Speakeasy (Georgia) Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Speakeasy (Georgia) Owner and CEO  Scott Weiss
Scott Weiss
36 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Excellent opportunity for those who love high demands and opportunities for excellence.

    May 6, 2021 - Instructor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extraordinarily kind and caring staff. I have never experienced impatience with requests for advice or help,

    Cons

    Especially for full time workers, work/life balance can be difficult. For instructors days can be long, including the hassles of travel.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Most Abusive and Toxic Workplace I Have Ever Seen

    May 3, 2021 - Senior Vice President 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Their communication workshops are impactful though overpriced

    Cons

    Speakeasy is by far the most toxic and abusive workplace I have ever seen. Not leaving that place earlier will forever be the biggest regret of my career. Several members of the so-called "Management Committee" have serious personality disorders and shouldn't be in any leadership role whatsoever. Departures of employees regularly involve lawsuits or the threat thereof. Whenever there's going to be a problem, it's going to be YOUR fault. If you must interview there, ask why there are so many former employees with really short tenure. Please also read the other negative reviews about Speakeasy here, they hit the nail on the head. One thing that really stood out to me in my time at Speakeasy is that we didn't receive a single lead or referral from a former employee. I have never seen that at other companies, where former employees are usually happy to promote the company and the brand. Not so at Speakeasy. That's truly remarkable in a bad way. The meaningless positive reviews exist only because Speakeasy management is practically forcing the employees to write them. If you want to get a real assessment of what's it like to work there, reach out to a few former employees. Again, this is the most abusive and toxic work environment I have ever seen, and not walking away from it earlier will forever be the biggest regret of my career.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place To Work

    Mar 31, 2021 - Client Experience Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Speakeasy has a fantastic work atmosphere and super supportive staff and team.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Speakeasy

    Jul 14, 2020 - Senior Vice President Business Development in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Speakeasy was established in 1973 and offers one of the best communication development experiences available in the marketplace - for any level employee or executive leader. In a sales consulting role, this gives you a wonderful brand and product/experience to sell to any customer and the opportunities to do so are endless! Speakeasy is global with offices in ATL, NYC, Chicago , SFO and Amsterdam and now with their new virtual offerings, this allows anyone access to a Speakeasy experience. The Faculty are incredible instructors who are highly accredited and fully trained to help each person find their inner voice, while keeping their authenticity in tact. Selling Speakeasy successfully can be challenging, but with a focused work ethic and dedication to the process, it can be very rewarding!

    Cons

    Based on your preferred work style and environment, Speakeasy requires business attire and being in the office at all times (pre and post pandemic), unless on a customer call. This is not necessarily a con based on your preference, but should be noted as a company requirement.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Phenomenal company with phenomenal leadership

    May 5, 2020 - Faculty in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at several companies throughout the Atlanta area and I must say that Speakeasy is by far the best and my favorite. The leadership truly cares about the staff and everyone works very well together. From day one, I felt like I was a part of a family. People really bend over backwards for you, and that is rare these days. The leadership puts us in a position to be successful, make meaningful client connections, and truly values our families.

    Cons

    If you are not trying to grow as a company, team, and individual, then this is not the place for you to apply. Everyone has a growth mindset and it really shows.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company to Work For

    May 5, 2020 - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company truly values their employees and the culture is absolutely great. The product is something that everyone absolutely needs and the company delivers it at a very high level. Clients always have positive feedback and it's easy to believe in what you're doing when it's helping people. Senior leadership is transparent, authentic and always willing to help.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great organization...

    May 19, 2020 - Learning and Development Facilitator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing product and satisfying career...overall good people to work with

    Cons

    Limited long-term career growth opportunities

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fullfiling & Life Changing Work on a Nimble Team

    Dec 21, 2016 - Account Executive in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Speakeasy is a small but mighty company in the consulting industry. It has a boutique feel with a big reach. The attention to detail and quality from the management trickles down to how employees are valued. - Employees are the most important part of the organization. Thus, the training was very valuable and I felt the company was investing in me. - Every employee gets exposed to our core development product. - Entrepreneurial and aggressive business mentality (management understands what keeps the lights on and what makes us personally profitable - we focus on this daily). Yes, this is a PRO after being a part of companies that have ethereal and nebulous goals. - Hard work with the right attitude is rewarded. -The organization is small enough to feel like a critical part of the mission. - Generous bonus and commissions available for those who want to get after it! - Management is calm, cool and collected. Even when the work climate and business is in chaos, the management maintains a confident and even disposition.

    Cons

    -The main office is in Atlanta, GA and I work out of the San Francisco office - common issues associated with a remote headquarters exist such as, limited team camaraderie and communication obstacles. -Internal customer service could use improvement. -Flex time and remote login is typically not permitted unless there are unique circumstances. (Not really a con for me but it's worth noting here.)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    This is a seriously unique company!

    Jan 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a seriously unique company! One that has extremely high standards for employees - which in turn create extremely high benefits for its clients. The professional satisfaction and fulfillment that comes with being part of profoundly meaningful work is HUGE here! Speakeasy is far from the average executive communication development firm. Its processes and methodologies dig deeper, push folks out of their comfort zone more, and truly lead people to their own discovery. That’s where the growth really occurs. Achieving powerful communication in a way unique to each individual, and driving personal connection that is real as a result, is the focus not only for the services provided, but for the staff who provide those services. Many companies talk a good game and tout lofty values. Not many walk the talk as well as this one. Is it perfect…no. Does it continuously challenge itself as an organization to practice what it preaches….yes. Does it demand that everyone keep working at being the best they can be….absolutely. Strong work ethic, complete honesty, high EQ, and a genuine desire to help others succeed will help you thrive here.

    Cons

    The nature of the business does not lend itself easily to the level of daily flexibility many might desire. Those who prefer a casual work environment and dress code will not be a good match.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Speakeasy company review

    Jan 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At Speakeasy, I work with an exceptional group of professionals. The combination of working with my colleagues and the kind of work we deliver to our clients, truly creates a fulfilling working environment. Speakeasy offers a 401K plan, covers 100% of your LTD, Life Insurance and Medical Insurance, and also offer both Vision and Dental insurance. Vacation time, Paid holidays and additional days off (Super Bowl Monday for example) are not too bad either. With this company’s expansion both internationally and domestically, it creates opportunities within the organization for professional growth.

    Cons

    Finding the right personal/professional fit for a new employees can take some time, meaning work load can be greater from time to time. In a sales role, ebbs and flows from sales contributions can be stressful when there are expectations to be met (as in any sales role).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

Popular Careers with Speakeasy (Georgia) Job Seekers

VP of Business Development
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Executive
Learn About the Job
Business Development Director
Learn About the Job
Director of Business Development
Learn About the Job
Business Development Manager
Learn About the Job
Director, Business Development
Learn About the Job
Vice President Business Development
Learn About the Job

Work at Speakeasy (Georgia)? Share Your Experiences

Speakeasy (Georgia) logo
or