Spencer Gifts Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Gifts President and CEO Steven Silverstein
Steven Silverstein
390 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for management positions, groups of teenagers and college students flooding to the back of the store(in 67 reviews)

  • "Decisions never being made, Upper Management disconnected(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hard worker"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Truck Loader 

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time

    Pros

    Great pay good hrs plus overtime if needed

    Cons

    No down side just come to work and do my job

    Spencer Gifts2020-05-05
  2. "Decent job if you get a decent DM"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun, and can move up until Store Manager level.

    Cons

    If you want to love outside of the store level, good luck.

    Spencer Gifts2020-05-13
  3. "Low Pay, No reward for doing well"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun environment Coworkers aren’t stuck up

    Cons

    Constant turnover Does not reward for increasing sales Does not reward for lowering shrink Never get holidays even during the slow months

    Continue reading
    Spencer Gifts2020-05-12
  4. "Great job but depends on location"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, wear what you want, decent retail gig

    Cons

    Depends on location, if it's a target store(lots of shoplifting) expect upper management to be on you constantly.

    Continue reading
    Spencer Gifts2020-04-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Company doesn’t care about employees. All they care about is the profit. They want your life to be all Spencer’s and nothing else.

    Spencer Gifts2020-05-22
  6. "it was okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    my coworkers were all really nice

    Cons

    they cut my hours to 4 hours a week because they hired too many people

    Spencer Gifts2020-04-30
  7. "sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy, fun, memorable, and the job was overall enjoyable.

    Cons

    the people that come in are horrible

    Spencer Gifts2020-04-16
  8. "Great fun job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Super fun job Creates great experience Easy advancement into management

    Cons

    The pay is terrible

    Spencer Gifts2020-04-15
  9. "Spencer's Part Time Sales Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun products, interesting customers and atmosphere.

    Cons

    Wary of thieves, a lot of theft, customers can be overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Spencer Gifts2020-04-02
  10. "Retail sales associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Santa Maria, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always a great time going into work. Everyone is energetic, happy and most of all makes their customers feel comfortable.

    Cons

    Needs a little bit of more communication.

    Spencer Gifts2020-03-31
Found 800 reviews