Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor

Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Niel Holt
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "At SDL you get to choose your schedule so long as it fits with your project(in 8 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment and a ver positive culture(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The town of Logan Utah where sdl is based is extremely monocultural(in 5 reviews)

  • "Small company with limited mobility(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Assistant in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are flexible with student's schedules. They have occasional company wide activities.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything.

    Advice to Management

    Create more Entry Level Electrical Engineering jobs please.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-05-20
  2. "CPSO, FSO, CSSO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Contractor Security Officer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Future, Space, SmallSat, Space Agency, DoD,

    Cons

    Small Town, Rent is high

    Advice to Management

    Rent is high and cost of living

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-05-11
  3. "Overall it is a great place to work with interesting projects, great benefits and great surrounding community."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging projects Great benefits package Great area to live

    Cons

    There is more work than there are resources to cover, so it's easy to get burned out.

    Advice to Management

    Need to manage incoming work flow to match current available resources.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-05-15
  4. "Great retirement, not competitive pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cyber Security Analyst II in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Loved the people, and the environment.

    Cons

    Its in Logan Utah, and the pay isn't competitive for the market.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-05-15
  5. "Business Operations Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory

      Pros

      Great culture, incredible benefits for retirement and parents with students. Hands on training from management.

      Cons

      Growing rapidly leads to a lot of moving around of everything from offices to management. At times it can be confusing.

      Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-03-07
    • "Excellent pay and flexible Hours; Not much personal growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer Assistant in North Logan, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The pay is very good for the Logan area. They offer very flexible hours for student employees- your classes will always come first as long as you can still get your job done. Student employees are treated like adults and respected, and most student projects are meaningful instead of time sinks. They tend to hire student employees full-time after they graduate.

      Cons

      Very lonely sometimes. Most days nobody would notice if I didn't show up. Sometimes it feels like they stick me on projects that don't actually need me- if I don't report for weeks, nobody notices. It's much better than being laid off, but I'd rather be doing something productive.

      Advice to Management

      Make the company organization more clear. The branch and project acronyms are very confusing and I'm not always clear on who I report to or should ask for more work.

      Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-02-27
    • "Great company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Interesting and challenging work. Pay is good. Great benefits and stability. Employees are hard working and motivated to meet the needs of the customer.

      Cons

      The organization is growing a lot, so everyone is very busy trying to keep up.

      Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-02-20
    • "SDL puts employees first"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer Assistant in Logan, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I have always felt that my ideas and work has been greatly appreciated by everyone that works here! Fantastic place to work as a student.

      Cons

      Some of the senior developers expect excellence which can be intimidating when developing for your first time.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing!

      Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-02-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Solid company, pay could be better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Security Specialist in Logan, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great culture, great people, great benefits, good work life balance

      Cons

      Pay wasn't great, hard to make ends meet if you aren't in engineering and you don't have lots of prior experience. Entry-level pay was far below market.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work, re-evaluate your pay structure for entry-level employees.

      Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-02-20
    • "This is the best place I've ever worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in North Logan, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Work is enjoyable, benefits are fantastic, own personal office, coworkers are helpful. It pushes me to grow and learn constantly, which I love. Overall, just a fantastic place to work. I didn't know that there are places like this in the world to work.

      Cons

      People are willing to spend time discussing deep technical expertise. I sometimes have a tough time finding people at their desks though when I need to talk things over. Not a big deal though. I just have to try a few times. Also, they are a little understaffed now so workload is sometimes overwhelming, but I know they are trying to hire rapidly to meet the demand.

      Advice to Management

      My biggest concern is long-term employment. Every job I have worked I have seen layoffs start after a couple of years into it. It has become the norm for me to expect shrinking at every workplace, and hope that it doesn't start here too. I think this place has both diversity and volume of contracts that hopefully things continue for the next decade at the very least.

      Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-01-23
    Found 62 reviews