Sovos Employee Reviews about "free snacks"

Updated Mar 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Sovos President and CEO Andy Hovancik
Andy Hovancik
164 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the best things is the awesome work environment(in 15 reviews)

  • "They provide free snacks, and drinks(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is also a high turnover in a few offices(in 12 reviews)

  • "Low pay, bad benefits and a boring atmosphere(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "free snacks"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work & Grow

      Mar 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Number one? The people. I don't know what it is about Sovos but we absolutely hire the right people in terms of culture fit. Everyone is always willing to help each other out and that goes a long way. I love all of the benefits that are offered here - the free snacks and drinks, the game room to relax, the monthly events that are held, and the ample opportunity that we have to volunteer and give back to our community. I feel valued as an employee and I have not experienced that same feeling at other companies.

      Cons

      We are faced with constant change (which is understandable considering we are in the technology industry) and not everyone here is well-equipped to handle the change, which can lead to problems. We have had communication problems in the past but I have seen some improvement in that area over the past year which is good and makes me hopeful moving forward.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Sovos! We couldn’t agree with you more - our employees are what make our organization such a great place to work. We’re proud to have such a collaborative workforce! We’re also happy to hear you feel we’re heading in the right direction in terms of communication. This has been a key strategic initiative of ours lately, hosting focus groups to hear directly from our employees on how we can improve. We’ve translated these into action items and are looking forward to implementing some of the communication improvements that have been developed with the company soon! Thank you again for providing your feedback on #LifeAtSovos! We encourage you to reach out to your manager or local HR should you have any thoughts or suggestions on improving communication.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Needs better management and support; not ideal but not unbearable

      Mar 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sovos provides a learning opportunity and motivates you to be self-taught, meaning there is zero training and little to no support from management for new employees. Learning about Sovos' products on your own is a strength I suppose, since it shows you how to tread water and not drown under all the information. The free snacks are also cool. "Unlimited" PTO is alright too. Although disproportionately given, the work from home opportunities were nice. The health insurance was nothing special, but the coverage was good. Bonus and 401K matching availability were a plus too.

      Cons

      My time at Sovos taught me a lot. I learned about what not to do in a corporate setting. If I Googled "top 15 signs of a toxic work environment", my office hit all 15 and then some. It may depend on your location, since Sovos is a "global" company; and "global" meaning I watched other's jobs get sent to other offices overseas because the company was too cheap to pay their wages yet bragged about huge profits during a meeting. It also depends on who you know at certain offices. If you are a friend or family member of someone high up in the company, expect promotions, job security, and an enjoyable environment. If you are not, go to work and get your job done. There is also a high turnover in a few offices. Managers are people who are under the wing of the higher us (friends or family) or are simply just not fit to be in management. The non-manegerial individuals that I worked with were highly talented, intelligent, patient, and gifted people. However, due to bad internal processes, lack-of resources, bad management practices, and a toxic work environment, it was difficult to utilize their strengths to forward the company and assignments.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Chief Talent Officer

      We appreciate your review of the Pros at Sovos. We agree with you there are perks, benefits, and bonus opportunities at Sovos that are unique and meet the needs and desires of our employees. We also agree there are highly talented, intelligent, patient, and gifted people at the company. Thank you for your recognition. Ouch, on your summary of Cons – not our intent at all! We apologize this was your perception and we can only work to understand these types of viewpoints and strive to improve. I’m sorry we lost your engagement along the way and didn’t get a chance to connect about these viewpoints earlier. We appreciate you providing this feedback, I remain open if you would like to contact me and wish you the best in your next role.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Underpaid, overworked

      May 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free snacks and drinks, very nice atmosphere. The people are friendly and the company is booming with new business opportunities.

      Cons

      I was let go with no warning; they just sat me down and told me that my work was terrible and fired me on the spot. Up to that point, I had been told that my work was good. I had no idea that I was about to be fired and it still baffles me that things ended so abruptly. The benefits are laughable and the pay isn't enough to be financially independent; the insurance plan is only marginally better than paying out-of-pocket, and with the pay, if you get sick, you'll be struggling to keep up with your financial obligations. If you are looking for an out-of-school job and plan to move out, look elsewhere, because you will not be able to live on your own with a Sovos salary. The turn-over rate is also insane; while I was working there, I noticed that almost every day there would be an email telling us to remove at least one person from the system, which basically meant that almost every day, at least one person was being fired. It looks like most of the development is moving to Argentina, as well. It should also be noted that employees were expected to frequently stay late, sometimes sleeping in the office, as well as working on weekends with no extra pay. It seemed like at least one coworker was working on Saturday from home every weekend for at least an hour or two.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Disappointing...

