Spireon "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Spireon Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Spireon CEO Kevin Weiss
Kevin Weiss
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun things going on all the time, great people, free food and drinks(in 11 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "If upper management likes you, you'll get special lists to call, otherwise you'll get the overcalled list with few results(in 10 reviews)

  • "More proof they want sales sales sales but no one to support the account(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Headed in the Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spireon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The experience I've been provided at Spireon has been second to none. In the time I have been here, I have learned lots from the mentors in my team and have had multiple opportunities to get involved in cross-functional teams to gain exposure across the company. Upper management and HR is creating new initiatives and encouraging vertical communication to develop a culture of positivity and productivity.

    Cons

    I haven't personally experienced too many negatives during my time here. I've heard about grievances from other employees, but upper management and HR are listening and taking the right steps to take Spireon to the next level.

    Continue reading
    Spireon2017-05-18
  2. Helpful (7)

    "shellgame"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spireon full-time

    Pros

    great amount of energy on the floor

    Cons

    Very cutthroat. If upper management likes you, you'll get special lists to call, otherwise you'll get the overcalled list with few results. They encourage self prospecting but don't bet on that helping you. I hope that this is not taken the wrong way but struck by the number of minorities on the floor as well as good ol' boys. I can only speculate that upper management believes that these are the types needed to sell gps tracking to fleet managers and blue collar owners of oil companies, landscaping, trucking and such. Other types may not do so well. If you are one of the elect, you get to do a lot of gold bricking on the floor. I noticed employees who never seemed to spend too much time on the phone yet were retained. They must have had the better list--you know, Glengarry Glen Ross. Plus, the floor is flooded with lots of callers--in a saturated market. Beware and good luck.

    Spireon2018-12-10

    Spireon Response

    March 2, 2019CEO

    We appreciate your feedback and perspective. As you are aware, we rebuilt our sales organization in 2017 from the ground up to serve the fast-paced world of Fleet Management. This market is under-penetrated and growing rapidly. Our goal is to arm our sales team with the required tools and training necessary to operate in a competitive world. While we are in the early stages of this journey, our results are proving that we are on the right track. At Spireon, we are committed to successfully growing this segment of our business. We are an Equal Opportunity Employer and we value diversity in our workplace. Our hiring process is simple, to find the best candidate for the job regardless of race, gender, or age.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of Integrity; Limited Career Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spireon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits and depending on which department you work in, good work life balance. There are a lot of amazingly talented people throughout the company.

    Cons

    The lack of integrity is more deeply rooted than simply referring to people's honesty. The people of Spireon are truly its one significant Pros! With all the chaos of new management coming in, most mid and upper management live in one state of fear or another. All reporting and facts of the company are sugar coated. Everyone is trying to look out for themselves (understandably so) so everything is positioned to make themselves, their team, and the company state better than it really is. As a result, the company is constantly chasing its own tail in this never ending cycle of only trying to fix the surface level problems. No one seems willing to take any chances or risks that are going to be necessary to fix the deep, underlining problems which is causing the entire culture there to die. When deep rooted problems are brought to light, there is a LOT of talk, and not much else. This has resulted in a lot of amazing people walking out the door. In turn, every department is doing too much with too few people. Unrealistic deadlines are the norm. Again, people are looking out for themselves, not customer needs, and definitely not the employees needs. Decisions are made solely based on what looks good on paper. So if you are looking for a long-term career path, this probably isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Spireon2017-05-20

    Spireon Response

    June 22, 2017CEO

    Thank you for your comments. I want to address the concerns that you shared around listening to people and career development. As was stated in the company meeting the last two months we are instituting formal career development for all employees. We are looking to ensure that every employee has a chance for development - whether that is taking additional classes, working in new areas, or taking on more responsibility. Promoting and growing from within is a priority. As for listening to our employees, I can't agree with you more. The roundtables these last several months have given us a roadmap for things that can be improved across the entire business. We are committed to addressing them all and the monthly meetings will be the public forum to report on our progress. Finally, I agree with you that there are a lot of amazingly talented people here. The industry we participate in is dynamic and the opportunities are endless. Our success is a result of our employees, not who our owner is. Thanks again for your comments. Kevin

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spireon full-time

    Pros

    Happening Technology Good Products Talented workers No Other Pros

    Cons

    Lots of Nepotism Bad Upper Management

    Spireon2017-05-01
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Stepping stone job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spireon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and friendly people that work at this location. Direct management at this location is helpful and as supportive as possible.

    Cons

    Located thousands of miles away from corporate and treated that way. Completely separated from all information, updates, and support. Management at this location is helpful, but completely overworked and receives very little support as well, it is obvious management here is overworked under paid and stressted out creating a harder working environment. You will spend more time justifying and fighting upper management for the commission you earned than selling. The stipulations and quotes are way over the top and there will be many months that you do not receive compensation for your work because you have not hit their extreme minimums. The office is falling apart, constantly needing matainence that rarely comes, bugs, rodents, and electrical problems, we got it. There used to be quadruple the size of staff in the office now the medium size office is down to under 10 employees. Overall from what I can tell if you want to work for spireon work at the corporate office in CA or do not work here at all.

