Sovereign Lending Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Sovereign Lending Group Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Sovereign Lending Group CEO Joe Pirro and Dan Holtz
Joe Pirro and Dan Holtz
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "SLG for years then was promoted to a Sales Manager(in 9 reviews)

  • "SLG is a great place to work, I was a Top Loan Officer for SLG for years then was promoted to a Sales Manager(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (9-10hrs/day), but the day goes by very quickly(in 5 reviews)

  • "Several family members and friends of one of the owners have worked there and quit to go somewhere else(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best mortgage company to work for, PERIOD!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked here for years, and the opportunities for those who love finance and real estate are incredible and varied, culture is amazing, management is solid, Joe Pirro and Dan Holtz are the most approachable, best owners of any company I know of and genuinely care about their employees personal and professional development; it can be tough work and stressful at times but I have nothing but gratitude working at SLG.

    Cons

    If you're not willing to work hard you likely won't succeed at SLG or anywhere.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-07-30
  2. "Mortgage Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good consistent call volume for originators. Compensation to sales is fantastic, hourly pay + volume tiers and no limitations with OT. Loans fund very quick here at SLG. Executive management is transparent with open door atmosphere. No a micromanaging culture like other local lenders, we are treated like adults and professionals. Weekends are not mandatory and optional which is great! Pricing to consumers is excellent.

    Cons

    Pipeline funds too quickly here. Bottom producers fielding good calls, they should limit calls to low producing sales LOs. Sometimes too many calls.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-07-09
  3. "Love your work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Funder in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SHORTS, we can wear shorts! Casual attire and the relaxed environment have always helped me to be more productive. I have had so many positive experiences with SLG from the first day when one owner came out of his office to meet me and make sure my I-9 forms were processed quickly to today when an owner genuinely asked and wanted to hear about my 4 day 4th of July weekend. I have had the honor of working with some of the most professional and personable management but SLG has a culture from the top to the bottom of genuine care. A more recent example, the 5th of July, operations was given a paid day off to allow for a 4 day weekend. There is a culture of integrity comes directly from the owners and seeps through management to every employee . I love working at SLG because of so many reasons but the open doors of management and the owners to hear and effect positive changes to help us all to be more efficient and successful at helping customers and to allow anyone to push themselves to reach new and higher goals are the main reasons I love my work. I have also been inspired by the ownership and management by how they push SLG to grow. To see ownership and management implement and achieve goals has effected me personally and professionally to grow so much that I started a business with their help and guidance and look to the owners and management as mentors.

    Cons

    NONE - We are growing and it is an exciting to be a part of.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-07-09
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere here is amazing! I love going into work everyday. All of my co-workers are very friendly and helpful. I love how the income you make is based upon how hard you want to work.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this company.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-07-03
  5. "Worst managed company I ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None! None absolutely none. They didn't even have a sink in their kitchen!

    Cons

    Owners are clueless and treat their employees like crap. Lying, cheating, bullying! Not Dan so much but definitely little man.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-08-05
  6. "Great Family Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MOrtgage Loan Originator in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The reason why I titled the review "great family" is due to the culture here. It is a wonderful place to work where you are involved in decision making and spearing your own career. However, the culture in the office is so welcoming and relaxed that it doesn't feel like work at the same time. Everyone is always eager to assist if need and management is there for you at all times. The owners are in office everyday making sure to foster the appropriate family atmosphere. Not to mention so many team building activities/outings/acknowledgement for a "job well done"; no matter how big or small the accomplishment.

    Cons

    No CONS that I can come up with!

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-06-25
  7. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SLG is a great place to work, I was a Top Loan Officer for SLG for years then was promoted to a Sales Manager. In the LO and in my Management position I am supported. I feel the upper management is vested the individual success of all their employees alongside the Companies Successes.

    Cons

    None I can think of, we are building a great place to come to work with a great culture daily.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-05-28
  8. "Owners that Care for their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sovereign Lending Owners actually care for their employees. They do what ever it takes to keep everyone busy with leads making every day an enjoyable day. Their is Always some activity going on each month. Front front-end to back-end everything runs smoothly making it easy to fund loans in 13-20 days. One of the fastest companies i have ever worked for. Friendly staff , Team Buildings, great rates , lots of lead and smooth process from start to finish.

    Cons

    Lot's of leads and calls . Which is a good problem to have when you are making money.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-05-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Modern day boiler room"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MOrtgage Loan Originator in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My supervisor was a great trainer and taught an older (10+ years ago) loan originator some new things, especially about the technology.

    Cons

    Predictive dialer. Back in my day, I thought I was good if I knocked out 100 outbound calls, but with the predictive dialer and their lead sources I did that inside four hours (problem was I'd call back the same people every hour if I didn't get them on the line). Also had a lead threaten to come to the office and "shoot me in the head" if i didn't stop calling. Reported to my manager and HR but no action was taken. Extremely fast paced; didn't seem to matter if your lead was qualified or not. It was all about their production matrix and conversion ratio (which mine was lacking) and it didn't help that I received an emails from management that said "Don't suck" and that the owner was listening in on your calls. Yah, lovely working environment.

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-06-04

    Sovereign Lending Group Response

    June 10, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    We agree that SLG has some of the best mortgage and loan supervisors in the industry. They really do care about team members and how they perform. We are actively working on our technology to provide the best customer service experience to our clients. We just introduced APEX, our proprietary CRM which has allowed us to reach our clients at the best time possible.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovereign Lending Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great management, everyone is a team player, this company really allows you to have a work/life balance and the pipeline is always full of loans. you have all the support needed to be successful and there is never a dull day here. I love coming to work, and it's great to be with a company showing so much growth in the industry to be the very top.

    Cons

    Can't think of any

    Continue reading
    Sovereign Lending Group2019-05-14
Found 57 reviews