Spartan Auto Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Spartan Auto Group Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Spartan Auto Group full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Management and co-works are great. Health Insurance 401K the basic stuff The pay is pretty decent, the customer flow is really nice considering there are not much other competition from other Toyota Dealership. The work is really easy, you go in early in the morning write up cars and you sell services needed on the vehicles. Very typical stuff and not difficult. When... something actually difficult comes up management will jump in to help out. The dealership is always clean, many times have I heard customers tell me we have the cleanest facility, which as far as I know is actually pretty true. Management is pretty understanding if you need to take a day off or be absent for something.

    Show More

    Cons

    Down times can get really boring and when that happens people tend skip each other and making money becomes harder No base pay, money is generated 100% from commission and only from whatever you get from labor, no commission from parts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Spartan Auto Group2017-09-13
  2. "I Liked The Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Car Salesman in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Spartan Auto Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Owned by a hardworking family that was onsite and available.

    Cons

    Working almost every weekend and missing time with family and friends was a little difficult.

    Spartan Auto Group2019-08-04
  3. "Car Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Spartan Auto Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can make quite a bit of money in the busy season. Base pay helps, and you receive commission on top of that.

    Cons

    Management can be extremely toxic, and as a family owned business, their priorities come first. Management will be quick to shift blame from themselves to any employees they find convenient. Like most car sales, hours are very long, and while management can be flexible, other times they will summarily deny time off.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly and hold management accountable to their mistakes.

    Spartan Auto Group2019-02-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lube Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lube Technician in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spartan Auto Group

    Pros

    Management is very friendly, and very understanding and compensating when you need time off if you have a good reason. Wages at least for flat rate technicians are very competitive. The service department is usually very busy, so making money is not a problem

    Cons

    Spartan toyota is a family ran company, therefore there mentality is theasy family and company money comes before your money as an employee so getting a raise is sometimes difficult.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to be management at Spartan toyota you will need to plan on working here for a long time because most of the management positions consist of family or family friends, if you are not these you will need to work very hard and plan on being here a good while.

    Spartan Auto Group2017-01-20
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spartan Auto Group full-time

    Pros

    Low key no corporate crap. More of a family feeling, all the employees are friendly for the most part and get along well. Completely free medical for emoyee

    Cons

    Equipment in shop is out dated, but improving as we speak. Don't stock as many parts as you would think, but can get everything next day

    Advice to Management

    Keep more parts in stock. Pay your employees a what they are worth. Updated your shop to accommodate customers

    Spartan Auto Group2015-11-25
  6. "office worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Spartan Auto Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some people are nice to work with and the schedule is what I needed at the moment for my work / life balance.

    Cons

    Company does not care about employees at all. If you can make the millionaire owner richer, then you might be accepted to stay for a while. Dont expect any leniancy for holidays, family emergencies, surgery, graduations, newborn children, or any other major life event. It is strictly business and no one cares who you are or what you contribute. You are VERY disposable!!

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to invest into an employee appreciation program. Employees that are happy and satisfied with their employer are more likely to have better production rates and over all make the company more money

    Spartan Auto Group2015-08-20
  7. "BDC Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDC in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Spartan Auto Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a very fast paced environment. i was rewarded according to my production as opposed to seniority. The compensation base pay was less that minimum wage but if you hit the bonuses you could bring home 2k a month.

    Cons

    The management couldnt care less about its employees. We were treated poorly like we were working to advance their careers.

    Advice to Management

    To be more accomodating to each persons desire to acheive within their department instead of setting goals by how it will effect the owner's pocket book.

    Spartan Auto Group2015-08-08
  8. "I Wouldn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Spartan Auto Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There aren't many good things.

    Cons

    Received 1 raise in 3 years. No employee incentive to have car serviced there. Not flexible with vacation time. Insurance costs are outrageous. The owner and his family do not care about the employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with more respect and care.

    Spartan Auto Group2015-07-14
  9. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Salea in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Spartan Auto Group for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inventory to choose from. Quality of product

    Cons

    The push to close. Ruthless management. Treat customers horribly

    Spartan Auto Group2015-05-21
Found 9 reviews