Sovos Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Sovos President and CEO Andy Hovancik
Andy Hovancik
153 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the best things is the awesome work environment(in 15 reviews)

  • "They provide free snacks, and drinks(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is also a high turnover in a few offices(in 12 reviews)

  • "Low pay, bad benefits and a boring atmosphere(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Company with Great Benefits

      Oct 28, 2020 - Implementation Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CEO is very conscious about employee concerns. Remote Work capability Good Health Insurance, Dental, 401K, (unlimited pto within reason)

      Cons

      Salaries could be higher, but that is offset with good Flexible Time Off policy

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      CEO

      Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Pleased to hear our benefits work well for you. I hear many positive comments from Sovos employees related to our flexible time off policy, which allows folks to take the time they need without worry. So glad we made the change several years ago! As we have seen this year, life happens in ways we can never predict – and our priority has always been to enable employees to take care of themselves and their families first. That includes pivoting to remote work as soon as we realized that was in the best interest of our employees during this pandemic. Thankfully, we continue to meet our obligations to each other and our customers. I do miss seeing everyone in-person, though, and I look forward to the day when we can get together again – safely. Thank you again for your feedback and for helping to Solve Tax for Good.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Review

      Mar 2, 2021 - Software Support Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment with lots of potential

      Cons

      I have no cons for the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Human Resources

      We're glad to hear you are enjoying the work environment and are noticing the opportunities available! We appreciate the feedback and your dedication to helping us Solve Tax for Good - Human Resources

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A blind-siding experience

      Feb 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office and kitchen accommodations

      Cons

      I start working here and and feel comfortable and the orientation tells us that we have been hired as some sort of elite for performing a certain way on an assessment. Only a small percent of applicants become hires. In my first months I am told by my managers that I am doing a great job and I have job security after I ask during a review. Over time my manager tells me I am doing great but gives me "minor" corrections of which I make myself mindful. A few months ago, I come in on a Monday and see that my meeting with my manager is early. That is when I am told it is not "working out" and that it would be my last day. As I reflected on the experience I remember a high turn-over and wonder how many other had such blind-siding experiences. I wonder how many others spent the following weeks asking themselves questions like: Was this a temp job under the guise of a perm job? Was it actually my performance? Was I bad at my job and they gave up on my as they looked for my replacement? Did I make one mistake that was a deal-breaker to the company? Did a misunderstanding turn into a fatal error? Is there something i could have fixed if given a chance to improve?

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Chief Talent Officer

      Thanks for your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to clarify a few points. You’re right that we see the candidates we hire as high-performers. Our recruiting process isn’t easy, and we only move forward with a small percentage of applicants who are most likely to work well within our fast-paced world. Our goal is to bring on career-minded people likely to grow their careers within Sovos, and we want that for all of our employees. However, although our rigorous recruiting process is well tested, it’s by no means perfect, and sometimes the fit is not right. I know having a job end isn’t easy. It is not a decision we take lightly, and there are always a variety of factors that go into such a choice. I hope you find a role where you can grow in the way you clearly are hoping to – and wish you the best of luck in that journey.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tail is waggin the dog

      Mar 10, 2021 - Enterprise Account Executive in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good and fair.

      Cons

      Marketing is way behind the competition. Like way behind and can't catch up. Market has become saturated and there is no differentiation between Sovos and low cost competitor. It's a boys club - if you in with your boss and the boss's boss you can be terrible and keep your job. If not...watch your back. No diversity - nearly all White employees - especially in leadership roles - like Zero minorities (at least in the US). Sales process includes bits for 3 different sales books - plus whatever the training and development sales training flavor of the month is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      CEO

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. You’re right that Sovos operates in a competitive market. Because of that, we work hard to articulate what makes us the best choice: the promises we make (and more importantly, keep) to customers & employees, the depth of our regulatory analysis team of 100+ experts, the innovation of our solutions, the comprehensiveness of our services, and the audacious goal we’ve set to Solve Tax for Good everywhere. That’s all easy enough for me to say; luckily, unbiased third-parties continue to affirm this differentiation, whether that’s in the most recent IDC MarketScape report on our space, which named Sovos a leader; or the SIIA CODiE Award, which named Sovos Sales & Use Tax Filing the Best Compliance Solution in 2020; or in any number of technology, tax and business publications that cite our experts in their articles. I’m sorry to hear those competitive assets weren’t clear during your time with us. In regards to the diversity of the team, we are proud of the varied life experiences our employees bring with them to their work here every day. That said, Sovos is on a purposeful journey to build an even more diverse, inclusive and equitable company. Over the past year, we have adjusted our recruiting processes, developed trainings for managers, brought in consultants to lead workshops with various teams, opened a search for an inclusion and equity leader, and assessed our people, products and practices through a DEI lens. Thank you for raising this important issue in your comments. While I don't agree with your comment, I agree there is plenty of work yet to be done, and we are committed to that journey. Best of luck in your next role.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent First Job

