio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time

    Pros

    Small hospital, easy to get to know the employees, free parking for employees, clean, good doctors, located in a quiet neighborhood.

    Cons

    Health insurance, no cost of living pay raises, no bonuses, no paid sick days, although they have a nice gym, employees pay to use it and it can be expensive even with the employee discount, which by the way, you only receive it if you use the gym so many times per week.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Health Center2017-06-16
  6. "Mental Health Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like most of the people I work with

    Cons

    Terrible health insurance for a hospital and no room for advancement without going back to school

    Southwest General Health Center2017-06-01
  7. "Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    All staff nursing, pharmacists, respiratory, pcas, dietary, case managers-- work well together.

    Cons

    Upper management not trustworthy.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Health Center2017-03-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Seeking new employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest General Health Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my coworkers and feel valued by my bosses.

    Cons

    Very disorganized office. I feel like our administration is digging us into the ground. Awful health insurance coverage.

    Southwest General Health Center2015-06-19
  9. "I was given opportunity to grow and expand my skills, while given a lot of responsibility and exposure to different cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Middleburg Heights, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Southwest General Health Center

    Pros

    Small office staff, so you are exposed to the big picture, but also must get into the details, and the all hands on deck philosophy at times allows for development of leadership experience as well as team work skills.

    Cons

    Small staff means significant expectations, long hours, no back-up, and office culture was toxic at times, where you had to watch your back, because you might be thrown under the bus.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Health Center2015-02-24
  10. "Dedicated staff. Ethical organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Middleburg Heights, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Southwest General Health Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depends on department and manager. I had a good experience.

    Cons

    No career ladder for non-clinical personnel. Low pay rate.

    Southwest General Health Center2013-02-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 47 reviews