Spokeo "catered lunches" Reviews | Glassdoor

Spokeo Employee Reviews about "catered lunches"

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Spokeo CEO Harrison Tang  (no image)
Harrison Tang
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people, good culture, catered lunches(in 20 reviews)

  • "There's free lunch here and they pay for your free conference every year(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "No standardized work from home policy(in 6 reviews)

  • "The customer care department is actually a loss prevention department(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "catered lunches"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen, catered lunches, themed rooms and teams, great supportive staff, friendly environment, room for advance

    Cons

    None none none none and absolutely none

    Spokeo2019-05-18

    Spokeo Response

    May 22, 2019Director of Customer Care

    We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you feel supported and well fed here at Spokeo! Creating a positive dynamic and investing in employee growth are key initiatives for the future as we continue to offer ongoing training and coaching to add value to your work at Spokeo and beyond. Thank you for your contributions to the Spokeo team!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Join a sinking ship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo full-time

    Pros

    Pros? - Yes, there is free snacks (but its all junk food) - Yes, there is catered lunches, but due to budget its also very unhealthy. - Yes, there is a foosball and ping pong table (just don’t spend “too much” time using them). - Yes, there are team outings and forced fun such as hack-a-thons, games and annual Christmas parties, etc. Real Pros? - The pay. They pay VERY WELL because its so hard to keep talent. - The culture team. God bless them, they do an incredible job of trying to make the best of an incredibly bleak situation. - People. There are some incredibly smart and talented people that have ended up here, unfortunately they are the ones who do not get acknowledged or respected.

    Cons

    Up until this point in my career I had never experienced any hint of nepotism or sexism…so I had a really hard time coming to terms with the fact that not only is it a real issue at this company, its a HUGE problem that runs RAMPANT. At the end of the day this is a family run business. The managers are married to people in the c-suite, c-suite's best friends run departments, there are friends, cousins, siblings and more, and they will ALL be prioritized over you. As much as it pains me to say it, the sexism affects everything, be prepared to have people with many years less experience manage you, for bizarre requests that go against best practices to pop up, for your education and experience to be questioned daily, for you to be relentlessly micromanaged, and lastly for your presence to barely be acknowledged and your work discounted and ignored. On top of everything, the technology is not proprietary, is not innovative, is not accurate and the space is extremely competitive. People search is a dying industry and the numbers month-over-month prove it. With all the concerns around privacy I can not imagine this industry surviving the next 5 years. For a company that has been around for over 10+ years there is a general cluelessness that is truly mind boggling. From the basics of running a business, to common curtesy and professionalism, to best practices in ANY department, to interpreting analytics and data, to how customers are respected and treated. The way this company treats its customers is shameful. A company who admits their best customers are the "ones who forget they have the membership" or "pass away and we are able to charge their cards for a couple more months" In short, RUN... Run like there is a herd of elephants, with a 50ft avalanche on their heels, and the eruption of Mount Vesuvius right behind that...AWAY from this place.

    Continue reading
    Spokeo2018-09-20

    Spokeo Response

    October 7, 2018CEO

    We are sorry to hear that your experience at Spokeo was not consistent with the principles on which the company was founded and the standards we strive to uphold today. We do not tolerate sexism, racism, or any form of unlawful discrimination. With respect to witnessing any element of sexism, we have constantly encouraged anyone to take any such concern to one’s manager or Spokeo’s HR team member as outlined in Spokeo’s employee handbook. Tolerance and comradery are pillars of the culture at Spokeo. Our 200 or so fellow staff members come from a variety of backgrounds and disciplines and run various programs, teams, and organizational functions. Everyone is included and works together here at Spokeo. We couldn’t have accomplished our success and recognition in the industry without the contributions of the talented people who have joined Spokeo over the years. 8% of searches online are about people’s names, and the industry generates billions of dollars of revenue a year. To continue to lead in this huge market, we have to move at a fast pace, including keeping up with legal changes, and be focused on customer satisfaction. We continue to invest millions of dollars per year in evolving and improving our product features to provide our customers with a service that uses data to make the world around them more transparent. At the end, we feel our hundreds of thousands of subscribers and tens of millions of users deserve nothing less.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (27)

    "Don't be fooled by the "work perks" in this incredibly nepotistic and toxic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo full-time

