Cover image for Southwest Key Programs
Logo

Southwest Key Programs

Engaged Employer

Southwest Key Programs

Add a Review

Southwest Key Programs Employee Reviews about "shelter"

Updated Jun 8, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 388 of over 388 reviews
3.3
59% Recommend to a Friend
53% Approve of CEO

Found 1 of over 388 reviews

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Key Programs President and CEO Dr. Anselmo Villareal (no image)
Dr. Anselmo Villareal
49 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Southwest Key Programs and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "shelter"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I LOVE MY JOB

    Jun 8, 2021 - Regional Director of Recreational and Vocational Education in Brownsville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my job helping create and develop our plans for children's recreations and vocational activities. I believe in our mission and I believe that this job has ignited a passion in me for helping others.

    Cons

    Negative media attention from people who do not know the ins and outs of a shelter.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love Case Management

    Nov 20, 2019 - Case Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good team, Good cause, Amazing program.

    Cons

    Huge Caseload, Pressure, not all shelters provide the same standardized protocol.

    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Southwest Key Programs team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a stable job position.

    Sep 30, 2019 - Case Manager in Brownsville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Good co-workers environment -Acquire lots of experience -Have the opportunity to help children

    Cons

    -Bad administration management -Unreal deadline expectations -Shelters are all about clients. If the numbers are low, you better have a back up plan.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The worst company to work - Stay away of this company

    Sep 7, 2017 - Mental Health Clinician in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It has an excellent mission and vision even though they do not put it into practice. The values only put into practice those that suit them. Wages are adequate but not sufficient for the amount of work.

    Cons

    The allegedly non-profit company only cares about getting government funds. They do not care about employees or the clients (children). The human resources office in headquarters and in every single shelter are incompetent. They have no knowledge of labor laws and do things contrary to law regardless of the quality of life of employees or refugees. Recently they laid off employees at their convenience and not by seniority. You have to work overtime and the salaried employee is not paid for those hours. Hourly employees do not have time to rest and often have to eat standing up like horses. There are much favoritism and cronyism, which starts from the headquarter and reaches national shelters. They offer relocation bonus and contract signing but you have to beg for them to be paid. You have to work under pressure and fear. They tell you constantly that the company can give laid off at any time because of the refugee and immigration office.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Wonderful mission, Poor working environment

    Aug 2, 2017 - Direct Service Provider in Pleasant Hill, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with youth at shelter was an amazing experience, something I will take me with me.

    Cons

    Management was poor and created environment based on fear.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Youth Care Worker

    May 3, 2017 - Youth Care Worker in El Paso, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a youth care worker you get to feel like you are making a difference in the lives of children who are putting themselves in great danger to have a chance at a better life. The kids are mostly all very respectful and they show gratitude and patience despite their situation.

    Cons

    The kids are sometimes bored, and they are treated like prisoners. I understand the regulations of a shelter for unaccompanied minors, but sometimes I felt that the kids felt like they were just a number. Also there wasn't enough time for staff to spend time outside of the job (mostly second and third shift)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Clinician

    May 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free medical insurance, good pay, support from co workers

    Cons

    Smaller shelters are more demanding, high turnover due to managers/burnout. Low PTO (6.5) and Sick hours (4 month)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Good Experience

    Feb 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    make great relationships with children from different countries

    Cons

    Don't care about the minors in the shelter, just numbers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Youth Care Worker

    Jun 7, 2016 - Youth Care Worker in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice place to work. Very polite people and helpful. They listen to advise to improve ways of doing things in the work place. I miss the kids. I hope they are doing well and the case workers took care of them. I am sure the case worker did. They are very dedicated. I saw a case solve to one of the kids I did the in-process to the shelter. I am very happy for her. Overall; a good place to work if rules are applied equally.

    Cons

    Maintenance personnel are treated like a bunch of uneducated janitors. They don't realized we have experience in other more advance technical areas they don't know about. Mostly women environment, with the tendency to said things about other gender which i would get in trouble for. Bashing men is funny and they laugh about it. That doesn't make them better than us, but just doing the same unprofessional behaviors they complained about and show on videos.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Case Manager

    Jul 3, 2016 - Case Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping children find a family member that would be able to provide a safe home and environment was the best part of my job.

    Cons

    Management was absolutely worthless. No one knew what they were doing. No one was able to tell you exactly what you should do without saying "in our shelter we do it this way, but we'll find a way that works for us soon". Lead case managers spoke behind case managers backs.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 1 of 1 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Southwest Key Programs Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Southwest Key Programs? Share Your Experiences

Southwest Key Programs logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Southwest Key Programs Photos

+ Add Photo
Southwest Key Programs photo of: Austin Headquarters
Southwest Key Programs photo of: Casa Lighhouse
Southwest Key Programs photo of: Classroom
Southwest Key Programs photo of: Shelter in Arizona

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Southwest Key Programs Job Seekers Also Viewed

BCFS Logo
BCFS

2.8

215 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 388 Southwest Key Programs reviews submitted anonymously by Southwest Key Programs employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Southwest Key Programs is right for you.