Special Olympics "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Special Olympics Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Feb 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Special Olympics Chairman Emeritus Sargent Shriver (no image)
Sargent Shriver
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Office accommodations, career growth, work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Sometimes you may need to work long hours around special events(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics

    Pros

    Great environment and learned a lot.

    Cons

    Unpaid internship and long hours

    Special Olympics2018-04-02
  2. "Great mission, tough turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Special Olympics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The mission is amazing and truly inspiring you often find yourself saying this is why I do this.

    Cons

    Long hours and disorganized. No one shares the valuable information and everything is very last minute.

    Advice to Management

    My hope is that turnover will be viewed as an issue not just what happens

    Special Olympics2019-02-04
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Special Olympics

    Pros

    Amazing organization with incredible athletes.

    Cons

    Poor pay, long hours, bad org culture

    Advice to Management

    show up to work.

    Special Olympics2018-04-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Special Olympics full-time

    Pros

    - great benefits - amazing working with all the Athletes

    Cons

    Sometimes you may need to work long hours around special events

    Special Olympics2017-03-21
  5. "Special Olympics Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Special Olympics

    Pros

    Good Mission and passionate people. Serving such a special population is very rewarding. Opportunity to travel and be involved in global events.

    Cons

    The work-life balance can be challenging. Most positions require long hours and fair amounts of travel. The pay can be on the lower side.

    Special Olympics2016-12-01
  6. "Medical Hub Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Medical Hub Manager in Sierra Madre, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people doing good things. Everyone works very hard to do a good job so that the athletes receive the most from their experience.

    Cons

    No cons, but prepare to work hard and for long hours

    Special Olympics2016-04-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Special Olympics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission. Wonderful people. The name Special Olympics opens doors and most people are happy to talk to you. Working with the athletes and their families is a true pleasure.

    Cons

    Long hours. Almost every weekend was taken up with some fundraiser or athletic competition. Very little money. I had to struggle to make ends meet.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees more vacation or comp time as the hours are tremendously long. At one point we were working for 18 straight days.

    Special Olympics2015-08-27
Found 7 reviews