Spirit Airlines Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Spirit Airlines President and CEO Ted Christie
Ted Christie
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Quality of life, flight benefits(in 58 reviews)

  • "The health benefits & travel benefits are amazing and can’t be beat(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other airlines(in 22 reviews)

  • "Cheap tickets mean cheap passengers(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Outstanding management that cares about its people profoundly.

      Oct 29, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The leadership at spirit is some of the best I have ever experienced or heard about. I have mostly interacted with leadership in the training department to be more specific. I know, without a doubt, our skillset as instructors is valued highly by our leadership. These are the kind of bosses that make you WANT to work effectively and efficiently. They supplement professional development and set you up for success. Spirit often talks about making customers into 'super fans' but the real secret is that they care for us so much, that we become 'super fans' and this leads to a great service/product for the customer. They invest in their people heavily. Also communication from execs to the lowest level and everywhere in-between, is great!

      Cons

      Airline job security. The industry fluctuates but you will find this at ANY airline. However, at spirit, this is much less of a worry.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for the great review, Spirit SuperFan! You are right that we are committed to creating great experiences for both our Team Members and our Guests, and we are happy to hear that you are enjoying your journey with us. Together we will deliver the best value in the sky and be the most successful airline on Earth!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Flexible for an FA position

      May 12, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I feel like you get the most amount of free time compared to other airlines and better pay to start

      Cons

      You don't always get the best passengers and crew scheduling doesn't always know what they're doing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best Culture

      May 12, 2021 - Senior Manager Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has the best Culture in the business. It's people are the essence of the Company.

      Cons

      No comments for this section.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to creating great experiences for both our Team Members and our Guests, and are happy to hear that you are enjoying your journey with us!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Flexibility

      May 7, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, great travel and health benefits.

      Cons

      Uniform material need changing, allow first come first serve when picking up trips from FLICA. Don’t base on seniority

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on making Spirit a great place to work and your feedback will help us.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      QOL-Centric Airline

      Apr 26, 2021 - Pilot in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Industry leading contract with very flexible schedule and strong soft pay opportunities. (Can drop schedule completely to zero when grid is green) 2. Quickly growing company (seniority, planes, routes, equipment, authorizations) 3. Crews are fun to work with (by design). 4. Quick upgrade ~3yrs 5. Pay raises on the horizon (2021-2022) then new contract negotiations.

      Cons

      1. Pay is less than some legacy carriers (offsetted by great QOL features in contract so “con” is subjective”) 2. ? Not much else. Great place to work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for the awesome review. We love hearing from members of our Spirit Family so we can continually improve and keep doing what we do best. Thanks for all that you do to make Spirit the most successful airline on Earth!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent

      May 11, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Low pay for new hire

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for the great review and for helping us to deliver the best value in the sky and be the most successful airline on Earth!

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall not a bad place to work

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So much work you can barely keep up, great opportunities to learn if you're willing to put in the time and work. Some great teams and people too. The benefits and pay are good.

      Cons

      Work-life balance is non-existent at times. Growing opportunities for very few who want to play politics or who are part of the "boys club." No room for growth essentially.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you want to be based in LAS, ORD, DTW, DFW, MCO, FLL, or ACY, work here!

      Apr 27, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fastest growing, safest, pick your base, minimal reserve years.

      Cons

      If you don’t look good in black and yellow, you may not want to work here... lol!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for the awesome feedback. We are committed to creating great experiences for both our Team Members and our Guests, and are happy to hear that you are enjoying your journey with us! Thank you for helping us deliver the best value in the sky.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good to learn the industry. Bad for long term employment.

      May 11, 2021 - Ramp Service Agent in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flight benefits, plenty of over time, shift trades.

      Cons

      Low and uncompetitive pay rate, poor communication with management, very high turn over rate which results in agents being consistently over worked, mandatory overtime is constantly posted

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Best job ever

      Apr 26, 2021 - Flight Atendant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flight benefits and flexible schedule

      Cons

      Great company to work for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 547 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Spirit Airlines Job Seekers

    Flight Attendant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Pricing and Revenue Management Analyst
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Spirit Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Spirit Airlines logo
    or