    Pros

    Catered lunch, 401k, medical benefits, and unlimited snacks

    Cons

    Spokeo may look like a hip startup at first, but don't be fooled by the "perks" that they offer. There's a reason why Spokeo has more people in their "Culture team" than in some product teams. They have to try hard to make it appear as if the company actually cares for its employees by organizing events and having random treats for employees from time to time. Employees in all departments are leaving so fast they can barely fill up the vacant positions that are open and that's a big red flag. The company has no real direction in terms of what they want to do with their products. Prepare to spend years (if you can tolerate these people for that long) wasting time building things that you know could be better but will never be. Everything is highly disorganized, and team leads focus more on trying to please the founders instead of listening to valid suggestions and recommendations from their teams. There's no real focus on how to make their products better in and out, no real efforts to do user research and do some real analytics. Everything is based on the whims of the CEO (who wants to put cute things on everything even if it's inappropriate) and the incredibly incompetent but power-hungry wife of the CTO. The founders, especially the CTO, have convinced themselves that they are the best and everyone else's ideas and methods are inferior compared to theirs. There's no upward mobility in Spokeo unless you have a relationship with the founders either by blood or marriage. If you're either of those, then expect to go from being intern to having a leadership position in a short amount of time, regardless of how grossly incompetent you are. If you don't have any connections to the founders, then you're out of luck.

    Continue reading
    Spokeo2018-02-01

    Spokeo Response

    March 13, 2018Spokeo

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Spokeo is focused on helping make the world around you more transparent. We’re proud that we have served millions of customers in connecting and protecting themselves. Spokeo has been the key to bringing families and friends together and helping keep them safe for years. The next few months at Spokeo will be extremely exciting as we are introducing new products and improvements that have been in the works for a long time. These innovations in the people search industry will help us continue to make the world more transparent for our customers, and grow Spokeo into a daily tool for helping them navigate their social worlds.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Stay for the free lunch, leave for everything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch, company sponsored parties

    Cons

    Pay, stressful work enviornment, incompentent middle manage

    Spokeo2017-09-28

    Spokeo Response

    September 28, 2017Spokeo

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Spokeo leadership doesn't take negative feedback lightly. We are sorry to hear that your experience at Spokeo doesn't reflect the one we hope for every employee to enjoy here. We strive to provide our management team and leaders with the skills and training necessary to create a fun, productive and innovative work environment. We feel we've grown in this space, but will always aim to continue improving.

    Continue reading
  5. "REVIEW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch, benefits paid by the company. Family functions

    Cons

    none that I can think of at the moment

    Spokeo2017-08-30

    Spokeo Response

    September 25, 2017Spokeo

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your tenure at Spokeo! We are proud to have an environment that fosters collaboration, innovation, and fun.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Nepotism. Favoritism. Toxic Environment. Retaliation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo

    Pros

    - Culture team works hard to do what they can to counteract the toxic environment created by the Founders. Therefore, great catered lunches, themed celebrations, monthly food perks, great parties, awesome decorated meeting rooms. - Talented and sharp leadership reporting into the Founders. Top-notch, experienced leaders from impressive companies hired to run departments. However, the Founders won’t allow the leaders to lead, as they don’t trust that anyone could know more than them. - Excellent health benefits. - Casual dress work environment.

