Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor

Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Niel Holt
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "The best option you have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's close to campus They'll work with your class schedule Competitive pay Low pressure environment Lots of people to associate and make friends with Lots of extra-curricular activities like "Lunch'n'Learn"s and sports during the lunch hour

    Cons

    Don't value students as much as full-timers. Despite doing the same work, we were treated as less than full-timers. Very little guidance. There was always help if you need it, but don't expect anything if you don't ask. Sometimes a bunch of students would go to a scheduled meeting to have no supervisors show up. A lot of the work is done in new areas where there is very little knowledge on the subject and therefore...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All I ask is that you make your students and the work they do feel valued

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-06-28
  2. "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Web Developer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great work experience while you are in school, they encourage you to make school your first priority when necessary, overall great work environment and excellent team of employees and managers.

    Cons

    Very slow hiring process. Don't expect to hear back quickly after sending in your application and resume. It took over a month for me to be contacted for an interview and another month for me to receive a job offer after my interview.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. SDL is a great place to work.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-06-11
  3. "Awesome environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The family friendly environment is really a plus. They are flexible and offer great benifits.

    Cons

    Can be fast paced depending on customer contract.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-04-25
  4. "Great opportunity for student workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time

    Pros

    Great experience for a student worker. They hire many students from Utah State and you can work full time during the summer and part time during the year. Good people and interesting work

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity for business majors.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-04-25
  5. "Student Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time

    Pros

    People are some of the most helpful I've been able to work with. It doesn't matter what is going on, almost everyone is willing to talk and help, even if it is something seemingly trivial.

    Cons

    To date, the hiring process has been slow. I've tried talking with HR a couple times and still nothing. I was led to believe that more full time positions would be available, but nothing so far.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-03-05
  6. "Positive Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong benefits. Great people. Challenging work. Employees have a lot of flexibility for suggesting approaches and accomplishing tasks. Consciously developing a respectful, positive place of employment. Internal lecture series to develop personal knowledge and interests. Many family-oriented company activities.

    Cons

    I felt my compensation was fair, but I do know this has been a complaint of other employees. Small company meant little room for upward growth (though my supervisor was encouraging of personal opportunities for growth).

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-01-30
  7. "Incredible Opportunity For Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and professional work environment. Opportunity to learn and gain a broader perspective of the industry is highly encouraged. Depending on what your position is, there is a great chance of moving into higher positions throughout the company. Logan is a great place to live, work, and raise a family.

    Cons

    I wouldn't necessarily say there are any cons, but every company can improve. Overall SDL is a great place to work!

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-11-08
  8. "CTO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting, interesting work and feels like a big family

    Cons

    None...OK maybe one....location is beautiful but a bit remote

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-10-31
  9. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Best people to work with!

    Cons

    No real cons to working here!

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-10-19
  10. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    - Amazing people to work with - Interns/students often given full time opportunities - Pay is decent

    Cons

    - No PTO for interns and no real structure for taking time off.

    Advice to Management

    - Provide a structure for students asking time off.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-10-16
Found 67 reviews