Sport Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Sport Clips Reviews

Updated December 5, 2018
940 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great pay and awesome leadership" (in 62 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance, great tips, continuing education" (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "have to be able to work nights and weekends" (in 17 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about my company" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Management styles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Schererville, IN
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Schererville, IN
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Overall the company and idea of SportClips is great really comes down to the owner to determine how well the company is.

    Cons

    Locations vary greatly based on owner. If the owner does not care or put enough time into the stores like they need to then the company and all the employees suffer.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Good morning, Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear that you are no longer with us and that your experience did not align with Sport Clips values. We notified the appropriate party of your... More


  2. "Great company with training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Training for job, loyal customers, exciting work environment

    Cons

    It’s not a great place to build a clientele you can take with you, it can be tough to get enough back bar upsales

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for the time you spent with us at Sport Clips!

  3. "Great tips."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time

    Pros

    Good base pay to start.

    Cons

    Mostly men's cuts. That gets boring, really quick.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Men's haircutting is not for everyone, but for those who enjoy men's haircutting, we offer ongoing technical and product knowledge classes to stay... More


  4. "Wonderful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time

    Pros

    All haircuts
    Mostly male clientele
    Great pay
    Comfy uniforms

    Cons

    Franchiseed so some owners are better than others

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Faulty management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tomball, TX
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tomball, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good tips, clean-ish work environment, good clientele

    Cons

    No set schedule, open Sundays, managers play favorites, some employees get "set" schedules and others don't, don't always get requested time off, managers overstep personal boundaries and stretch the truth of giving promotions to achieve unrealistic goals and get desired results from employees.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to get performance results, stick with employee availability instead of telling them they need to make other childcare arrangements and stop giving preferential treatment /scheduling to only a few employees and not the whole team.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 26, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and have sent them to the appropriate party for review.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetologist/Stylist in Wichita, KS
    Former Employee - Cosmetologist/Stylist in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Walk in traffic, demographics, pay.

    Cons

    Management, owner, no room to grow and extremely competitive.

    Advice to Management

    The employees shouldn't be favored. The management shouldn't be allowed to sit or pick and choose when they want to work. The management and employees seem very clique-esque and gossip A LOT about other employees. Not a friendly place to work at all.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 26, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. it saddens us to hear about your experience, for it is not in alignment with our values and standards at Sport Clips. Thank you for the time... More


  7. "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager
    Current Employee - Area Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company cares about my success

    Cons

    Takes all of my time

    Advice to Management

    Be there to help.others be successful

    Sport Clips Response

    Sep 14, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your commitment to Sport Clips and being an influencer in your market! We appreciate your review!

  8. "It was a great place to get my foot in the door since i had just moved into the area."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist/Product Specialist in Jacksonville, NC
    Former Employee - Stylist/Product Specialist in Jacksonville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great owners whom put there stylists first priority and came in to see us very regularly. Continuing ED and cutting classes available to you regularly, built in clientele thanx to such a successful brand. Fair hourly rate and a great bonus system for hitting service and product sales marks that will greatly increase your check. Tips were above avg thanx to this successful brand. New managment adapted, grew with us stylists, and she still is running a great ship. Kudos!

    Cons

    Tips paid with card get added to your paycheck. So your daily take home can be slim. Mimimal benefits, had to drive 3hours for training. Still def worth dealing with this cuz it is a great company for any level stylist whom luvs working with mens hair.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the incredible work. You ROCK MISS!

    Sport Clips Response

    Sep 14, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your time with us at Sport Clips! We hope our paths cross again in the future! Wish you the best!


  9. "Quality of job depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good compensation, flexible hours, fast-paced environment

    Cons

    constantly on feet, success of store depends on owner/management

    Advice to Management

    Create a more structured plan for management training

    Sport Clips Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tega Cay, SC
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Tega Cay, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Meeting new people. Making a difference in someone's life.

    Cons

    Fast pace, standing on feet for hours

    Advice to Management

    Give hairstylist more time with clients

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time with Sport Clips, and wish you the best.