Spark Communications Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Spark Communications CEO Chris Boothe (no image)
Chris Boothe
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Place To Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spark Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing growth, plenty of opportunity for promotion when ready, senior leadership is sensitive to teams needs. Free breakfast on Mondays and happy hours on Fridays.

    Cons

    Fast growth means teams need to assist with new client on-boardings. Come in knowing we are all in it together.

    Spark Communications2015-11-28
  2. "Analyst, Analytics and Insights"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst, Analytics and Insights in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spark Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to talk to management,

    Cons

    Long hours depending on time of month

    Spark Communications2017-07-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Low Pay, Crazy Hours and Expectations"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Spark Communications full-time

    Pros

    Most of my colleagues were very cool - fun environment but really everyone is too stressed out to enjoy it.

    Cons

    Really depends on the team you get put on. My team worked around the clock while you got paid very little, and team had a generally negative attitude. Definitely a throw you into the fire kind of job. You get ample opportunity to shine and show your worth (a lot of responsibility off the bat) but you're not recognized or supported. Be willing to make this job your life.

    Continue reading
    Spark Communications2017-05-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Buying, planning and monitoring ad campaigns for clients"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Media Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spark Communications

    Pros

    Great experience in ad buying. Great place to learn about media and advertising and how to create and monitor campaigns.

    Cons

    Works you too hard for too little money. Doesn't teach associates how to do job well and leave you to sink or swim

    Continue reading
    Spark Communications2016-11-08
  5. "Work hard, play hard"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spark Communications

    Pros

    The people here are all really great. It's rare to hear "not my job"

    Cons

    Long, long hours and underappreciated staff.

    Spark Communications2016-11-07
  6. "ad"

    3.0
     

    I have been working at Spark Communications

    Pros

    work life balance is good

    Cons

    little interaction with senior management, work is very siloed

    Spark Communications2016-10-27
  7. "Lots of work, but a great experience!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spark Communications for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to plenty of training, proprietary research/tools, and big employee perks.

    Cons

    Overwhelming amount of work, especially at entry/mid tiers. Tough to gain work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Spark Communications2016-09-07
  8. "So far so good"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spark Communications full-time

    Pros

    I am newly hired but so far am enjoying my time here. Welcoming culture and fun atmosphere. Lots of young professionals

    Cons

    Training program did not start until 2 months in, requiring new hires without experience to learn on the job. Some people stay at work very late which is hard to do when you commute from the suburbs

    Spark Communications2016-09-18
  9. "Supervisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spark Communications

    Pros

    partial flexibility, growing company, good location

    Cons

    several accounts are understaffed so long hours are the norm and expected

    Spark Communications2016-06-15
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spark Communications full-time

    Pros

    The people are fun, and there are lots of vendor perks. The location of the office is near public transportation.

    Cons

    The agency is the epitome of "over promising and under delivering" in many respects. Whether that is in regard to career prospects, work, happiness, or Spark's promises to clients, do not take them at face value. There are large swaths of unhappy people there, and many groups are suffering from ~75% turnover rates.

    Continue reading
    Spark Communications2016-06-16
Found 45 reviews