Space Dynamics Laboratory Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Space Dynamics Laboratory Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Niel Holt
7 Ratings
  1. "Excellent pay and flexible Hours; Not much personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Assistant in North Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is very good for the Logan area. They offer very flexible hours for student employees- your classes will always come first as long as you can still get your job done. Student employees are treated like adults and respected, and most student projects are meaningful instead of time sinks. They tend to hire student employees full-time after they graduate.

    Cons

    Very lonely sometimes. Most days nobody would notice if I didn't show up. Sometimes it feels like they stick me on projects that don't actually need me- if I don't report for weeks, nobody notices. It's much better than being laid off, but I'd rather be doing something productive.

    Advice to Management

    Make the company organization more clear. The branch and project acronyms are very confusing and I'm not always clear on who I report to or should ask for more work.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-02-27
  2. "Great engineers and fun projects but the culture was a little stifling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Logan, UT

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    They work on some really cool military and civil projects. Also the surrounding countryside is beautiful. For the most part everyone I interacted was very nice. Cost of living is very low

    Cons

    Lots of beauracracy. If you dont have a a security clearance you wont really have any idea what's going on. I had some pretty bad experiences with their hr department. The town of Logan Utah where sdl is based is extremely monocultural. Pay was not great either

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2019-04-28
  3. "SDL cares about your future with 14% retirement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At SDL you get to choose your schedule so long as it fits with your project. You don't have to match contributions to your 401A to get 14% of your salary invested.

    Cons

    Because of the company's huge recent growth many teams have been scattered across different buildings on the campus in order to get seats for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the culture, benefits, and compensation. Continue to cultivate a wonderful employee ecosystem, putting people before contracts, prestige, or projects.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2018-08-22
  4. "Space Dynamics has a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Space Dynamics is a great place to work. The benefits are stellar and the company culture is very nice. It has never been stressful and I very rarely have to stay late at work.

    Cons

    Pay is not the best.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-11-08
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and you can't beat the location or culture at SDL.

    Cons

    Never a dull moment and employees are always kept very busy.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-07-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "The best option you have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Space Dynamics Laboratory part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's close to campus They'll work with your class schedule Competitive pay Low pressure environment Lots of people to associate and make friends with Lots of extra-curricular activities like "Lunch'n'Learn"s and sports during the lunch hour

    Cons

    Don't value students as much as full-timers. Despite doing the same work, we were treated as less than full-timers. Very little guidance. There was always help if you need it, but don't expect anything if you don't ask. Sometimes a bunch of students would go to a scheduled meeting to have no supervisors show up. A lot of the work is done in new areas where there is very little knowledge on the subject and therefore...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All I ask is that you make your students and the work they do feel valued

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2017-06-28
  7. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory

    Pros

    - Amazing people to work with - Interns/students often given full time opportunities - Pay is decent

    Cons

    - No PTO for interns and no real structure for taking time off.

    Advice to Management

    - Provide a structure for students asking time off.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-10-16
  8. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Probably one of the best employers in the Logan area. Good benefits and a good atmosphere. I would recommend this job to any software engineer.

    Cons

    Most programs in the company are funded through government funding, meaning that changes in federal spending on defense or NASA may impact job availability. Also, the compensation and benefits are great for Logan, UT, but a bit lower than higher populated areas.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great environment. Keep doing the activities involving families. There is little to be said apart from that.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-09-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome projects and tasks. Nothing is ever the same from day to day. Each project gives the chance to wear a different hat and learn new things. Great deal of responsibility and autonomy is given to engineers to accomplish given tasks.

    Cons

    Small company with limited mobility. Can become pigeon holed in classified programs. Very hard for this company to attract the right talent for the given tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Many folks stay at SDL because of the location in Cache Valley, and SDL has clearly been the best game in town. The world and connectivity is paradigm changing. That makes living here possible while working (perhaps virtually) somewhere else. It may be hard for SDL to continue to be the best game in town.

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2016-07-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Space Dynamics Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Space Dynamics Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They play to your strengths. They fight to keep you working for them, and will do what they can to make your work environment meet your needs. The benefits are amazing since SDL is affiliated both with USU as a research foundation and the government.

    Cons

    Most of the projects require government clearance so you have to qualify for that and then go through the motions to get it. It can be unnerving working for government contracted work, and sometimes the rigid, bureaucratic nature of the environment can stifle work productivity. Compensation isn't the greatest.

    Advice to Management

    Management hasn't been as involved in my work experience as I might have liked, and therefore engineer and program managers were on different pages many times. It isn't easy when projects dominate your time, but make sure to never be more than a week un-involved in a project?

    Space Dynamics Laboratory2015-07-15
Found 10 reviews