Sovereign Global Advisors Reviews | Glassdoor

Sovereign Global Advisors Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "The reviews are true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their reps and it shows. I've been to quite a few IBD's and this group is simply just amazing. They will actually stay late and do whatever they have to in order to get something done if they know its important to you. They are smart and they are kind, two of my favorite qualities in humans, and they are on my team now and I couldn't be happier.

    Cons

    Not easy to get in. They just don't hire small reps. Philosophy is quality over quantity. So if you get in, its an accomplishment.

    Advice to Management

    John Dragotta, thank you for this opportunity and for making all of us feel that we are a part of something amazing! P.S. I overheard one of the girls in the office say, "it's like talking to God" when it comes to getting advice from him!

    Sovereign Global Advisors2019-07-24
  2. "Working from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Research in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sovereign Global Advisors part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    pay is based on the amount of research you do. Easy work environment

    Cons

    Not much room for growth. Not much advising or managerial oversight.

    Sovereign Global Advisors2019-11-07
  3. ""Recently Transitioned and Was Best Decision I Ever Made""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wealth Advisor in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees at Sovereign are dedicated staff that made my transition seamless! They went above and beyond to make everything go smoothly. Great people to work with and CEO is truly a visionary, and more importantly just a great guy!! He is exactly what all CEO's should strive to be.

    Cons

    There are no negatives here

    Sovereign Global Advisors2019-05-21
  4. "Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Very professional atmosphere that also provides a warm, family-friendly culture. -My co-workers are very knowledgeable, which makes working in a team enjoyable and very efficient. -The personalities here work well together, if someone needs help or finds they don't have an answer they need for something they reach out to someone who does and work together to finish that project.

    Cons

    -Lack of public transportation getting to the corporate office.

    Sovereign Global Advisors2018-06-01
  5. "Independent Broker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Contractor in Great Neck, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent back office support which made my transition seamless. Everything that was promised during our negotiation has been delivered and the people at headquarters are amazing with everything that they have helped me with.

    Cons

    I have no negative comments to report

    Sovereign Global Advisors2018-03-05
  6. "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stockbroker in Oakdale, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The knowledge and the help from the staff is on point. Making a transition over to SGA has not only been the best choice, it’s been seamless and pleasurable. I’ve had a career spanning two decades and I’ve never been treated with this much care and attention to my business needs. Very excited about my future with SGA, and Mr. Dragotta. Hard pressed to find people like this.

    Cons

    None, it’s been as good as it gets

    Advice to Management

    No advice needed at this time.

    Sovereign Global Advisors2018-01-05
  7. "New independent rep for 2 months now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Like no firm I’ve ever dealt with. CEO is obsessed and he’ll tell you like it is. Real visionary. I’ll admit I was totally scared of the transition but I was promised that it would go smooth and they really delivered. They actually care and it shows. From effective communication with me and my clients to some of them actually staying late making sure things were done correctly for me. The whole transition actually... went crazy quick, much, much faster than I had thought and so much smoother than I ever could of imagined. I’m still actually a bit shocked. Their real Pros and it shows in their work. I really appreciated everything they did for me. If you have a large book of business like me and want pros handling your transition...this is the place.

    Show More

    Cons

    None.... well maybe Dragotta is too honest but it makes you see some things differently and I can see how it can help my business. Almost like a business coach! Hurts to hear the truth sometimes but it’s what we need when striving to be better. Other than that he’s all love and support! Hahaa

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Sovereign Global Advisors2018-01-05
  8. "Knowledgeable and Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Collection in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Professional Management -Collaborative -Good working environment - Value of Integrity -Experienced employees

    Cons

    -Not as diverse -Far commute

    Sovereign Global Advisors2017-12-05
  9. "Excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rep in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sovereign Global Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The freedom to manage your client relationships as you see fit. Remarkable trading platform, plus multiple strategies.

    Cons

    None, it is an ideal environment

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work JD

    Sovereign Global Advisors2017-11-15
  10. "Review for Sovereign Global Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Sovereign Global Advisors for less than a year

    Pros

    I was working under supervision of the company's CEO, Mr. Dragotta. He is definitely one of the nicest boss I have met. He is also very helpful with such great vision. He always encourages me to "find more information" in my financial analysis. Through out the whole intern experience, I have learned a lot about the stock market and also the macro economy. Thanks to Mr. Dragotta, I am able to understand different... investing philosophy; he also shows me which books that I should read to improve my financial knowledge. Overall, I think my experience as an intern at Sovereign Global Advisors was exceptional. I really appreciate what I have learned there.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only problem is that the company is not in New York city anymore. They moved their office to Long Island.

    Sovereign Global Advisors2015-09-14
Found 18 reviews