Spencer Gifts "fun environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Spencer Gifts Employee Reviews about "fun environment"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Gifts President and CEO Steven Silverstein
Steven Silverstein
384 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for management positions, groups of teenagers and college students flooding to the back of the store(in 66 reviews)

  • "All there is time for is shipment but then upper management expects perfection in the stores(in 56 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fun environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun company with a relaxed culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - E-Commerce Intern in Egg Harbor Township, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment full of great people. I worked at the Spencer's / Spirit Halloween headquarters as an intern during the summer of 2018, and it was the best summer of my life. The people are so kind, and the culture was relaxed and fun. I was given meaningful work, too, which also contributed to my experience.

    Cons

    I did not have any bad experiences during my time with the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Spencer Gifts2019-05-30
  2. "Shady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Discount. Opportunities to work with Spirit Halloween seasonally.

    Cons

    Managers had friendships outside of work making things very unfair while working. If you were a sales associate you got maybe 12-20 hours a week.

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Part time job to a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Eatontown, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short hours, fun environment, 30-40% discount, no dress code

    Cons

    Short hours, little chance of moving up in the company, clientele can sometimes be unwanted

    Spencer Gifts2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The store is a fun environment.

    Cons

    Terrible pay. No benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when they complain about upper management.

    Spencer Gifts2019-03-20
  5. "Good holiday job in high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Quincy, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fun environment, interesting stock

    Cons

    Minimum wage, seasonal work, watching kids walk out with stolen stuff and not being able to do anything about it.

    Advice to Management

    System works well, shoplifting is out of control.

    Spencer Gifts2019-03-12
  6. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Great Falls, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun environment with great leadership.

    Cons

    Can get stuck in a position depending on location. Sometimes no room to grow.

    Spencer Gifts2019-02-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts, fun environment, well structured, opportunities for growth, very customer (aka guest) focused

    Cons

    Low pay for management positions, groups of teenagers and college students flooding to the back of the store. High theft, seasonal staffing can be a major challenge in higher volume stores due to volume and workload.

    Advice to Management

    The company should invest more into store security measures like adding sensors and increase payroll when and where it makes sense. Livable wages are essential to hiring and keeping good people. Corporate communications can be confusing, unreliable and unorganized. Very hard to get rid of bad management but too easy to be unnecessary disciplined over technicalities when the wrong people are involved. Value your associates more. Even the employees working 8 hours a week can do wonders for a store when they are taken care of.

    Show More
    Spencer Gifts2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Aiea, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun environment, great product, you can be yourself and feel comfortable coming to work everyday.

    Cons

    Just wished the AM could get paid a little more. I'm always afraid my amazing AM will leave and go somewhere else and get paid more, cause he is worth it.

    Advice to Management

    None, keep up the good work. Everything works like a well oiled machine!! If the right management team is utilizing all the tools given by corporate, you can't lose when you run your own store. I read all these negative comments about Spencer's and it's saddens me. In my store , I make sure everyone is happy, from my staff to my customers!!! Spencer's is a great place to work and has always treated me like I mattered. Thank you!!!

    Show More
    Spencer Gifts2019-01-12
  9. "Great and fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Freehold, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, Friendly co-workers, Relaxed dress code, Interactive promotions for customers

    Cons

    Minimum wage for new employees, Part time shifts

    Spencer Gifts2019-01-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "ASM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, fun environment and ability to move up.

    Cons

    Constantly having to do floor plan changes

    Spencer Gifts2018-12-10
Found 80 reviews