SpaceX "rockets" Reviews | Glassdoor

SpaceX Employee Reviews about "rockets"

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
SpaceX CEO Elon Musk
Elon Musk
1,217 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to walk around a rocket factory and see rockets being built(in 239 reviews)

  • "Fast paced manufacturing environment(in 138 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rockets"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Hard work, but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Hawthorne, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpaceX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission is second to none, if you love space and rockets. Even after witnessing roughly 50 launches from the inside, they were still exciting. The software department was a pretty tight-knit group, and I felt that my work was relevant and appreciated. I was very happy with my manager and director as well.

    Cons

    Not a 9-to-5 job, although the hours are much more reasonable than they were a few years ago. Some inter-department drama. Probably not more than any other mid-size company though. Priorities can shift rapidly, which can be viewed as either exciting or frustrating depending on how open to change you are.

    SpaceX2019-09-19
  2. "Chance to watch rocket launch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpaceX full-time

    Pros

    chance to watch rocket launch work in interdisciplinary environment

    Cons

    food is salty and lack of selection

    SpaceX2019-11-05
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Work hard, get screwed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SpaceX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working around orbital class rockets

    Cons

    Statements below are company wide: Not fun anymore Rampant elitism HR is a nightmare You’re a bottom feeder if you’re not management All benefits getting cut left and right Very little security Food went downhill Lowest pay in the industry You’ll work hard, burn out, and get fired Finger pointing No team work (anymore) Layoffs have everyone frightened Nobody to talk to about your concerns Working across... departments is impossible Seems like nobody takes anything seriously anymore

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house

    SpaceX2019-08-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "My Answer Varies Greatly Depending on Day of Week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration & Test Engineer in Hawthorne, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SpaceX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work is almost never boring. There's interesting stuff going on if you know where to look for it. Lots of opportunity for career advancement. SpaceX's reputation as a slave driving machine is largely overblown. Company's mission is pretty damn cool, plus you get to work on rockets and spaceships. Subsidized meals make eating pretty cheap. There's lots of options to choose from. The coffee is free and is, in my... humble opinion, better than Starbucks.

    Show More

    Cons

    Rampant elitism. There are some big egos at this company, and if you clash with them, it's quite unpleasant. This leads to a very noticeable clash between individuals and even departments. Uncle E's strategic vision for the company is largely at odds with the day to day operational demands, which makes day to day life challenging and sometimes stressful. The job could pay more (that's what the _equity_ is for, I... suppose).

    Show More
    SpaceX2019-08-02
  5. "Great place to earn and expand knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Instrument Technician in Cape Canaveral, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpaceX for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Watch rockets launch

    Cons

    As a contracor you know your time will come to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good contractors, like myself

    SpaceX2019-07-26
  6. Helpful (5)

    "CnC programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNC Programmer in Hawthorne, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SpaceX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast pace culture and environment, motivating to learn fast and adapt. Forced you to take risk, be bold and be creative with your programs Health insurance Rocket launches

    Cons

    -Very young and inexperiences management. -Very toxic working environment Fingers pointing cultures vs. helping troubleshoot and investigate the problem. Management blames programmer for the processes. -401k not matching -Foods service is bad unless you work on main building. -Compensation is below average consider how much responsibility tasks was handed for programmer. -Work/life balance is very poor. -very... little training provided, learn and adapted quickly or you will be out of the door -support from manager is non-existence. If you run into technical problems deal with it yourself. -HR and management are the same boat so be careful, whose yours complaints with. It could be backfires. -employees appreciation is nonexistent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retention of talented workers is important for future of company Be fair to everyone on the team Build the relationship with your team. Have a team lunch or a team meeting weekend. Focus more within your team vs kissing to your higher boss.

    SpaceX2019-07-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Most amazing and rewarding company to be a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Software Engineer in Hawthorne, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpaceX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Here's my list of reasons why SpaceX is an amazing place to work - You get to work on things that directly impact the mission. - The company goal is to advance space technology and enable people to live on other planets, it's right on the site - Everyone is brilliant, driven, and will be the best people you've ever worked with. - The work is challenging and there are literally endless opportunities if you... want to put in the time. - Management is awesome, they work hard and are easy to work with. - You get to watch rocket launches and all sorts of other crazy stuff from mission control. - SpaceX employees are highly sought after, but you wont want to leave - You get to walk around a rocket factory and see rockets being built. - Great food options like cafeteria style, salad bar, restaurant style and 4+ food trucks. Also free frozen yogurt and the food is all subsidized, so you're only paying $3-5 per meal. - There are flown rocket parts all over the office. - The first landed orbital rocket is in front of the building - You can give friends and family tours of the factory.

    Show More

    Cons

    Los Angeles is an extremely expensive place to live compared to the rest of the country.

    Advice to Management

    More team building would be really beneficial. It sounds like that sort of stuff is already being planned, which is great!

    SpaceX2019-03-10
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Senior UX Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Designer in Hawthorne, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpaceX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -I wake up early every morning excited to go to work. -Insider information for one of the most exciting and dynamic companies of our time. -ROCKETS! -As a software designer you are given the freedom to conduct your own research, prototyping and delivery of designs as you want. Though if it's out of line with company expectations or standards you will be put in your place immediately. There is ZERO tolerance for... projects that are a waist of time and do not drive the mission of the company forward. -As a designer you get to shadow amazing users in the company to design tools for them (engineers, technicians working on vehicles, even astronauts!) -Great benefits, healthcare and dental on site. -Good discounted food options. -Company talks and tours for friends and family. -Work life balance wasn't bad for me. Software guys can work from home occasionally, and usually do about 50-55 hours a week. I came in early each day before 8 and left at 5pm so I could have dinner with my family and put my daughter to bed. I'd occasionally crack open the laptop at night and watch Netflix with my wife, no biggie! I've worked in much more strict environments. If you're a factory technician / on 40day 40night projects yeah you can work 100 hour weeks occasionally.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Pay is median. Stock is nice, though it takes a while to vest. -I was laid off with the 10% purge that happened in the beginning of 2019. In order for the company to fund all the R&D for Starlink and Starship Elon had to let go all non-essential personnel (basically many people who don't actually design and build the hardware) so a lot of software and management. I was devastated. I only worked at the company... for 7months, and expected to spend at least 5 years there. Many people like me are very dedicated to the cause and would do anything for it to succeed, even if it means being sacrificed so the company doesn't go bankrupt. God Speed SpaceX!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Design is important, leverage its ability to iterate quickly to solve the right problems faster. -Mass layoffs kill morale.

    SpaceX2019-01-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Fun while it lasted, good luck."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Propulsion Inspector in Hawthorne, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SpaceX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Launching rockets and recovering them.

    Cons

    Extremely long hours, too many hours, and inexperience labor force and engineering department.

    Advice to Management

    Find managers from actual aerospace companies who know what their doing.

    SpaceX2019-02-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Atmospere, Average Pay, Long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Integrated Avionics Technician in Hawthorne, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpaceX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace environment, rewarding to watch rockets launch that you physically built.

    Cons

    Many become worn out early on by the intense scheduling. Pay does not equate to the physical labor endured.

    SpaceX2019-01-30
Found 239 reviews