KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Speakap

Engaged Employer

Speakap

Add a Review

Speakap Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 26 of over 26 reviews
3.5
59% Recommend to a Friend

Found 17 of over 26 reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

436

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some awesome colleagues(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Flexible WFH policy

    Apr 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Informal company culture, flexible WFH policy, possibility to work remotely for extended periods of time.

    Cons

    Parking spaces near the office are limited

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Bad company to work for

    Apr 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Zero to none positive points

    Cons

    Even though it is a scale up company, a lot of corporate nonsense exist. Employees are not reviewed by their expertise, professional skills or output. Very incapable people are made heads, team leads or managers.

    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Red flag

    Apr 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No plus points to mention

    Cons

    - Doesn't value employees - Management is not from technical background and creating a high pressure -"impossible to meet demands environment" for development - Management doesn't keep their promises - The product vision changes quite drastically and frequently causing the high pressure and inefficient development

    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A very good employer

    Feb 25, 2021 - Head of Growth in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice employees Good working conditions Very flexible in times and place to work Really helping employees co-op with their mental health during Covid! They care about there employees

    Cons

    Not something worthy to put here

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Nice place to work, great attitude towards people, feeling freedom and ownership of product

    Feb 5, 2021 - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mentality, positivity, cooperation, focused on people, care about quality and doing what's right, openness, flat structure, freedom

    Cons

    Limited pension benefits, not the easiest parking, had to downsize during Covid-19

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Awsome product & team with its own imperfections

    Dec 28, 2020 - Technology in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been here a while and I still love what I'm doing. I don't really understand the reason for the recent bad reviews but I can provide context: the company had to let go a people at the start of COVID-19. This was super painful and IMHO, could have been handled better. But the reasons were clear and I really appreciated the transparency about why it was needed and how this will affect the company. I think this context helps other people understand what has happened and how this affects people at Speakap, the good and the bad. What I like about Speakap: - Inspiring product - The company has good HR processes and lots of tools in tech - Very international team, everyone wants to help everyone - Pay = little above market - Company is super flexible about remote work. They are now encouraging everybody to work from home - Management team is super friendly and engaged; it's good to see that we do not depend on the founders - Last few months have been great in terms of new customers and software releases

    Cons

    What I don't like about Speakap: - I have seen the company go from A to Z and Z to A within a few months; recently, the vision has become clearer but Speakap isn't quite there yet - OKRs can feel like an obligation without much impact - Underperformance of people is not addressed quickly enough and the reorganization took too much time (company had to make a deal with a former employee) - Lots of changes, kinda like a scale-up ;) - Great Place to Work award was great but what about the follow-up?

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Nepotism and toxic

    Dec 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues, free fruits and a nice logo.

    Cons

    The lack of vision and experience leads into a company driven by the ego of the board team and the financial interest of the investor group. The upper management is never accountable for their mistakes and the negative responsibility is always taken on the employees. Nepotism. Weak ethics/morals. Management has no problem by openly lying to employees. Unstable. Huge employee turnover.

    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    It looks so good on the outside

    Nov 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Diversity, Challenge, Teamwork, Work-life balance

    Cons

    For a company claiming to be in the realm of improving employee satisfaction, you would expect them to practice what they preach. Instead, employees are disposable and as long as you follow the guided paths and say yes at the right moments, you might get somewhere. Otherwise, your stay will be short. Todays hero will be tomorrow's zero. Management has no idea what to do and who to follow, so opinions change with the flavour of the month. That would not be so bad, were it not that it means that the entire company is often forced to do something completely different from the 6 months prior. And if it fails, blame is put to those at the bottom of the ladder, not those at the top, who continue to pat each others backs.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Speakap Response

    CEO-Founder

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Speakap. I'm really sorry you didn't have a great experience during your time here. Your feedback is appreciated and something we are not taking lightly. This feedback does help us grow. It’s one of the reasons why we are increasing our investment in people even more than before. With the extra investments, we are able to get more work which is going to result in a more transparent feedback culture, an improved (remote) work culture and ultimately, more fun together. I do want to highlight that we already have a very open HR team and leadership team that wants to know what we can do better and how we can do it in your opinion. It’s such a shame to read that you have not been able to find your way to them - we are here for you. I also want to acknowledge the fact that working in a scale-up like Speakap isn’t for everyone. You’ll often be working in an area that hasn’t been explored before, and this can be challenging. Everyone is constantly learning, including your direct colleagues, managers and leaders. We’re in the same boat and that’s what makes the journey thrilling but also challenging at times. The scale-up journey is rarely plain sailing but whatever happens - it’s a rewarding life experience. We get big stuff done together, but sometimes we fail big time. And that’s why we cherish one thing above all: a constant open feedback culture. A lot of teams succeed really well at Speakap but based on your experience, it unfortunately doesn’t look like you have been able to benefit from this. It’s a shame we never had the opportunity to honestly connect when you were here. As is the case with everyone at Speakap, either myself, HR, or our leadership folks are here for our team and having these kinds of meaningful conversations. It’s the only way we can grow - by listening, learning, and innovating. Thank you again for your feedback. I sincerely wish you all the very best. - Patrick

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Avoid it

    Dec 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing. It used to be the people but thats no longer the case

    Cons

    The management has no sense of direction or vision. Externally, promises that are basically optimistic lies are made to the customers and internally, they push development to meet these deadlines. Its total havoc at all times. Almost all of the good developers either left or on the verge of leaving. Change in priorities and personal blame game happens daily. Unfortunately, openly misleading the employees is seen as a necessity to keep running and no loyalty towards employees is remotely considered.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lack of vision

    Oct 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Potentially a great product with interesting customers Some awesome colleagues Nice perks; HR does take good care of you

    Cons

    Lack of vision from C-level; frequent switch of direction as we were trying to please everyone No clear communication on strategy to the rest of the company

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Speakap Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Speakap? Share Your Experiences

or

Speakap Photos

+ Add Photo
Speakap photo of: Speakap

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Glassdoor has 26 Speakap reviews submitted anonymously by Speakap employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Speakap is right for you.