    Continue reading
    Spireon2016-05-02
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Corporate America at its worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Spireon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Let's move to the Con's

    Cons

    I couldn't agree more with some of the other reviewer's sentiments on the upper management at Spireon. The upper management at Spireon has very questionable and unethical practices with a HR department that supports it. Firing of employees is done on a regular basis due to petty corporate politics. I have personally witnessed hard working, dedicated, well regarded employees being fired due to corporate politics and not towing line with Engineering Management. The core values are a big joke and there is no regard for human capital at this company. By far Spireon is the worst employer I have worked with in Orange County with its deceiving ways, upper management with very questionable practices and very poor work life balance. The other big con at this company is very poor planning and project management. The company wastes 3 days in SAFe planning most of which is planned is not delivered. Wonderful! The Engineering teams are very disorganized and poorly managed with too may conflicting priorities. The offshore development work has very little oversight and lacks quality focus.

    Continue reading
    Spireon2015-11-09
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Pretty good time to work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spireon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Momentum is picking up. The culture over the last year has vastly improved. There were some external influences creating a less than desirable environment. There’s a ton of very productive collaboration going on. As a technologist, the opportunities to acquire and leverage new skills abound. There's some technical challenges to work though- mostly around transitioning from legacy systems, but overall it’s a very fun time to be here.

    Cons

    The company is growing very fast, there’s a lot to be done and upper management is being very creative with ways to assign multiple #1 priorities. The Product Management group is maturing slowly- getting and keeping a workable plan is more painful than in needs to be.

    Continue reading
    Spireon2015-07-16
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Disapointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spireon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My immediate supervisor was accomadating to scheduling/ working from home.

    Cons

    There was no accountability in my department. Spireon is a family business trying to be a real company. The culture is one where there is little trust or incentive to work together. Upper management pits employees against each other and rewards underminded behavior in the sales force. When I was hired in November 2011, I was promised a substantial raise. In the almost 3 years I was there, I took 2 paycuts despite excellent performance and reviews. Ultimately, this is why I left. Employees in offices outside the corp headquaters are treated like step children and I would advise anyone interviewing for this company to beware!

    Continue reading
    Spireon2014-07-24

    Spireon Response

    November 24, 2014President - Fleet

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry you feel the way you do about our organization, however, your description is inconsistent with the sentiment of the other employees in Knoxville. Spireon offers a stable and collaborative work environment as evidenced by our very positive employee engagement survey and the fact that we have low turnover (historically well under 10 percent annually). Many of our employees have been with us over five years, and several, more than 12 years. The team has a very positive attitude (as evidence that over 88 percent take pride in our company) and continually work together to support our strong growth. Our employees enjoy a team approach to servicing our customers and I have found the company to be competitive with its compensation packages. Our employees feel our recognition and reward programs align to our values and are seen positively (72 percent feel very positive about our programs). We are always striving to do better and to be our customer’s guide. This is one of the formulas that has allowed Spireon to grow (even through the recessions) and continue to hire the finest employees in our industry when other companies were downsizing and laying people off. As a national company with many locations, it can sometimes feel challenging to stay connected. However, we make a concerted effort to foster a cohesive virtual environment for our employees. We solicit feedback, share best practices and promote ongoing communications locally and across the enterprise in programs led by our CEO, senior management and business divisions. In the end, we are one Spireon team. Again, we are sorry our company and culture was not the right fit for you, and we wish you the best going forward.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Cons outweigh the Pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spireon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As an employee, you will have the opportunity to contribute in the growth phase of this company. The market still has many competitors and I think many agree that the market itself hasn't stopped growing. Benefits pretty good, and occasionally the company will do nice things for their employees. (ie. events, lunches, etc.)

    Cons

    In my opinion there are three big negatives of working here, all of which directly relate to the company's future livelihood. 1. Management: More focus is placed on titles and authority than on leadership. In the middle of 2013, many long-time execs were given the boot and replaced with, I hate to say it, some really poor choices. Management mentality is more or less a mixed message of: you are expendable, you are expendable, we need you so please work hard. 2. The product (present and future): Spireon is currently a leader in their field in terms of buy here pay here gps, but continues to struggle when it comes to fleet or their M2M Platform. Most of upper management focus on price per unit, revenue, operating expense, which are all relevant things, but unfortunately this is at the expense of the product and customer experience. Think of it like a hook, line, and sinker. They want to acquire customers with great marketing for a mediocre product, and then hope they keep buying. The M2M platform is mostly vapor ware. You will hear lots of impressive talk about entering other industries, etc, but it largely doesn't exist. 3. Human Resources: Their human resources department is, in my opinion, a big enough reason in itself to stay away form this company. Many times, requests were put in for various things such as employee paperwork, etc with no response and no one seems to know if they are on vacation or simply not answering emails. But, by and large, the worst part is that the HR department acts as a secret police if you will; secretly interviewing coworkers about other employees, seeking out information about what other employees do outside of work, etc. There's not enough room to explain here, but it creates a predatory environment where employees feel like any move they make may be prosecuted. Not a whole lot of fun.

    Continue reading
    Spireon2014-06-11
  10. Helpful (8)

    "A downhill ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spireon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most of the employees are OK to work with, paycheck comes in on time. The building has a nice open feel with a decent kitchen and workout area.

    Cons

    Tons of incompetence in 50 different directions. No support from upper management. No bonuses paid out for several years. I saw one of the most competent designers let go because of a personal disagreement with his manager.

    Spireon2014-04-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews