Cover image for Spiceworks Ziff Davis
Logo

Spiceworks Ziff Davis

Part of Ziff Davis
Engaged Employer

Spiceworks Ziff Davis

Add a Review

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Aug 21, 2020

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 224 of over 225 reviews
3.6
62% Recommend to a Friend
68% Approve of CEO

Found 15 of over 225 reviews

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks Ziff Davis President Steve Horowitz (no image)
Steve Horowitz
41 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

634.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Spiceworks Ziff Davis~324872
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Spiceworks Ziff Davis? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Spiceworks Ziff Davis employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Things are changing - and not for the better

    Jul 4, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people A reasonable amount of free food (although that's definitely declined in volume). Hugely stocked kitchen with snacks, basics, keurigs, and drinks - it really is great. Free breakfast twice a week. Nice new office. Fully paid benefits for yourself.

    Cons

    Things have changed since Scott stepped away from the CEO position. With new senior management has come many obvious changes to the company and those changes are maybe not for the best. This seems to be manifesting itself in the following ways: - A lot of senior management - like been with the company since the beginning senior - have left over the last year.... - Recent mass layoffs - 12% of the entire workforce was just let go. - Much more rapid and frequent restructuring and direction changes. - Management are becoming MUCH less transparent than they used to be, although to be fair they are still much more transparent than most companies - but there is seemingly a lot more closed door shadiness that is entering what was once a hyper-transparent open door workplace. - Location is not great - 360 traffic is horrendous. - Well below market compensation. If you are looking for a booming startup tech company in Austin, Spiceworks WAS it - about 3 years ago - now I think it's time to look elsewhere for greener pastures and a company that has a business model and management team that are going to get it done.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Inflated ego and lack of diversity

    Jul 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regular start up perks like free food and booze

    Cons

    The main job of everyone there is to love spiceworks. Constantly brag about how great it is. Not all the leadership is well informed, which is why it is so difficult to get things done correctly or at all. When your boss doesn't know what they are looking for and cannot explain what needs to be accomplished how are you going to know what you are doing? This didnt seem to be a problem as long as everyone was just in love with Spicerex. If they spent more time paying attention to the work and not just the brand, they probably wouldn't have had to layoff so many people. The other glaring issue is how few minorities work there and how hard it is to fit in if you are not a over privileged white person. The parking garage has tons of upscale expensive cars and almost every group of new hires is almost exclusively white. While I know this is Austin and just comes with working in tech in most cases, having a bad manager and not having much in common with coworkers makes for a tense experience.

    12 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Spiceworks Ziff Davis team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Had so much promise, fell way short

    Jul 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people you work with are fantastic. They really do a great job of hiring great people. I've never had a problem working with anyone here, regardless of their department or role. There is plenty of free food, a beautiful office and plenty of office activities.

    Cons

    Spiceworks had long been regarded as a top place to work. Now, it's like the company is broken. Senior management and executives never seem to know what we're working towards. There really isn't any concrete product vision that makes you feel like your job will be safe. They recently laid off 12% of the company due to a change in direction. Unfortunately, they are still trying to figure out what that direction is. Since the layoffs, I've yet to be in a meeting where everyone knew what we were working towards, and even what role they played. Most people here have no idea anymore what they are responsible for. Additionally, as others have mentioned, the comp is below average. The health insurance is average at best, and the 401k doesn't have matching.

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great culture and fun environment, growing very very very quickly

    Dec 18, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great perks - Free beer, snacks, food - casual environment - flexible schedule - friendly and social culture - transparent executive management with regards to finances and goals

    Cons

    - head count growth is very rapid - mentorship is low - lots of cheerleading - lower than average pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Career Move

    Dec 12, 2014 - Sales in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I didn't think it was possible to work somewhere where EVERYONE was lovely, but I've truly found it. You can ask ten thousand questions and that's ok! Get a lot of free lunches, very good food too. When it's your birthday they order you tiff's treats (cookies!). Incredible managers who will help anyway they can, and a company culture that is so positive. Interviewed at a couple different places in Austin and this was by far the best.

