Sport Clips Hairstylist Reviews | Glassdoor

Sport Clips Hairstylist Reviews

Updated February 14, 2019
352 reviews

Filter

Filter

Hairstylist

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sport Clips CEO and Director Gordon B. Logan
Gordon B. Logan
202 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great pay and awesome leadership" (in 66 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance, great tips, continuing education" (in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • "have to be able to work nights and weekends" (in 17 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about my company" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Towne Center TN218"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Murfreesboro, TN
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun People, great management, good training

    Cons

    Have not found any yet

    Advice to Management

    N/A


  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist
    Current Employee - Stylist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunities to grow

    Cons

    It was a physically demanding job

    Sport Clips Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your dedication and commitment to the Sport Clips team. I appreciate you taking the time out to give us your feedback. Wishing you the absolute best!

  3. "GREAT company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Murfreesboro, TN
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Our store is more than coworkers, we are family. We have the best in management and i wouldnt want to work for any other company.

    Cons

    I havent run an to any cons and i have been with the company for 5 years

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fantastic work!

    Sport Clips Response

    Feb 15, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your upbeat energy and passion is what makes a store successful. Teamwork makes the dream work, keep up the GREAT work ladies! Best wishes!


  4. "It all depends on the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company was great i have no complaints about the franchise itself.

    Cons

    Ownwer was non existent didnt care about his staff. Then we lost management and place even went crazier. Everyone trying to take over management then backing out. Firing people for things they do as well. Pitting people against one another..anxiety was high..

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on your employees watch close. I love working for this company and it was really sad what happened and not fair to a few of us.

    Sport Clips Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We are sorry to hear that you felt this way at your particular location. This is not at all what we represent and will be in contact with the correct party. Each store is independently owned and this... More


  5. "Depends on the Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Mill Creek, WA
    Former Employee - Stylist in Mill Creek, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love the work, tips are okay depending on the area, some owners take very good care of their employees

    Cons

    My owner did not use very ethical business practice.

    Advice to Management

    Please be very aware that some owners are very good and others are horrible.

    Sport Clips Response

    Feb 15, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    I am sorry to hear about this. It does not at all follow our culture or what we stand for. I will pass this along to the proper party. Thank you for your time with us and we wish you the ABSOLUTE... More


  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Kyle, TX
    Current Employee - Stylist in Kyle, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great work culture, great pay

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 28, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your dedication to the Sport Clips team, keep up the good work! Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Stylist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - Stylist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have worked for two different sportclips companies in two different states in Michigan I helped Aid in the opening of four stores and got to be a store manager before leaving the company once I was located in Virginia Beach I started at another sportclips at a stylist level and have enjoyed it very much!

    Cons

    Sport Clips can be a little demanding. With that being said I like the work environment I like the challenge I like the competitive atmosphere!

    Advice to Management

    Always be willing to learn the best way to complete this position in the experience that I've had is that no matter how much you know there's always something more.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 11, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We love your positive attitude & appreciate your dedication to the Sport Clips family! Thank you for giving us this great feedback, wishing you the absolute best in 2019!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "If you can play the game, you'll do well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Moore, OK
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Moore, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The customers and tips were great. The location was always busy and the 2 asst managers were fantastic. Without them, I would've been lost.

    Cons

    Poor training, no positive reinforcement, within a 2 month time frame the staff went from 6 - 13 leaving us scrounging for hours.

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers how to train their staff. I was one of 2 who had not been employed before and felt lost and as an inconvenience when I'd ask questions. I would like to suggest cameras in the training camps as well. I came out of there in both 1 & 2 knowing way too much about their personal lives including the trainer and not near enough about the sport clips techniques. The music was loud. It was very difficult to hear and understand what was being said. It was more like a sleepover than a workshop.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 24, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your hard work and want to learn! We are sorry to hear that the manager at this location was not giving the team the best training she had to offer. offer extensive to training to all... More


  9. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Marina, CA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Marina, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Not any that I could see

    Cons

    Dishonest and take advantage of employees

    Advice to Management

    Be honest during an interview! Ask the candidate questions about themselves. Pay people for mileage!!!!!!

    Sport Clips Response

    Feb 19, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    I am sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your location. This does not represent our core values at all. We will pass this along to the appropriate party. Thank you for taking the time to... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Bad Managemeny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Nampa, ID
    Former Employee - Stylist in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips (More than a year)

    Pros

    -good paycheck( got to work you butt off)
    -great for making new clients

    Cons

    -Management not professional
    -you're no good unless you're making them money
    Working at the South Nampa location was horrible. Everyone hated days when the manager was working, it was seriously like tiptoeing around eggshells when she was there. One day she would be happy the next day she was so hatefull. She picked favorites and made cliques with certain stylist. She made it obvious who she didnt like, she would devalue your hard work and make you feel like you were incapable of giving a good haircut. Stylist are too afraid of standing up for themselves of fear of getting on her bad side. She doesnt know how to deal with confrontation so instead of being a professional and handling it she would either glare you down or completely ignore you.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of only showing us bad surveys shows us the good ones. We were only being told what we were doing wrong. This company is losing stylist right and left because you guys are bullies! Advice lose your attitudes and start treating stylist better. Leave your home life problems at the door. Sportclips wouldnt have such a high turnover rate if stylist werent being mistreated and made to feel un-appreciated.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 24, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and hear your concerns! We have brought this to the proper parties attention and hope that this does not continue. Wishing you the best in your future endeavors.