Southwire Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Southwire Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 253 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Southwire CEO Richard Stinson (no image)
Richard Stinson
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tool Maker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits are good, health care is good.

    Cons

    Not enough hours, more hours

    Continue reading
    Southwire2019-05-05
  2. "A Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance Rotation Analyst in Carrollton, GA

    I have been working at Southwire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I've worked with are great.

    Cons

    The geographic location of the company is limiting.

    Southwire2019-09-05
  3. "Good place to work. Could be great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tool and Die Technician in Heflin, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwire full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable income. Moderate salary. Good health insurance. Always opportunities to climb if you have drive.

    Cons

    Some areas have unhealthy long term working conditions. Poor retirement plan compared to other companies in the industry.

    Continue reading
    Southwire2019-08-24
  4. "GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything you can ask for in a company

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about them

    Continue reading
    Southwire2019-08-08
  5. "Good starting point for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Southwire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with the engineering team. Good place to learn and get some hands-on experience.

    Cons

    I wish they had an internship program with objectives and timeline so the internship can be more structured.

    Southwire2019-07-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Manufacturing in Rural GA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Southwire full-time

    Pros

    Great employees who go above and beyond.

    Cons

    Company lacks diversity of thought. Raises and promotions are rare.

    Southwire2019-06-22
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Carrollton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwire part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management was flexible with school schedule.

    Cons

    With such a large company it wasn’t personal, and you feel like just a numbe.

    Southwire2019-06-20
  8. "Family-owned company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwire full-time

    Pros

    Family-owned; management takes a long view. People are helpful to one another. The company provides a nice benefits package.

    Cons

    Nothing specific to share - it is a good company.

    Southwire2019-05-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company to build experience with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Opportunity to gain experience with systems and communication with upper management. -High quality benefits. -401K matching is very generous. -Most employees are relatively understanding

    Cons

    -Culture has become a back burner. Southwire Company was known for having a great culture until recent years. -Lack of standardization. -Quality of life depends on which group you find yourself reporting to. -Lack of training in all aspects of employee development. -Sink or Swim! -Advancement depends on who you know.

    Southwire2019-05-22
  10. "Field Account Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Account Representative in Carrollton, GA

    I worked at Southwire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Company with a strong history of caring for their employees

    Cons

    Work based off of what Lowe's did, not our accomplishments, if Lowe's failed I failed..even if I had met or exceeded all my goals

    Southwire2019-04-29
Found 253 reviews