    Cons

    Wish it was located downtown, but that's my fault for not choosing to live close to my job.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    It's OK

    Jun 12, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of free food, for example, Taco Mondays, Bagel Fridays and snacks galore. It seems they give raises when deserved but that also probably depends on the department. The work can be challenging and I'm encouraged to push myself outside of my comfort zone.

    Cons

    It's cliquey and the layout of the building segregates the departments so it's hard to meet people. Sales gets the most perks and other teams associated with them kind of slip through the cracks in terms of rewards and recognition. If you're in sales, it's a great gig. We usually have more work than we can handle which can be stressful.

    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great company, good talent

    Nov 10, 2015 - Anonymous Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's an air of fun in the culture. Good bit of free food & some decent perks.

    Cons

    To be quite frank, the talent isn't quite as great as some of the other places that I've worked at. I believe their hiring standards are rising, but at the time, I didn't feel as compelled to learn from my coworkers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Everything is changing

    Jul 15, 2016 -  in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Nice office. -Free food. -Great people. -Good health insurance.

    Cons

    -No 401k matching. -Terrible PTO. -Things have been trending the wrong direction since Scott left. -Lost many friends to layoffs. -Average pay. -Constantly asked to take surveys to make company look good. -Long commute to work. -No longer transparent with its employees.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Red Flags for new Sales recruits

    Nov 5, 2014 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very little work, lots of free drinking, two hour plus lunches, come late leave early encouraged, lots of fun party music playing around the clock, drinking, expense accounts, paid days off for company events. Training takes 3 weeks and requires nothing from either the trainers or trainees, just enjoy the ride. Drinking alcohol while at work. No boundaries between management-team (you can be best friends!). SW reminds me of college--not a compliment. The dress code, rush for free food, consistent party atmosphere and misguided pretension its very much a college mindset. If you just graduated and arent quite ready to work for a living or add value to anything more than just intrusive web advertisements this is a great place to get a year of experience or so.

    Cons

    Founders have stated that revenue from advertisements won't get this company into the black--yet ad sales are all you can as a new sales recruit. There are 90 reps across the world vying for 500 possible accounts. You will not hit quota. Basically ignored during training-on boarding-initial quarter ramp-not held accountable for anything You will leave here with zero viable experience. As an Inside Rep you will not be managing six figure ad buys. You will prospect, demo products and hang out. Sales Managers are often offensive, shockingly crude, sexist and idiotic. Grow up gents, you're adults and there is no reason to act like this in your careers.

    Continue reading
    28 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent people, great work environment

    Aug 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall great company to work for in Hyderabad. It has recently started its operation in Hyderabad in 2019. Modern tech stack Great resources and tools Global mindset Generous perks and outings Open work culture, less hierarchy Great Benefits and salary Flexible work hours Free food Cool office Care for growth and learning Working from home Understanding leadership, smart team and caring people MacBook for engineering team Start-up like nature yet part of the big multinational group

    Cons

    Little uncertainty in the direction

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Spiceworks Ziff Davis Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Spiceworks Ziff Davis? Share Your Experiences

Spiceworks Ziff Davis logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Photos

+ Add Photo
Spiceworks Ziff Davis photo of: WFH Collage
Spiceworks Ziff Davis photo of: Lunch and Learn
Spiceworks Ziff Davis photo of: Team Lunch
Spiceworks Ziff Davis photo of: Onboarding Day, Welcome kit
Spiceworks Ziff Davis photo of: Team outing
Spiceworks Ziff Davis photo of: Dinner with the leaders
Spiceworks Ziff Davis photo of: The clear winner is...
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Ziff Davis, LLCJ2 Global, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Job Seekers Also Viewed

Vrbo Logo
Vrbo

3.6

813 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 225 Spiceworks Ziff Davis reviews submitted anonymously by Spiceworks Ziff Davis employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Spiceworks Ziff Davis is right for you.