Sport Clips Hair Stylist Reviews | Glassdoor

Sport Clips Hair Stylist Reviews

Updated February 14, 2019
165 reviews

Filter

Filter

Hair Stylist

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sport Clips CEO and Director Gordon B. Logan
Gordon B. Logan
88 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great pay and awesome leadership" (in 66 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance, great tips, continuing education" (in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • "have to be able to work nights and weekends" (in 17 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about my company" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Towne Center TN218"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Murfreesboro, TN
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun People, great management, good training

    Cons

    Have not found any yet

    Advice to Management

    N/A


  2. "GREAT company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Murfreesboro, TN
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Our store is more than coworkers, we are family. We have the best in management and i wouldnt want to work for any other company.

    Cons

    I havent run an to any cons and i have been with the company for 5 years

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fantastic work!

    Sport Clips Response

    Feb 15, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your upbeat energy and passion is what makes a store successful. Teamwork makes the dream work, keep up the GREAT work ladies! Best wishes!

  3. "It all depends on the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company was great i have no complaints about the franchise itself.

    Cons

    Ownwer was non existent didnt care about his staff. Then we lost management and place even went crazier. Everyone trying to take over management then backing out. Firing people for things they do as well. Pitting people against one another..anxiety was high..

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on your employees watch close. I love working for this company and it was really sad what happened and not fair to a few of us.

    Sport Clips Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We are sorry to hear that you felt this way at your particular location. This is not at all what we represent and will be in contact with the correct party. Each store is independently owned and this... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "If you can play the game, you'll do well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Moore, OK
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Moore, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The customers and tips were great. The location was always busy and the 2 asst managers were fantastic. Without them, I would've been lost.

    Cons

    Poor training, no positive reinforcement, within a 2 month time frame the staff went from 6 - 13 leaving us scrounging for hours.

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers how to train their staff. I was one of 2 who had not been employed before and felt lost and as an inconvenience when I'd ask questions. I would like to suggest cameras in the training camps as well. I came out of there in both 1 & 2 knowing way too much about their personal lives including the trainer and not near enough about the sport clips techniques. The music was loud. It was very difficult to hear and understand what was being said. It was more like a sleepover than a workshop.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 24, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your hard work and want to learn! We are sorry to hear that the manager at this location was not giving the team the best training she had to offer. offer extensive to training to all... More


  5. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Marina, CA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Marina, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Not any that I could see

    Cons

    Dishonest and take advantage of employees

    Advice to Management

    Be honest during an interview! Ask the candidate questions about themselves. Pay people for mileage!!!!!!


  6. "GREAT Franchise to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Vancouver, WA
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Close knit work environment that I work with.

    Cons

    Some no tipping customers, some shifts without a lunch break...

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to add here.

    Sport Clips Response

    Dec 26, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your dedication to Sport Clips. Thank you for your feedback and Happy Holidays!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun and exciting .

    Cons

    Poor scheduling , they schedule what they need rather than your needs .

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of yoir employees life outside of work.

    Sport Clips Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your dedication to Sport Clips. We apologize for the schedule not meeting your needs. Please connect with you store Manager about your scheduling needs.

  8. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy work. Great atmosphere. Love my clients.

    Cons

    Zero benefits. Bare minimum PTO. No raises for long term employment.

    Sport Clips Response

    Nov 28, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and your time with Sport Clips. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your Sport Clips. And you are correct, benefits vary on location/franchisee. Best wishes!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "“Micro-Management”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Taylorsville, UT
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Taylorsville, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Busy locations.
    -Growth Potentials.
    - Very clean workplace.
    - Athletic Uniforms somewhat comfortable.
    - Family like atmosphere.

    Cons

    - Micromanaging, To many “assistant managers, key holders, and senior stylists.” Makes consistenty on policies difficult to adhere to on a daily basis, depending on who you work with.
    - Pay start at $10, plus tips, tips left on cards get put on your paycheck’s so your tips get taxed out.
    - Trainng was pretty much a joke, I never got to learn how to run the computer I had to teach myself or constantly ask other stylist to help me that’s basically how I learned, all that was really cared about was the MVP and how fast you could cut somebody’s hair and get them out the door. I have been doing hair for almost 12 years so when my “selective manager” sat me down to talk about my numbers and goals I was told that all the company and the higher-ups just look at numbers, and I’m just a number to them and I could be terminated if I couldn’t up my cutting speed time.
    -That is when work started to become negative, It made it nerve racking when
    “selective managers” worked putting to much pressure on every haircut constantly looking at the computer for speeds.
    -Inconsistent breaks and schedules.
    -Short staffed so waiting time made clients upset then had to push to do MVPs after they waited an hour or more only irritated them more.
    - Bonusing is ridiculous and rare even with great product sales, back bar upgrades, if your cutting time is below there expectations you will NEVER bonus!

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key right? Maybe GroupMe is NOT the best way to communicate with your employees!
     I really did like working here and wanted to strive to be an assistant manager in the long run it’s just hard to communicate with so much inconsistency !

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time with us, and have sent your feedback to the appropriate party for review. Your experience does not align with Sport Clips standards and values; we... More


  10. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sanford, FL
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sanford, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, people and attitude

    Cons

    Speed, hours and time management

    Advice to Management

    Everything is perfect

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your time with us at Sport Clips, and your input. We hope our paths cross again, in the future.