SpeakWrite Reviews | Glassdoor

SpeakWrite Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Richard Jackson
2 Ratings
  1. "Great company serving important communities and heading in the right direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpeakWrite full-time

    Pros

    They offer great and flexible schedule. You are contributing to important industries that impact many lives such as police departments, help family services place children in homes they deserve, and help attorneys meet deadlines for filing in court.

    Cons

    No cons at the moment for me.

    Advice to Management

    Continue implementing great initiatives that make remote workers feel part of the team.

    SpeakWrite2019-04-16
  2. "The Real Deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpeakWrite full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The service and its distinguishing characteristics provided is relevant to clientele's pain points within the documentation aspect of their operations. The value that the service represents to customers is motivating and is something that employees truly believe in.

    Cons

    Cons are very minimal, with the biggest being the commute to the office. Not in an easy location to get in and out of; long commute times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your'e doing with transparency and open communication with employees. Stay the course in keeping all features and messaging simple, yet relevant. Continue to trust in your employees and build them up to accomplish great things.

    SpeakWrite2018-12-18
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Be wary! Know what you're getting into."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SpeakWrite part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Make your own schedule

    Cons

    Absurd expectations Confusing manual Confusing standards No help/support for typists Low pay for amount of work expected from typist

    Advice to Management

    Please work on how you support your typists in-job. The manual itself is very confusing. And, when one seeks help through help tickets, no help is offered, most just send a link to the confusing manual and that's about it. I think the company has decent potential, however their tact with employees and offering typists support on how to interpret the manual would help greatly.

    SpeakWrite2018-08-28
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Run as fast as you can!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SpeakWrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is nice

    Cons

    Working for such little pay stinks. I type 70 wpm and would schedule myself for 12 hours/day, 7 days/wk. My average biweekly check was around $1000. That averages out to around $5.95/hour. That aside, there are worse things about this company. First, if a proofreader (PR) determines you have made too many mistakes on a job (which is subjective and ambiguous), they can elect to redo the job and you won't get paid...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Scrap it and start all over again!!!

    SpeakWrite2018-08-07
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Inconsistent expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Typist Independent Contractor in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SpeakWrite for more than a year

    Pros

    Can set your own hours. Freedom to work from home. Response from staff is quick. There was always work.

    Cons

    Compensation is extremely low for all the guidelines you have to know. Your work is constantly evaluated but depending on who's reviewing your work, the feedback and expectations are inconsistent. You schedule hours but pay flucatuates depending on availability and time of day, but then emails are always sent that help is needed and the pay is better during those times. Why not just offer that pay all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent with feedback to typists. Increase pay a little considering all the guidelines you want met.

    SpeakWrite2017-09-04
  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SpeakWrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got along with everyone in the office. There were some really good people in the customer service department. Free food in break room and cheap drinks. Very nice view of downtown from their office.

    Cons

    I didn't really have any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    SpeakWrite2017-07-20
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Company - Great! Salary? Not So Much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Transcriptionist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SpeakWrite

    Pros

    Great to be able to work from home. Not bad hours and usually lots of them.

    Cons

    Salary is by the words typed and not great. You end up typing a lot for a little.

    Advice to Management

    Offer a better compensation plan to keep the better quality workers.

    SpeakWrite2016-10-12
  8. Helpful (7)

    "A good solid work from home choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Transcriptionist in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SpeakWrite for less than a year

    Pros

    1. VERY flexible schedule - you can schedule in one hour increments giving you plenty of time for kids/shopping/appts whatever. 2. Other than a computer the only equipment required is a decent headset and foot pedal ...not expensive. 3. a legitimate work at home job (and I've been looking for quite some time) 4. Understanding supervisors as far as scheduling, time off etc... I have had nothing but positive...

    Show More

    Cons

    I have seen the other reviews on here complaining about it being a family run company - they tell you that from the beginning - I don't see it as a con. Proofreaders CAN be inconsistent, which can cause a lower score - but as long as I still get paid for the work - I'm ok with that and I try not to stress over it too much. The biggest adaption is accepting the fact that you are not their to make the client's...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise the minimum rate for a letter to $1.50 or $2.00. Devise a system where proofreaders cannot make their own interpretations - therefore standardizing responses better.

    SpeakWrite2016-07-11
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Avoid This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SpeakWrite

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, work from home.

    Cons

    While it's technically possible to make decent money with this company, it's truthfully not worth it. Their technical specifications are ridiculous and take a long time to become proficient with. Management is condescending and the only feedback offered is negative.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with more respect.

    SpeakWrite2016-06-04
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SpeakWrite

    Pros

    The exec team disappears for days/weeks/months at a time. Since they are so unpleasant, it is amazing when they are gone - and occasionally you're able to get some work done.

    Cons

    The entire exec team is closely related family - they will tell you it's a "family company" - be aware, this means they hide the extent of this relation in interviews and don't disclose it even after you're employed. And they do not do any work, at all. They treat their employees terribly - they frequently disappear and can't make decisions, yet micromanage every email you send, making any progress impossible. The...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace yourselves. All of you.

    SpeakWrite2015-11-23
Found 15 reviews