    Cons

    - Lawsuit-riddled company due to shady business practices, and horrible decision making at the CEO and Founder level. Lawsuits from customers, as well as outcasted co-founder (on the ground of retaliation from other co-founders), in addition to a very public Supreme Court case. - Extreme and blatant nepotism. There is a minefield of personal relationships to the Founders that you have to uncover when you work here. Those that are personal friends, relatives through blood and marriage, and early employees make up what people refer to as the “inner circle”. The “inner circle” bullies their way through the company, treating people in poor ways, some of them even proudly refusing to do work, but the Founders will turn a blind eye and even tell those trying to manage them that these employees are allowed to act that way because they have been here longer and they want to repay them for staying with them this long. And if any one person in the inner circle decides they don’t like you (usually because you shine a lot on their bullying), then the rest of the circle decides that you are on the black list and treat you as such. - Retaliation form the Founders that you can never recover from if you “whistleblow” on any of the unprofessional behaviors of the inner circle, or if you dare disagree with any of the Founders’ ideas on development, product, design, culture, you name it. Think you can get back in their good graces by working hard, putting in long hours, doing well at your job, and having a good attitude? Nope. You’ve sealed your fate for as long as you are at Spokeo. - Because the Founders don’t trust anyone to do their jobs, there is a dog-eat-dog culture created from the top down, where people are just looking for a pat on the back and will sacrifice their peers or subordinates to get those accolades. This creates an incredibly toxic environment where people are constantly worried if they are going to get fired, where they hear gossip that the Founders are telling others about them, and where everyone sees each other as competition instead of community. - Micromanagement due to Founder arrogance. Super talented people work at Spokeo yet none of them are able to fully do their jobs since the Founders think they know better than any subject matter expert, and therefore micromanage the employees. And if you go against them, prepare for the retaliation (see point above). So even the most talented people become disengaged and disenchanted to survive in their role. They give up on their own ideas, follow the direction of the Founders out of fear of retaliation, and then suffer through the blame that lands on them when the results of the Founders’ ideas are not successful. No one will speak up out of fear of retaliation. - False advertising of the job. It’s easy to get mesmerized by the promise of great culture, “flexible” hours, and a twice a year review cycle that could result in continual raises. The culture team tries to create a great culture, but they are only able to change the secondary culture. The job and core company culture is what needs fixing. No amount of parties or perks will make that okay. The flexible work hours mean that you are told you can come in at different times as long as you work your 8 hours. What they don’t tell you is that you are offered flexible work hours, but if you take advantage of them you are screwed. Come in earlier so that you can leave earlier? They will talk about how you leave too early. And ONLY worked 8 hours. But if you come in super late and leave super late, and barely work 8 hours? Rockstar. Go for a lunch that is a little too long, or leave during the day for a doctor’s appointment, or dare ask to work from home? Get ready to be talked about. And the twice a year reviews with promises of raises, and assurances that your low starting pay will be fixed during those times? Not going to happen unless you find a way to get yourself into the inner circle.

    Continue reading
    Spokeo2017-01-31
  7. Helpful (11)

    "TL;DR - Would Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo full-time

    Pros

    Pros: - Great perks, amazing insurance benefits. - Fully stocked kitchen with a plethora of snacks and drinks, daily catered lunches, lots of company sponsored events.
 - You will never, ever find another workplace culture as relaxed as this one.

    Cons

    The Product and the Business Model - Is it a people search? A mobile caller ID app? A family tree making project? A source to append missing social data? Half of the people working here don’t believe that Spokeo actually helps reunite anyone, and none of Spokeo’s ideas are original. Rather, they appear to be an amalgamation of multiple companies that already exist. - Just like other reviews have stated, the billing practices that Spokeo utilizes is deceitful and completely user-unfriendly. The Founders and higher ups need to sit down with Customer Care and listen to the calls that come in from customers who have been duped into paying unconscionable amounts of money for monthly subscriptions or upsells they weren't aware they even signed up for. - "Is He Cheating on You?" This marketing tactic and tagline ethically fails beyond all measure. It is inconceivable how one would uncover if their significant other was cheating on them by simply searching an email or username. All that would return (if anything, due to Spokeo's terrible data quality) would be social media accounts and photos--which the user would likely already know about. This marketing scheme preys on unsuspecting individuals who aren't tech-savvy, but are desperate for answers. This is but one of the many horrendous marketing strategies Spokeo employs. The Culture Blatant Favoritism: - No matter how hard you work, don't expect any type of recognition, acceptable raise, or promotion, unless you obsequiously brown-nose your way to the top. You can be an employee who has worked here for years, but if you refuse to play into the politics, or suck up to your boss(es), then forget about ever advancing your career. 
 - "The Inner Circle”: spouses, siblings, old friends, employees who have been working at Spokeo from the beginning--all get special treatment and essentially run this company. They lead or manage projects without having the proper qualifications expected of an outside hire and are even allowed by The Founders to come back and hang out at the office after being FIRED. Zero Accountability: - Some employees come in around 10-11, leave by 5:30, and are gone from their desks for exorbitant amounts of time during the day. Certain individuals also spend hours playing games in the lounge. - Managers either don't notice, turn a blind eye to individuals they are friends with, or don't care enough to say something to address this glaringly obvious issue. It is the norm at Spokeo to go to someone's desk, and have to ask "Where is ___?" multiple times a day. - This lax environment promotes a culture of unproductiveness and animosity within and between teams. Managers/Founders Out of Touch with their Employees: - Most managers have no idea or don't care about the issues that their employees face on a day to day basis. They truly believe that their employees are happy because individuals can't speak up about the issues that come with working at Spokeo. If you go against the grain and say something, you risk becoming a pariah, and your managers/leads/other teammates who buy into the cult mentality, will treat you like an outsider. (This can mean lower raises/bonuses than the rest of your team, open disrespect, and limited to no opportunities for advancement—even if you deserve it). - Some managers care more about how they appear to the Founders, than protecting the interests of the people they manage. - Manager/employee one-on-ones are mandatory, but don't fool yourself into believing this is a safe form of communication. There is NO forum to voice your thoughts and concerns without being ostracized for it, so people come to Glassdoor instead (though there will likely be fake positive reviews to follow this one). Drinking on the Job: - This is totally acceptable, and goes unpunished, even when employees return completely drunk from lunches, or get sloshed at work (excluding Customer Care, who are the only department with strict rules on alcohol consumption). Misogynistic and Distasteful Jokes:
 - It is completely normal at Spokeo to hear people use the R word to joke about someone with disabilities, openly make sexist jokes about women, or shout at others to shut up when in disagreement. - Once again, no manager, lead, or higher up does anything to prevent this from taking place. Instead, they choose to further perpetuate this insensitivity by proclaiming the all too familiar mantra: "This is just Spokeo's one-of-a-kind culture”.