      Jan 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free snacks, coffee, and drinks in the kitchen

      Cons

      -High expectations right out of the gate, you must be as good or very near as good as your veteran coworkers in a short time or you will be fired -Many coworkers will make you feel like an outsider -Words of growth in this company are a little untrue, you will need to stay in your position for 12 months before trying to move anywhere else in the company -Software is extremely outdated and slow, seems the IT department is very underfunded for hardware -Technical issues are a norm, don't be surprised if you have trouble doing your job because vital software functions are down -Mostly negative reinforcement, you may hear more about how you can get fired than succeed -Don't get too friendly with anyone, as they can come in one day and be told they are finished -Pay is underwhelming considering all the stresses involved that keep morale at a constant low

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Admin

      Thank you for providing your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your input. Regarding growth within the company, you are correct we do ask that our employees stay within their Department for 12 months, to ensure they have fully embraced and understood the role and technology we use. However, those interested in opportunities within the same department may be eligible as early as 6 months from beginning their employment. Our organization does have a certain level of expectation for all within our company because we believe in setting a strong standard that our clients and employees can be proud of. Again, we appreciate your feedback and will continue to make improvements to ensure a highly engaged and talented workforce.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Job

      Jul 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very engaged HR department, my supervisors are wonderful and helpful, direction of the company is positive, free snacks, coffee, and beverages, engaged employees, encouragement from management and company to take time off of work and have a good relationship with management, CEO is engaged in his work. I personally love working at Sovos. The company is going in a fantastic direction and although tax compliance doesn't sound like the most interesting thing in the world initially, everyday presents a new challenge and a learning opportunity. The environment is very professional too.

      Cons

      I have no complaints at this time.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work at the start of the career

      Jan 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide free snacks, and drinks. Great training and staff.

      Cons

      Pay is crap (good for starting your career).

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We are glad you feel positively about our training programs and the team we have working at Sovos. We are committed to maintaining a culture that encourages growth by giving you opportunities to test yourself -- while providing the coaching, training and development resources required to learn and grow in your careers. On compensation, we routinely benchmark our salaries to market rates by both industry and geography, which has led to regular compensation increases and benefits improvements. Please talk to your manager if you feel like your pay is out of alignment with your role, but keep in mind that we focus on providing a lucrative total rewards package to employees including health benefits, our fabulous myTime flexible time off program, education reimbursement, and our Whole Living wellness program geared towards helping employees bring their best self to work each day.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Epitome of Incompetent Leadership

      Apr 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The rank and file workers at Taxware as a whole, tend to be really great. The managers themselves range all over the place from really good (caring, knowledgeable) to awful(incompetent, rude). The experience really varies. The company also provides free snacks and beverages.

      Cons

      The pay is down right awful compared to competitors. The turnover rate is very high meaning anyone with valuable company specific knowledge or someone who is just plain smart tend to leave the company. The software used is by the customers and the employees is fairly old and I'm surprised it even sells.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Entry Level Job

      Jun 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sovos is a decent entry level job for someone just out of college. The people that work there are great. Your peers/team are the best part of being in the office There is a great culture and if you're lucky enough, your team feels like a second family. There were plenty of great perks like free snacks/sodas/lacroix/coffee and a ping pong table. Though some other reviews the pay is made to seem lower than industry standard, to be honest it's pretty comparable or more to other companies, at least for the position I was in. If you put in work and had aspirations to move up within the company, leadership seemed pretty game to help guide and coach you for a promotion, though the desired positions were not always open. Also, company sales trips/meetings were always a blast.

      Cons

      Sometimes the work can be really stressful, and because of that, work/life balance can suffer greatly. Maybe it has changed since I was there, but some territories/lines of business were royally screwed and destined to fail from the start, and as such, those reps maybe seemed to have a different opinion of the job, and can you blame them? Again, if you were lucky enough, your team can feel like a family, but if not you were not so lucky, it seems like you could have been easily left behind and forgotten. Sovos is a rapidly growing company and if you are not able to adapt to change, you can easily be left behind. With it acquiring so many other companies, it seemed to leave us wondering what the identity of the company was and how to work with other lines of business, but I'm sure that has been improved by now. There definitely seemed to be some some hostility, no maybe that is too strong of a word, but some slight antagonism between departments (sales/service/etc.) I'm sure that is too strong of a word too, but there was definitely a weird vibe.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sovos Response

      Human Resources

      We really appreciate the feedback you have provided. It’s great that you were able to experience being part of a family-like team and recognized the great culture at Sovos. We also appreciate the acknowledgement for the coaching and guidance made available for career growth. We hear you on some of the territory lines for sales, which unexpectedly made things a little more difficult for our reps. However, you are correct that things have changed since. We have recognized we need to restrategize to consider recent and future growth. We want all our employees to have the opportunity to be and to feel successful! We’re sorry to hear about the friction between departments you experienced. We are actually in the midst of obtaining our latest engagement survey results and are looking forward to reviewing the feedback to help problem solve. Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We wish you luck in your new role!

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great People

      Aug 19, 2015 -  in Wilmington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great work environment, great people free snacks. There is a great social scene at the company and your coworkers are very genuine.

      Cons

      There does not seem to be a great deal of room for advancement. There is a very high turnover rate so the work is constantly being shuffled.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Would not recommend - Unless it is a last resort

      Feb 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free snacks and sodas, opportunity to gain some experience that you can leverage into getting some new opportunities, some people are great.

      Cons

      Low pay, poor benefits, low morale, micromanagement, mismanagement, and majority of growth takes place when employees leave to pursue new opportunities.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sovos Job Seekers

    Compliance Services Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sovos? Share Your Experiences

    Sovos logo
    or