Cover image for Sovereign Lending Group
Logo

Sovereign Lending Group

Engaged Employer

Sovereign Lending Group

Add a Review

Sovereign Lending Group Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 189 of over 191 reviews

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Sovereign Lending Group Principals Joe Pirro and Dan Holtz
Joe Pirro and Dan Holtz
153 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

2m

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

38

12 Comments

Finance

135K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Sovereign Lending Group~722610
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Sovereign Lending Group? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Sovereign Lending Group employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "1. Company culture is amazing!(in 10 reviews)
  • "Management always makes us feel appreciated with food and fun activities (like bbqs, team bonding events outside work)(in 9 reviews)
  • "They have a great training program for their new to the industry mortgage loan officers.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and for.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great work life balance for a mortgage company.(in 6 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sovereign Lending Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great funding department

    Oct 11, 2022 - MORTGAGE FUNDER in Westminster, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support from manager and team members

    Cons

    When there are new changes in policies/rules/regulations, it should be made aware to all team members.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It is ok

    Dec 27, 2022 - Mortgage Banker (MLO) in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Help you get your MLO license to start in the industry

    Cons

    After you're licensed, training is almost none xistent and your support depends on the manager you get

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    employee appreciation

    Dec 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quick onboarding and training process

    Cons

    I received a great performance review. I asked if I could get a raise for my great performance. It took them 4 months to tell me no.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Complete joke

    Dec 27, 2022 - Anonymous-Former Employee in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros are you get to dress casual.

    Cons

    Almost everything Ownership doesn’t care at all they walk around bragging about the house they have and cars they have. They micromanage everyone and don’t allow a day off but take 2 weeks vacations during a hard market. Then have a rally to blind the employees. Last rally you can see how miserable everyone is on their post they sent. They pull agents and MLO’s and read over the scripts then think they did something! That’s not training and it undermines management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sovereign Lending Group Response

    I am sorry you did not see the same value as others would and did not find SLG the right for you. Most would find training from the Owners of their company extremely valuable, especially from owners that have been in business for over 17 years. I can say with certainty that SLG is known for not micromanaging their employees and one of the biggest compliments we received when hiring from competitors. We have plenty of people taking their earned vacation time, I myself was on vacation the day this review was written. Neither Joe nor Dan are known to brag, in fact, Dan drives an old car from 2013 and I think that shows this not to be true. We appreciate you leaving a review, but we feel you have a subjective view of SLG. We wish you luck in your search.

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Try calling center and see if you like sales

    Nov 16, 2022 - Market Contact Agent in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will know right away if you like sals

    Cons

    You are almost timed on the phone, during breaks, and when you are in or out of training

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    tough industry

    Nov 18, 2022 - Sales in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice people and good environment

    Cons

    tough industry so everyone is suffering

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Inside Sales LO

    Oct 14, 2022 - Mortgage Loan Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company provides generated leads daily

    Cons

    More related to the industry just a tough time but good people here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A lot of lies

    Sep 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a lot of competitions, but its hard to make it to the top. The building looks cool.

    Cons

    A lot of promises, and never come through. They keep you hanging when they say they will promote you. They play favorites, and it's clear who they like and don't like. Not a good work environment. Management does not take time to train. If you ask for help, they act as if it's a burden.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A lot of pros and cons

    Sep 6, 2022 - Mortgage Loan Officer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay structure is nice if you are funding a lot of loans because you get paid on a tier system. I liked management and learned a lot. This company does a great job at teaching new LOs

    Cons

    High turnover, if you do not produce you will be let go - but that's true with most sales jobs. One thing I did not like was that guidelines were constantly changing and people stealing loans was bad for company culture.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing and fun, make so much money

    Jul 28, 2022 - MOrtgage Loan Originator in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hard work pays. Best company best people, make money get it!

    Cons

    If you cant dial you should practice and just do it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 189 Reviews

Sovereign Lending Group Reviews FAQs

Sovereign Lending Group has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 191 reviews left anonymously by employees. 61% of employees would recommend working at Sovereign Lending Group to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -13% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Sovereign Lending Group employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Sovereign Lending Group. This rating has decreased by -14% over the last 12 months.

61% of Sovereign Lending Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Sovereign Lending Group 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Sovereign Lending Group to be culture, management, career development and the cons to be work life balance .

Popular Careers with Sovereign Lending Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sovereign Lending Group? Share Your Experiences

Sovereign Lending Group logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Sovereign Lending Group Photos

+ Add Photo
Sovereign Lending Group photo of: SLG treated the top two teams to some laps at K1 Speed!
Sovereign Lending Group photo of: Inc. 5000 6 years in a row
Sovereign Lending Group photo of: Our SLG family
Sovereign Lending Group photo of: First TECH1 loan Submission
Sovereign Lending Group photo of: Congrats to our TECH1 trainees who passed their NMLS
Sovereign Lending Group photo of: Inaugural TECH1 Advanced Mortgage Training
Sovereign Lending Group photo of: Ugly Sweater contest 2017
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Sovereign Lending Group Job Seekers Also Viewed

Network Capital Funding Corporation Logo
Network Capital Funding Corporation

4.1

1,112 Reviews
Compare