Spiritbank Reviews | Glassdoor

Spiritbank Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Spiritbank President/CEO Rick Harper (no image)
Rick Harper
3 Ratings
  1. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Bristow, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiritbank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very great people and environment. They feel like family

    Cons

    There are really no downsides to working at spiritbank. Lots of opportunity to move up and make more money

    Spiritbank2017-02-21
  2. "Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BSA Analyst in Sapulpa, OK
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spiritbank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Community/family feel Adequate pay and benefits

    Cons

    Unstable position, good old boy system

    Advice to Management

    Survived major layoffs in 2014, only to be let go by a boss who needed someone to take the fall. HR disagreed with the decision to let me go but it happened anyway.

    Spiritbank2019-11-28
  3. "Good start bad long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tulsa, OK
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spiritbank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They took a chance on me when I had no banking experience. I was able to pass the barrier and get past entry level which is hard to do in banking. Management became too worried about inappropriate things and the bank took a nose dive after Tracy Kelly passed. Hopefully the new management will get the bank back to where it once was.

    Cons

    Multiple layoffs, inappropriate relationships became the culture, pay below industry standards

    Advice to Management

    Value your people that have stuck with you through the hard times. You have the potential to be great again.

    Spiritbank2018-04-25
  4. "Branch Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiritbank

    Pros

    Local, family-owned, cares about the community

    Cons

    Too small, no advancement, no movement, likes to keep the wrong people in the wrong positions

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Spiritbank2017-05-24
  5. "Anything but honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spiritbank full-time

    Pros

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Cons

    Cheap. Mgmt collected the money while rank and file weren't paid well. Lots of drama and lies about what was going on. While they said you were part of a family, the only family this organization cares about is the founding family.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the bank and get out of the space.

    Spiritbank2017-06-27
  6. "Branch Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiritbank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family feel, flexibility with school schedule, customer focused

    Cons

    Little growth... not much else

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Spiritbank2017-01-13
  7. "Family banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spiritbank

    Pros

    Small town bank that grew larger, nice working environment

    Cons

    Family owned / operated, difficult move up potential unless family friends or related

    Spiritbank2016-10-20
  8. "Credit analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Credit Analyst Assistant Vice President in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Spiritbank for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall good people, challenging job. Good training

    Cons

    Unhealthy work environment caused by upper management

    Advice to Management

    Replace certain upper management with people who judge their people based on actual job performance

    Spiritbank2016-10-20
  9. "Easy but stagnant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Spiritbank

    Pros

    While in college, it was a great place with flexible hours so I could work full time but still have time for school work.

    Cons

    Empty promises of promotion. I worked full time and was available any time I was asked to come in. I studied and learned what was deemed "necessary" skills to move into higher positions, only to be told that "it couldn't happen at this time."

    Spiritbank2016-09-15
  10. "Doesn't care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Spiritbank full-time

    Pros

    Initially the bank was a great place to work, but then came the budget cuts.

    Cons

    Focused on how the outside world views the bank and not interested in rewarding employees or investing in facilities

    Spiritbank2014-07-22
Found 10 reviews