Sport Clips Hair Stylist Reviews | Glassdoor

Sport Clips Hair Stylist Reviews

Updated November 30, 2018
159 reviews

Filter

Filter

Hair Stylist

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sport Clips CEO and Director Gordon B. Logan
Gordon B. Logan
86 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Family-like atmosphere, flexible scheduling and great pay" (in 62 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance, great tips, continuing education" (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "have to be able to work nights and weekends" (in 17 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about my company" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Stylists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Oxford, AL
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Oxford, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I loved working there, we catered more to men and I feel more comfortable as a barber I also enjoyed the massage we did, which made us different than most salons

    Cons

    Bad management at times

    Advice to Management

    Always try in stay involved with everyone who works there no Matter there title or duties performed

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your time with us at Sport Clips. We appreciate your input and sent it to the appropriate party for review.


  2. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun and exciting .

    Cons

    Poor scheduling , they schedule what they need rather than your needs .

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of yoir employees life outside of work.

    Sport Clips Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your dedication to Sport Clips. We apologize for the schedule not meeting your needs. Please connect with you store Manager about your scheduling needs.

  3. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy work. Great atmosphere. Love my clients.

    Cons

    Zero benefits. Bare minimum PTO. No raises for long term employment.

    Sport Clips Response

    Nov 28, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and your time with Sport Clips. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your Sport Clips. And you are correct, benefits vary on location/franchisee. Best wishes!


  4. Helpful (2)

    "“Micro-Management”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Taylorsville, UT
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Taylorsville, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Busy locations.
    -Growth Potentials.
    - Very clean workplace.
    - Athletic Uniforms somewhat comfortable.
    - Family like atmosphere.

    Cons

    - Micromanaging, To many “assistant managers, key holders, and senior stylists.” Makes consistenty on policies difficult to adhere to on a daily basis, depending on who you work with.
    - Pay start at $10, plus tips, tips left on cards get put on your paycheck’s so your tips get taxed out.
    - Trainng was pretty much a joke, I never got to learn how to run the computer I had to teach myself or constantly ask other stylist to help me that’s basically how I learned, all that was really cared about was the MVP and how fast you could cut somebody’s hair and get them out the door. I have been doing hair for almost 12 years so when my “selective manager” sat me down to talk about my numbers and goals I was told that all the company and the higher-ups just look at numbers, and I’m just a number to them and I could be terminated if I couldn’t up my cutting speed time.
    -That is when work started to become negative, It made it nerve racking when
    “selective managers” worked putting to much pressure on every haircut constantly looking at the computer for speeds.
    -Inconsistent breaks and schedules.
    -Short staffed so waiting time made clients upset then had to push to do MVPs after they waited an hour or more only irritated them more.
    - Bonusing is ridiculous and rare even with great product sales, back bar upgrades, if your cutting time is below there expectations you will NEVER bonus!

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key right? Maybe GroupMe is NOT the best way to communicate with your employees!
     I really did like working here and wanted to strive to be an assistant manager in the long run it’s just hard to communicate with so much inconsistency !

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time with us, and have sent your feedback to the appropriate party for review. Your experience does not align with Sport Clips standards and values; we... More


  5. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sanford, FL
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sanford, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, people and attitude

    Cons

    Speed, hours and time management

    Advice to Management

    Everything is perfect

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your time with us at Sport Clips, and your input. We hope our paths cross again, in the future.


  6. "Great company with training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Training for job, loyal customers, exciting work environment

    Cons

    It’s not a great place to build a clientele you can take with you, it can be tough to get enough back bar upsales

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for the time you spent with us at Sport Clips!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "hair stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    only cutting mens hair p

    Cons

    interacting with the hands on owners

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 16, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience and have shared your feedback with the appropriate party. Please keep in mind that we have multiple store owners in... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Faulty management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tomball, TX
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tomball, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good tips, clean-ish work environment, good clientele

    Cons

    No set schedule, open Sundays, managers play favorites, some employees get "set" schedules and others don't, don't always get requested time off, managers overstep personal boundaries and stretch the truth of giving promotions to achieve unrealistic goals and get desired results from employees.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to get performance results, stick with employee availability instead of telling them they need to make other childcare arrangements and stop giving preferential treatment /scheduling to only a few employees and not the whole team.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 26, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and have sent them to the appropriate party for review.


  9. "Quality of job depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good compensation, flexible hours, fast-paced environment

    Cons

    constantly on feet, success of store depends on owner/management

    Advice to Management

    Create a more structured plan for management training

    Sport Clips Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tega Cay, SC
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tega Cay, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Meeting new people. Making a difference in someone's life.

    Cons

    Fast pace, standing on feet for hours

    Advice to Management

    Give hairstylist more time with clients

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time with Sport Clips, and wish you the best.