Speedway LLC Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Speedway LLC President  Tim Griffith (no image)
Tim Griffith
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company with great benefits(in 120 reviews)

  • "Good work / life balance and good benefits and friendly team(in 93 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Overtime is mandatory and they work you to the bone with no breaks(in 139 reviews)

  • "Long hours Very hectic at times(in 98 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Speedway LLC and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work!

      Apr 16, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and enjoy it!

      Cons

      I cant think of any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      High turn over & corporate/district management only cared about sales not people

      Apr 19, 2021 - Shift Leader (Educated/Handled Assistant Manager Role) in Chesterton, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      District manager saw potential, gave me the opportunity in management just after 5 short momths because of my reliability, dedication to the company, growth, moved me from part-time to full-time.

      Cons

      What happened to me. Most fanchises, if they have a employee with excellent work ethics, flexibility in hours & positions, and is consistently helping and educating to benefit the store & manager, they will get ignored, like me Then usually lied to about managements trying to help with movement higher, pay increase, benefits etc. Then another could give excuses on why corporate needs me in same position, but greatly appreciate my hard work. Please don't leave you are a wonderful asset, just wait x amount of time. I was also told half-truths, corporate just needed a little more time to work things out and wait another 3 months/ 6 months/1 yr. After 4 years of the same lies and excuses each year (for an annual evaluation that maxed out @ 70¢). I had to walk away. I loved my store and regulars. I didn't want to go, but with that much time and no growth within or respect. I should have left sooner.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Cashier

      May 7, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Payson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always busy and a friendly fast-paced atmosphere.

      Cons

      Not enough hours or days of work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Solid

      May 7, 2021 - Human Resources Intern in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I gained valuable experience in many facets of the company.

      Cons

      The work got stale and repetitive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Needs my pay adjusted to fit accordingly

      Apr 15, 2021 - Cashier in Wilmington, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working for speedway. It's an easy job and it has great benefits.

      Cons

      I have worked for speedway for 4 years now. I started at $8.50 an hour and I just made it to my $10.00 an hour a month ago. Well now I find out EVERYONE that walks in the door as a New Hire is being paid the same thing as me! I train these people so where does this make sense??

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good Company to work for

      May 6, 2021 - Lead Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay and bonuses Flexible hours Good benefits Overtime if you want it

      Cons

      Overtime when you dont want it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Corporate disconnect

      May 6, 2021 - Shift Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits? I guess they are good.

      Cons

      Corporate doesn't even know how to use the programs they implement, yet expect us to run them flawlessly. Any bonuses are based on selling select candies every month. Even then they bonuses rarely show up on your paycheck. Overall just another corporate machine.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Friendly

      May 3, 2021 - Cafe Manager Trainee in Lockport, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits and fast paced

      Cons

      High Turn around, high expectations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Continue to pile on work with fewer and fewer staff members

      Apr 17, 2021 - Lead Assistant Manager in Fort Myers, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekly pay, benefits are very good for full time employees

      Cons

      Moved store to store without input, lack of HR and Senior Management support, difficulty covering required work hours with staff. Recruiting doing a less than stellar job at screening and hiring good staff members. Pay is way too low to recruit good staff members.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 19, 2021 - Associate Recruiter in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Speedway loves to promote from within. If you can buy in to the culture and don’t mind relocating the growth potential is there

      Cons

      Not a company that’s going to break the bank compensation wise but the great benefits offered depending on your situation make a huge difference

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,026 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Speedway LLC Job Seekers

    District Manager Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    District Manager Trainee LPP
    Learn About the Job
    Leadership Program Participant (DMT)
    Learn About the Job
    Assistant Retail Sales Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Speedway LLC? Share Your Experiences

    or