Special Olympics "great cause" Reviews | Glassdoor

Special Olympics Employee Reviews about "great cause"

Updated 23 de Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Special Olympics CEO Sargent Shriver (no image)
Sargent Shriver
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Office accommodations, career growth, work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Sometimes you may need to work long hours around special events(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great cause"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Special Olympics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Special Olympics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great cause, pretty flexible schedule during down time.

    Cons

    You have to have a passion for what you are doing. There are many longs hours, nights, weekends and travel. I love what I do so it is not a problem for me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, remember to thank you employees for all of the work they do.

    Special Olympics2018-08-14
  2. "SOI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sports Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Special Olympics full-time

    Pros

    Great cause helping out athletes

    Cons

    Do not make enough money

    Special Olympics2019-07-23
  3. "Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Business Development in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Special Olympics for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working for a great cause - Constant appraisal for work

    Cons

    - Archaic methods and relationships in place

    Special Olympics2018-01-27
  4. "Great for job seekers that love community outreach but not tech savvy job seekers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics

    Pros

    Great cause, great volunteers, community outreach.

    Cons

    Outdated Software that if updated would save money and time.

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade to more automated software.

    Special Olympics2016-12-01
  5. "If you want to be treated like a slave...intern here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Event Coordinator in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics

    Pros

    Great cause. Met a lot of great vendors/talent. Some of the work was fun and I learned a little bit.

    Cons

    One of the gals I trained under was a real "you know what"...some of the guys that worked as freelance for the company were drinking on the job and using drugs. Most of the employees seemed knowledgeable of their own jobs and just muttered through it. Waited till last minute to do things. I received a whooping 300 check at the end of my 3 month internship and after taxes got 280!! Not worth it for all they had me... doing...running errands in my car, making copies, stuffing envelopes, sorting through a warehouse, lifting and carrying heavy boxes, calling vendors on my personal phone so they're returning calls all hours for days after, the computers there were horrible and I couldn't hardly get any work even done!!!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire competent people. Don't treat your interns like slaves they're there to learn and not be taken advantage of. Invest in new computers.

    Special Olympics2016-06-28
  6. "SONH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, NH

    I worked at Special Olympics full-time

    Pros

    Great cause to invest in, great co-workers and volunteers

    Cons

    Management was toxic. Power driven CEO.

    Special Olympics2015-11-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "World games organizing committee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics

    Pros

    Great organization working toward a great cause. Solid support from the city and partners

    Cons

    Communication between departments could be significantly improved

    Special Olympics2015-08-20
  8. "Interned at SOTX a few summers and had a great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics

    Pros

    This is a great starting experience and the company works for a great cause if you want to get into the non-profit or NGO industry. The staff and my co-workers at the SOTX Austin HQ were very friendly and respectful. You will even get to make connections with the higher ups and the CEO. The pay was pretty good for an internship and I think overall you will learn a lot about this industry and you will get to help... people with intellectual disabilities and learn that they are no different from you and I!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth or leadership opportunities. There are some tedious manual labor activities you will need to complete such as data entry, but it is understandable that you will have to do these tasks even as an employee. I wish there were more hands on opportunities to work with the actual athletes!

    Special Olympics2015-02-18
  9. "5 year volunteer for local area and state events in Texas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Equipment Management Volunteer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great cause, leadership skills, humbles your personality. Well organized on state level.

    Cons

    Days can be very long (16 hours) for state events, Rude supervisors- who are volunteers at time- that are a detriment to returning volunteers. Can be severely unorganized on local level.

    Advice to Management

    Take more interest in care in your volunteers. Too many lazy, rude, and patronizing supervisors for state & local events that scare away a vast amount of potential volunteers for the future.

    Special Olympics2014-05-02
  10. "Great cause, but complete lack of leadership and managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Communications Intern in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Special Olympics for less than a year

    Pros

    Obviously for a great cause. People truly care about what they do. Small, intimate office. Got to interact with those that the organization helps.

    Cons

    Totally disorganized office. Leadership is also disorganized, would forget training appointments, and would simply not show up at a scheduled time to meet (this happened more than once). Lack of technological advancements in the office space.

    Advice to Management

    Make a more sincere effort to act as a leader in regards to your employees.

    Special Olympics2014-03-26
Found 13 reviews