    Continue reading
    Spokeo2017-01-27
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Okay company, terrible employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spokeo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The perks (catered lunches every day, great health benefits, company culture events, etc.,) are great but don't get blindsided by them. - They have some really talented employees so you'll be able to learn things from one another.

    Cons

    The company is completely clique-y. Spokeo is like highschool all over except you are the new kid and you either fit in with the popular kids or you don't. There is a lot of nepotism and favoritism happen (though I guess it's not hard when you're married to your leads). The CEO makes a lot of emotional decisions instead of looking at metrics, data, and advice/suggestions from the very own people he has hired. If you're looking to work on the Design team, stay far away. People here will make you work on the most boring projects unless you're a close friend or dating one of the leads. That is the only way you'll be able to work on the big projects and/or make any design decisions. Oh, one very big thing. They don't use any type of task management system at all. The CEO comes up to your desk, tells you what he wants you to do (regardless of what you have going on) and you have to do it. Three hours later he'll come by to see what you've done and the cycle repeats.

    Continue reading
    Spokeo2017-01-11

    Spokeo Response

    May 1, 2017Spokeo

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sad to hear your experience wasn't what we aim for here at Spokeo. We have taken this into consideration and alerted the proper teams.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spokeo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, friendly environment, catered lunches every day, snacks, bfast, drinks, management sits right with agents from founder to team leads/sups and quality coaches

    Cons

    A gym membership totally necessary to avoid gaining weight from all perks

    Continue reading
    Spokeo2016-11-30

    Spokeo Response

    May 1, 2017Spokeo

    Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly working to enhance our great culture and create better practices to make Spokeo a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I LOVE this company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spokeo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have full time, set schedule employment at a rate higher than the current minimum wage that includes, medical, dental and vision coverage at no cost to me! Not to mention I get free catered lunch, snacks and beverages everyday!! We have an awesome Culture team here that provides wellness activities throughout the week AND there are always opportunities for career growth here!

    Cons

    Working in a call center can sometimes be tough work. Calls may be on the rough side once in a while. The great thing about working at Spokeo is that we all maintain a safe and kind environment around the office and I know that my managers are supportive of my success because they are constant opportunities for coaching and improvement.

    Continue reading
    Spokeo2016-11-30

    Spokeo Response

    May 1, 2017Spokeo

    Thank you for your feedback. We are always working to create an environment where our employees enjoy coming into work everyday. We want our culture to embrace collaboration, innovation, and fun.

    Continue reading
Found 20 reviews