KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SpeakWrite

Is this your company?

SpeakWrite

Add a Review

SpeakWrite Reviews

Updated May 10, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 72 reviews

2.6
57%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
SpeakWrite CEO Richard Jackson (no image)
Richard Jackson
3 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I am able to choose my own hours, receive notifications if there is extra work to be done, and have been fortunate to be able to work from home and be with my children every day.(in 14 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours and usually there is work available.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Interesting work, lovely people.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "This on top of the extremely low pay was a slap in the face as far as I'm concerned(in 16 reviews)
  • "Management is condescending and the only feedback offered is negative.(in 8 reviews)
  • "If, like me, you are a very fast typist, a former English teacher and a fan of perfection, you are working way too hard for way too little money and zero appreciation.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great part-time job

    Oct 8, 2021 - Typist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can work when it fits my schedule and I love the variety of the jobs.

    Cons

    It takes a while to get your speed (and earnings) up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Nope!

    Apr 3, 2022 - Legal Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work from home, set your own schedule, easy to change schedules

    Cons

    Extremely low pay. Bad dictations wiped out the progress made from typing good dictations. Because of this, VERY difficult to make a steady hourly amount. As a full-timer, worked a lot of overtime hours, trying to make up for the lost dollars due to bad dictations, but didn't get paid time and a half since I was 1099. However, IRS told me that I actually was NOT 1099; I was a "misclassified employee", and I had to file my taxes accordingly. What a pain! If you feel you have no other option for income and you end up taking this gig, keep looking for something to replace it. In the 6 years I was with them, they never gave me a raise. I went from full time to part time after finding a regular job, and then eventually decided it wasn't even worth it to keep as a side hustle. When I quit, it was a weight off my shoulders. I didn't realize just how extremely stressful it was until I quit, and I think the stress came from not knowing exactly how much I was going to get paid for my time --- I had no idea what was on the other side of that damn tape until I pressed Play!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Would NOT Recommend

    Jan 4, 2022 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being able to schedule when you want to work--HOWEVER, if you do not schedule a decent amount of hours, you will not get scheduled for the hours you want to work, you must schedule "wish list" hours and those you do not get paid for unless they happen to have a job for you which is RARE!

    Cons

    There are so many to list: 1/2 a cent per word, no seriously that's what they think is fair. After you complete a job, it is sent to a proof reader (I have nothing nice to say about them so moving on), which they only criticize your work and never tell you what you are doing right. The help manual is a joke and is extremely confusing to try to follow. Oh, and sometimes if the client handwrites instructions (which you have to find if they did or not) then that may take precedence or if they verbally give you instructions - that trumps the manual, If there are typed instructions that come with the job - that trumps the manual. The dictations are disturbing content because it is police reports, child welfare follow-ups, or legal documents, which may or may not trump the manual -- I think you get my drift. Oh, and if you have one version of Word on your computer - it will not work because their technology is ancient.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Run From Them As Fast As Possible

    Nov 15, 2021 - Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not any unless you prefer to work like a dog with ambiguous guidelines for truly degrading pay.

    Cons

    Everything. Testing to get in initially is extensive. Guidelines are in a giant document and there are changes all the time. Many tapes are really hard to understand and the harder you try to be accurate, the less money you make. They time you and chase you to work faster, but then ding you if you miss something. Bottom line: If you are a marginal typist with limited knowledge of English, you'll never make it in. If, like me, you are a very fast typist, a former English teacher and a fan of perfection, you are working way too hard for way too little money and zero appreciation.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Bad Company to Work For

    Nov 13, 2021 - Legal Transcriptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay what's promised on time.

    Cons

    The work they require is difficult for extremely low pay. Depending on the job it could be $5.00/hr. That is not because of skill or speed. It is the dictation they give you. You cannot choose what you do. The company gives conflicting instructions as to the style they want you to use. What they promise their client, what their manual says, then what the proofreaders' instruct can all, and usually do, vary. They refuse to clarify. The work is tedious and for what they expect, it's criminal how they treat typists.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    EXCELLENT FOR XTRA INCOME

    Feb 1, 2021 - Transcriber in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent in terms of technology. Quickly respond to concerns/issues. Super organized system so $$ is applied as soon as job is finished, updated technology makes it easy to navigate. Most kinks/critiques posted here can be overcome once you are long-term - as it all becomes 2nd nature.

    Cons

    Low Pay. BUT if you can, work only when bonuses are offered -- this helps. Ingenious that they make it so typists can't communicate with each other (unless in a monitored forum); hence we could jointly strike for higher pay.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Low pay

    Jun 14, 2021 - Independent Contractor - Legal Transcriptionist in Redding, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work own hours from home

    Cons

    Low pay. Not worth it.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Okay company to work for

    Jun 9, 2021 - Typist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great and immediate feedback given.

    Cons

    There was not a lot of work available.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Transcription worker

    May 25, 2021 - Independent Contractor in Charleston, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, ability to work remotely

    Cons

    Lots of rules to remember, confusing instructions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great working from home

    Mar 31, 2021 - Typist in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Set your own hours, lots of bonus time available, easy to communicate with help and/or supervisors

    Cons

    Takes some time to get used to their formatting and the system

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

SpeakWrite Reviews FAQs

SpeakWrite has an overall rating of 2.6 out of 5, based on over 72 reviews left anonymously by employees. 57% of employees would recommend working at SpeakWrite to a friend and 58% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SpeakWrite employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SpeakWrite. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

57% of SpeakWrite employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SpeakWrite 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.9 for culture and values and 2.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SpeakWrite to be benefits, coworkers, culture and the cons to be career development, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with SpeakWrite Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SpeakWrite? Share Your Experiences

SpeakWrite logo
or