Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor

Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews

Updated 8 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Niel Holt
37 Ratings
  1. "This is the best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work is enjoyable, benefits are fantastic, own personal office, coworkers are helpful. It pushes me to grow and learn constantly, which I love. Overall, just a fantastic place to work. I didn't know that there are places like this in the world to work.

    Cons

    People are willing to spend time discussing deep technical expertise. I sometimes have a tough time finding people at their desks though when I need to talk things over. Not a big deal though. I just have to try a few times. Also, they are a little understaffed now so workload is sometimes overwhelming, but I know they are trying to hire rapidly to meet the demand.

    Advice to Management

    My biggest concern is long-term employment. Every job I have worked I have seen layoffs start after a couple of years into it. It has become the norm for me to expect shrinking at every workplace, and hope that it doesn't start here too. I think this place has both diversity and volume of contracts that hopefully things continue for the next decade at the very least.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-01-23
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Important and interesting work. Great team spirit. Supportive management.

    Cons

    Remote location and small town.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-12-27
  3. "Network administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Administrator in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work. They provide all the tools and resources to learn and grow.

    Cons

    A lot of relocated offices within campus, but its growth and job security.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-12-08
  4. "Growing Company With Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineering Assistant in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible schedules for students -Student scholars program is excellent for professional development and also offers stipend for four semesters -Great opportunities for students to gain relevant experience

    Cons

    -If your department gets overloaded, there will be pressure to cut into your school schedule

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-12-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Logan, UT
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The great things about Space Dynamics Lab are the work we do and most of the people we work with. We work on satellite, airborne, and ground based remote sensing instrumentation, satellites, data processing and display systems,, and other related technologies. We do cool stuff and the work is interesting and engaging most of the time. Most people who work at SDL are great to work with. People are generally good at their...

    Show More

    Cons

    The bureaucracy is growing, especially now with SDL rapidly expanding. Set procedures and red tape are increasing and some are necessary, but many are work impediments with little benefit. IT is a good example. It's hard to say how this compares to other similar companies but it has gotten worse over time. Management above program manager level could do much better at understanding what we do and what makes SDL work as...

    Show More
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-12-18
  6. "Mechanical Design Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Design Student in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for research, Opportunities to move within SDL, Good networking opportunities with outside contractors

    Cons

    Didn't feel like there was much opportunity for increasing in position.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-10-03
  7. "SDL cares about your future with 14% retirement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At SDL you get to choose your schedule so long as it fits with your project. You don't have to match contributions to your 401A to get 14% of your salary invested.

    Cons

    Because of the company's huge recent growth many teams have been scattered across different buildings on the campus in order to get seats for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the culture, benefits, and compensation. Continue to cultivate a wonderful employee ecosystem, putting people before contracts, prestige, or projects.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-08-22
  8. "Best job i have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Writer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wonderful culture, interesting work, never bored, fast-paced environment, great teamwork.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-07-12
  9. "Marketing/Communications Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Intern in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, cool projects, flexible student schedule, and making a difference.

    Cons

    I have nothing to complain about. I love it here.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-06-01
  10. "SDL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of exciting projects in technology

    Cons

    Some programs get cancelled or postponed, which can leave you without a job.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-02-14
Found 63 reviews