Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor

Space Dynamics Laboratory Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Space Dynamics Laboratory CEO Niel Holt  (no image)
Niel Holt
37 Ratings
  1. "Great Part-time Work for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Machine Shop Assistant in Logan, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They very willing to work around the students schedule. They let me choose the times I will be able to come in based on my class schedule at the time.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work brought in makes it to where I have to stay in finishing projects later than I was planning on leaving. Also sometimes they throw the blame onto the student if something goes wrong.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2014-09-12
  2. "Great employer, especially for students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is great. For students, they work really well with your schedule. In fact, you set your own schedule and they're really flexible with time off. Pay is also really good, especially for a student position. Management and coworkers are friendly and fun to work with. They work with you to help you be working on things that interest you and advance your knowledge.

    Cons

    Can take a while to pick up on some of the practices. Many practices and procedures can be poorly defined, leading to confusion.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2014-09-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A Good, If Small, Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company leadership was fairly laid-back whenever I interacted with them. SDL, and its sponsoring organization, USURF, is involved in some very interesting projects. They host the SmallSat Conference every year in Logan, Utah. It's a VERY interesting and fun event. SDL makes sure visitors are taken care of. Same for the Calibration Conference (CalCon). And they like their own people attending these events,... too. They do issue laptops to employees (this may be dependent on where a person works).

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a small company, so there's not much room for professional growth. If employees work off-site, there's little effort by company management to stay in touch. Sometimes this manifests in strained relationships between off-site employees and Utah management. This same disconnect can also happen with other SDL departments.

    Advice to Management

    Like in any organization, work on the communications. Especially with those employees who are off-site.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2014-03-07
  4. "I liked it because you got to work on really cool projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of fun, good atmosphere,

    Cons

    Salary, Job security may be in flux due to the nature of the funding

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2013-10-22
  5. "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    Great experience for students to work on space flight hardware. Fun projects with real meaning. Good people work there.

    Cons

    Lately management has lost focus on employees. Government spending and space in general is losing funding and so goes sdl.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on core specialties and don't try and open new branches anymore.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2013-04-15
  6. "Great experience a student employee. Exposure to the real engineering world very helpful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with friendly and open management. Relaxed atmosphere with chances to be exposed to various aspects of engineering. Understanding management that has the best interest of each employee at heart. Contracts with and exposure to a variety of aerospace engineering companies.

    Cons

    I have no bad experience to share.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2013-02-20
  7. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Assistant II in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    Great Place to work as a student. You will gain a great deal of experience. Everyone has a positive attitude and are very helpful.

    Cons

    No vacation, holidays or sick days for students. When projects get slowed down, the work load becomes very light to non-existent for students.

    Advice to Management

    Some paid time off for students. More guidance to students on what to do when the work load gets light.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2011-12-04
  8. "Great place to work while going to school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Software Tester in Logan, UT
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    As a student working here, you get a lot of opportunities to start your career or to build a launching pad to go into something else. There is a wealth of knowledge among the people you are working around. Great pay and very flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    No benefits for students, but that is to be expected. Also, as a student, I often feel out of the loop on lots of things going on with the project/rest of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Interact more one-on-one with your part-time students. They are a great asset to the company and present a chance for you to influence the future of the industry.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2011-10-03
  9. "Great Place to Work as a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    - Great Hands on Experience

    Cons

    - Sometimes required long hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2011-03-23
  10. "Good place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mechanical Designer in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    Good pay as a student Great people that care about your development

    Cons

    -Could use more time collaborating with project managers and engineers to make sure project is moving forward. -Sometimes I would run out of work and engineers would be too busy with other things to give direction to project

    Advice to Management

    More interaction with employees could be good.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2010-11-29
Found 64 reviews