Southwest General Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest General Hospital Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
Southwest General Hospital CEO Craig Desmond
Craig Desmond
0 Ratings
  1. "License Practical Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Southwest General Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A nice place to work 12 hr shifts

    Cons

    The skilled nursing unit I worked on closed

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2015-02-20
  2. "Health Care provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest General Hospital

    Pros

    They take Doctors and Nurse Practitioners with no experience or bad track records. So you can get a job there.

    Cons

    No one cares. The older nurses are so lazy. The younger nurses don't know what they are doing. There is not much in between.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2018-07-16
  3. "HORRIBLE! Run away quick!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest General Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of parking because no one wants to work there

    Cons

    Dangerously understaffed and management doesn’t care. They fire nurses who speak up for safety.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2018-05-23
  4. "Enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoy and trust the people I work with.

    Cons

    The pay for prn is $32 base and it hasn’t changed in 15+ years. Other hospitals prn base pay is much higher.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2018-03-06
  5. "ok for new nurse experience but not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    small, close-knit atmosphere. great people to work with.

    Cons

    very low pay and terrible health benefits. constant "policy" changes when all it really is is word of mouth changes

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2017-11-01
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southwest General Hospital

    Pros

    Women's Health is the best unit with the best staff and management.

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to competitors. Benefits are mediocre. Only place I've ever worked that employees are not privileged to have outlook email. Thus communication regarding company and unit is mostly via word of mouth. I find this strange and annoying. It is 2017.

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2017-05-27
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest General Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot at my first nursing job, met some of the nicest people, made life-long friends, short commute from my home.

    Cons

    Not the nicest side of town, some of the patients were very rude and the language barrier was also a problem as I do not speak much Spanish.

    Southwest General Hospital2017-01-29
  8. "An out of control adminstration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Southwest General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chance for OT, a couple of the RNs wete the best id ever worked with.

    Cons

    A sinister group, very micromanaging administration who make their rules up as they go along, bullying, favoritsm, no one to go to because all the uppers stick togethrt, lewd behavoir, RNs who could not distinguish heart rhythm, foul language in front of patients,

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2017-02-01
  9. "Sallary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Southwest General Hospital

    Pros

    pay good for glass door hospital

    Cons

    very high turn over rate

    Continue reading
    Southwest General Hospital2016-08-19
  10. "Telemetry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Southwest General Hospital

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Reasonable wages.

    Cons

    Administration is not a team player.

    Southwest General Hospital2016-08-20
Found 27 reviews