Southwestern Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwestern Energy Reviews

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 158 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Bill Way
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "During my employment, the culture was amazing and work/life balance (at least in our department) was great(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great people, 9/80, nice facilities(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of communication from Upper Management(in 10 reviews)

  • "After natural gas prices collapsed, they were forced to lay off 40% of the workforce (myself included)(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwestern Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and great life/work balance

    Cons

    Oil and Gas fluctuates often

    Southwestern Energy2019-05-30
  2. "Working for SWN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Geologist 

    I worked at Southwestern Energy full-time

    Pros

    Most of the people I worked with were hard working and very knowledgeable.

    Cons

    The Companies direction on were and what it wanted to do next was not always done right. Made a lot of mistakes along the way. Ended up losing a lot of people because of those rushed mistakes.

    Southwestern Energy2019-05-04
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSE in Jane Lew, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwestern Energy full-time

    Pros

    Company treats their employees very well.

    Cons

    Long hours, but compensated well for them!

    Southwestern Energy2019-04-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Can It Get Any Worse?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spring, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwestern Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This place is a nightmare. Pros? None.

    Cons

    This company is being run into the ground. Hard to believe that the Board of Directors has not taken action. What are they waiting for?

    Advice to Management

    Please just go.

    Southwestern Energy2019-05-05
  5. "Layoffs and more layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southwestern Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex Friday’s were a wonderful benefit.

    Cons

    You never feel safe with the amount of layoffs. Always wondering if tomorrow is your day?

    Southwestern Energy2019-03-30
  6. "Lacking Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwestern Energy full-time

    Pros

    New office building, good pay, good people. Very friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Lacking leadership, no growth, instability and fear of layoffs run rampant.

    Southwestern Energy2019-02-16
  7. "Great Place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Southwestern Energy full-time

      Pros

      Great environment to grow and learn in this industry

      Cons

      Pay is low starting off and slowly increases over the number of years

      Southwestern Energy2019-01-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Really good benefits, mediocre middle management, exceptionally poor CEO and upper management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Conway, AR
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Southwestern Energy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great pay & benefits, subpar upper management.

      Cons

      The “look at me” types get promotions who lack talent. Creativity is stifled by managers who think that they have learned everything they need to know in life by their early 30s. No mentoring process to guide new managers which allows for bad management to perpetuate. Low level of upward mobility. Steve Mueller ran the company into the ground with very poor leadership in acquisitions. The New Ventures team along...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Upper management should all leave. Maybe the whole upper management team could quit so that they can sit around all day and listen to Bill Way expound upon his great qualities, accomplishments and attention to detail when he grooms his hair.

      Southwestern Energy2019-01-06
    • "Application Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Southwestern Energy

      Pros

      Company pays well and there is room for growth.

      Cons

      When Oil & Gas industry hit the skids we get laid off.

      Southwestern Energy2018-10-15
    • "Good Operationally Speaking, Poor Outlook"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Southwestern Energy full-time

      Pros

      great team environment. good pay and benefits.

      Cons

      poor communication between management and employees.

      Southwestern Energy2018-09-05
    Found 158 reviews