Sport Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Sport Clips Reviews

Updated December 17, 2018
941 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Family-like atmosphere, flexible scheduling and great pay" (in 62 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance, great tips, continuing education" (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "have to be able to work nights and weekends" (in 17 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about my company" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Stylists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Oxford, AL
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Oxford, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I loved working there, we catered more to men and I feel more comfortable as a barber I also enjoyed the massage we did, which made us different than most salons

    Cons

    Bad management at times

    Advice to Management

    Always try in stay involved with everyone who works there no Matter there title or duties performed

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your time with us at Sport Clips. We appreciate your input and sent it to the appropriate party for review.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist
    Current Employee - Hairstylist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, product discount, clients,

    Cons

    Weekends, no rasies , very little commission bonus

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the hardworkers

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your commitment to Sport Clips.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager - in Woodbury, MN
    Current Employee - Store Manager - in Woodbury, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Love this company so much!

    Cons

    I mean its still work...

    Advice to Management

    Close on sundays and offer health benefits.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 4, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for making time to leave a review and for your commitment to Sport Clips!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coach
    Former Employee - Coach
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    As a former "corporate" employee I would have to say that the company does live by their values. They will listen to your concerns and take action to make things right. Benefits through corporate are great.

    Cons

    As a stylist, long days of standing and moving around. Franchise owner benefits are not that great.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 4, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your time with Sport Clips and for posting a review!


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible company to work for—RUN!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time

    Pros

    The customers were nice people.

    Cons

    Unrealistic timing expectations. They punish employees for not cutting fast enough by cutting hours down to nothing. They don’t care about their employees they only care about numbers. They will treat you like garbage. Terrible company bad business model and unethical.

    Sport Clips Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear about your experience, and will send your feedback to the appropriate party right away. Your experience does not align with Sport Clips values... More


  6. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, good clientele, make your own money, and the ability to make less or more based on your motivation!

    Cons

    There really isn’t any personally

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate you!


  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Highland Heights, KY
    Current Employee - Manager in Highland Heights, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time

    Pros

    Great clients, great pay, amazing co workers, and some of the best leaders in the industry!

    Cons

    Don’t really have any to share.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your input! We appreciate your commitment to Sport Clips!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "SCI-employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great team environment when working in stores, comfy clothes

    Cons

    Way overworked, under paid, under appreciated. Expected to work 7 days a week, constantly being told how bad your doing from an area director, who is just lazy, and pushed everything off of his plate I to his coaches laps. Lack of support, lack of concern or care from team. This job has become a prison of sorts.

    Advice to Management

    Regional directors should have some accountability, should not expect there coaches to work 7 days a week.

    Sport Clips Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We are sad to hear that you did not have a good experience. We sent your feedback to the appropriate person for review and consideration. Thank you for your review.


  9. "Love my job!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Coach in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Area Coach in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, great store hours, great pay, built in clientele, they provide combs, guards, and lots of training. Great 5 point play so I know what to do with each client, haircuts only. Different Team Leaders offer different opportunities.

    Cons

    Don't let one bad experience ruin every Sport Clips out there, every location is different.

    Advice to Management

    If there is room for growth in another store you should still let your best talent know so they can grow and not get bored and quit.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 1, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your dedication to Sport Clips!


  10. "Management styles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Schererville, IN
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Schererville, IN
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Overall the company and idea of SportClips is great really comes down to the owner to determine how well the company is.

    Cons

    Locations vary greatly based on owner. If the owner does not care or put enough time into the stores like they need to then the company and all the employees suffer.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Good morning, Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear that you are no longer with us and that your experience did not align with Sport Clips values. We notified the appropriate party of your... More