      Apr 23, 2021 - Technical Analyst in Wilmington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get experience out of college

      Cons

      Low pay compared to other companies in almost every job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      General Manager, Sales and Use Tax

      Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate you recognizing Sovos as a great place to gain experience. We hire for talent first and foremost, and we place a huge amount of importance on developing our talent so people can reach their full potential. For that reason Sovos is a great place for anyone who’s looking to learn and grow, including but not limited to college graduates. We also hear your comment regarding pay. We continually benchmark against the market to ensure our salaries are competitive. Thanks again for your feedback, and great to have you on the team.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place for development

      Mar 17, 2021 - Compliance Service Associate in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great place to learn new things and shape your own career path, good clarity into your role and responsibilities

      Cons

      The pay is low, even for the entry level roles

      1 person found this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      General Manager

      Thanks for leaving your feedback and for your positive comments about our culture. In addition to our focus on keeping our promise to customers, Sovos prioritizes support for employee professional development and growth, and I’m glad you noticed that, as well. Of course, we know salary is also important, and we constantly review trends in the market to keep our total compensation competitive. We will continue to monitor to ensure we hit industry benchmarks. - Paul Banker, General Manager

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great, Fast Growing Company

      Mar 23, 2021 - Office Coordinator in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, breakroom space and activities, fast-growing company, growth opportunities

      Cons

      With growth comes change which means restructures, layoffs, etc.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Chief Talent Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comment about the fast growth at Sovos is spot on. We are on a mission to Solve Tax for Good, and our rapid progress against this goal creates career growth and development opportunities for our employees. With growth does come change, so adaptability is an important core value for our organization. While business needs do shift as we evolve, retaining Talent remains a top priority for Sovos as this is central to our growth strategy. Thank you again for your feedback and for being part of our journey, and we wish you luck in your career. Colleen Schlagel - Chief Talent Officer

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent, not great

      Mar 26, 2021 - Software Support Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Environment, the people, culture, and the food!

      Cons

      Management, low-wage compared to the market.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Managing Director - North America

      Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate your recognition on the environment and culture. We focus on creating an engaged and inspired workplace, and that all starts with the talented people who work here. Salary is important and something we continue to monitor to ensure we are within the market benchmark. I am sorry to hear your feedback regarding management and would like to understand that more. How do we move from decent to great, in your opinion? Send me a note and we can get time to discuss. Erik Gilder, Managing Director, North America

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great workplace

      Mar 5, 2021 - Scrum Master 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good senior leadership who know the next steps to disrupt the market with new technology - great teams to work with - great core values

      Cons

      - depending on the role, there can be multiple night and overnight work required

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      CTO

      Thanks for your review, and for your work guiding our Agile development teams as they tackle the technology challenges of the digital transformation of tax. As you know, Sovos is on a mission to Solve Tax for Good, and it’s no easy feat. The company’s core values, which you mentioned, are the fabric of our organization, and the way we behave to reach this audacious goal together. Our Scrum Masters are key to that effort, and I know that can require working outside of 9-to-5 hours, especially during busy parts of the year when a critical release is getting close to launching. While handling these issues is part of the job, if you are consistently working overnight, that’s not something we want. I encourage you to take time off when you can (we provide it so you can take what you need when you need it) and talk to your manager about other ways to ease that burden. If you have ideas, or if you just want to talk to me about this subject, my door is always open. John Landy, Chief Technology Officer

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sovos

      Apr 12, 2021 - User Experience Designer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team atmosphere, Unlimited PTO

      Cons

      Low pay, big corporate company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 249 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sovos Job Seekers

    Compliance Services Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sovos? Share Your Experiences

    Sovos logo
    or