Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor

Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Niel Holt
37 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer Assistant in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    Pretty relaxed in regards to students

    Cons

    not a terrible amount of responsibility (could be good or bad depending on your viewpoint)

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-03-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Solid but not adventurous corporate posture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Reasonable work hours (low 50/wk). Expectations clearly articulated. If you like methodically paced work on small/medium teams, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Not a lot of career advancement opportunities. Not a lot of upskill or job training opportunities. Pay is on the low end of the state and national scales for almost every job category. If you want to move fast and explore new tech areas, look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-03-04
  3. "Good place slow work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of really nice co-workers and managers. The company benefits are really good, especially health and dental. They also have great vacation time.

    Cons

    The work environment is really slow and there's a lot of standing around. The pay is on the lower end and they seem a little overstaffed.

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-02-01
  4. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Software Tester in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, great work!

    Cons

    None to speak of in my experience

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2015-12-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Space Dynamics Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They play to your strengths. They fight to keep you working for them, and will do what they can to make your work environment meet your needs. The benefits are amazing since SDL is affiliated both with USU as a research foundation and the government.

    Cons

    Most of the projects require government clearance so you have to qualify for that and then go through the motions to get it. It can be unnerving working for government contracted work, and sometimes the rigid, bureaucratic nature of the environment can stifle work productivity. Compensation isn't the greatest.

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2015-07-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    I was employed as a student while attending USU, and I loved working at SDL. I was given assignments and tasks that were actually meaningful and needed, and my manager was always willing to help when I wasn't sure how to complete/do a task.

    Cons

    Having to charge time between several programs in the company can be a nuisance. Not all student positions are as awesome as the one I got. There wasn't much opportunity at the time to move from a student position to a full time position (bad timing maybe?)

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2015-06-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome projects! Amazing technology! Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great and work life balance is outstanding.They treat you like a professional and expect you to get your work done, but don't care if you take the morning off to carve some fresh powder. Work on extremely cool and impactful NASA and DOD projects. State of the art labs and cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    Growth opportunities can be somewhat limited due to the small size of the company. Rely on the federal government for most of their revenue and funding can dry up at the whim of congress.

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2015-04-27
  8. "Engineering Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Assistant in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very good company to gain credible work experience. Great team structure. Actually cares for their employees

    Cons

    Can sometimes get political, but thats pretty typical where ever you go.

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2015-04-19
  9. "Noble mission and dedicated workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aerospace Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get ample training opportunities and broad exposure to many aspects of rocket motor design. You act as the custodian of the design, have authority and responsibility. This is the place if you love risk reduction and an organization that is committed to quality. Stable program that is planed to continue well into the future.

    Cons

    If you are not interested in living in California or Washington DC, your growth is limited.

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2015-03-20
  10. "Great Part-time Work for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Machine Shop Assistant in Logan, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They very willing to work around the students schedule. They let me choose the times I will be able to come in based on my class schedule at the time.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work brought in makes it to where I have to stay in finishing projects later than I was planning on leaving. Also sometimes they throw the blame onto the student if something goes wrong.

    Continue reading
    Space Dynamics Laboratory2014-09-12
Found 63 reviews